Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Cannot run native version of Metro Exodus (Steam)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
corrosif
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 199
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2021 6:07 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Cannot run native version of Metro Exodus (Steam) Reply with quote

Hi,

A native GNU/Linux version of Metro Exodus has been recently released, and is available from Steam.
Interestingly, it is using recent Vulkan ray-tracing API.

Here is my computer:

Code:
$ uname -a
Linux localhost 5.4.80-gentoo-r1-x86_64 #1 SMP Tue Dec 15 20:03:32 CET 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-9900K CPU @ 3.60GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux


I am using Gentoo with nVidia RTX 2080ti, Plasma 5.20.5 and nVidia proprietary drivers:

Code:
[ebuild   R   ~] x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-465.19.01:0/465::gentoo  USE="X driver tools -dist-kernel -static-libs" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" 0 KiB


I have also installed the following packages, just in case:

Code:
[ebuild   R    ] dev-util/vulkan-headers-1.2.162::gentoo  0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] media-libs/vulkan-loader-1.2.162-r1::gentoo  USE="X -layers -wayland" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] dev-util/vulkan-tools-1.2.162::gentoo  USE="X -cube -wayland" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" 0 KiB


So far, it fails to start on my Gentoo computer.
Here is probably the most relevant part from my Steam log (inside /tmp/dumps/):

Code:
Steam: An X Error occurred
X Error of failed request:  BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
Major opcode of failed request:  40 (X_TranslateCoords)
Resource id in failed request:  0xe00078
Serial number of failed request:  12062
xerror_handler: X failed, continuing


For info, the Steam native version of Quake II RTX is working fine in my Gentoo... But I believe because it is still using unofficial RTX extensions from Vulkan (rather that using the recent official RTX Vulkan APIs).

It seems that for some people, Metro Exodus is requiring the following library:
Code:
libnvidia-rtcore.so.*


... To my surprise, I don't have it (yet) in my system:

Code:
$ ls libnvidia*
libnvidia-allocator.so
libnvidia-eglcore.so.465.19.01
libnvidia-fbc.so.465.19.01
libnvidia-glvkspirv.so.465.19.01
libnvidia-ml.so.465.19.01
libnvidia-opticalflow.so.465.19.01
libnvidia-allocator.so.1
libnvidia-encode.so
libnvidia-glcore.so
libnvidia-ifr.so
libnvidia-opencl.so
libnvidia-ptxjitcompiler.so
libnvidia-allocator.so.465.19.01
libnvidia-encode.so.1
libnvidia-glcore.so.465.19.01
libnvidia-ifr.so.1
libnvidia-opencl.so.1
libnvidia-ptxjitcompiler.so.1
libnvidia-compiler.so
libnvidia-encode.so.465.19.01
libnvidia-glsi.so
libnvidia-ifr.so.465.19.01
libnvidia-opencl.so.465.19.01
libnvidia-ptxjitcompiler.so.465.19.01
libnvidia-compiler.so.465.19.01
libnvidia-fbc.so
libnvidia-glsi.so.465.19.01
libnvidia-ml.so
libnvidia-opticalflow.so
libnvidia-tls.so
libnvidia-eglcore.so
libnvidia-fbc.so.1
libnvidia-glvkspirv.so
libnvidia-ml.so.1
libnvidia-opticalflow.so.1
libnvidia-tls.so.465.19.01


This is surprising, since I'm finding references to the lib nvidia-rtcore inside the source of the ebuild:
Code:
/usr/portage/x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers/nvidia-drivers-465.19.01.ebuild


So, here are my questions:
- Do you think that Metro Exodus is failing to start on my Gentoo computer because of the missing lib nvidia-rtcore?
- How do I manage to get the lib nvidia-rtcore installed?
_________________
S'il n'y a pas de solution, alors il n'y a pas de problème (logique Shadok).


Last edited by corrosif on Sun Aug 08, 2021 9:20 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ionen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 06 Dec 2018
Posts: 2717

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2021 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

corrosif wrote:
This is surprising, since I'm finding references to the lib nvidia-rtcore inside the source of the ebuild:
Code:
/usr/portage/x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers/nvidia-drivers-465.19.01.ebuild
Code:
        if [[ ${ABI} == x86 ]]; then
            libdir+=/32
        else
            libs+=(
                nvidia-cbl
                nvidia-cfg
                nvidia-rtcore
                nvoptix
            )

I assume you're looking at /usr/lib rather than /usr/lib64, nvidia doesn't provide a 32-bit version of this library. Don't know about Metro Exodus needing this library or not, but it's a 64-bit game.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corrosif
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 199
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2021 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your response.

You are correct, I was looking inside the wrong directory for the lib associated to my 64bit system.
I have now looked into /usr/lib64, and in it, I can indeed find the following files:

Code:
libnvidia-rtcore.so
libnvidia-rtcore.so.465.19.01


... Which means that my problem is probably not related to lib rtcore missing (which is good to know!)
_________________
S'il n'y a pas de solution, alors il n'y a pas de problème (logique Shadok).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krumpf
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jul 2018
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2021 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure, but since you're using KDE, could your issue be caused by Wayland ?
Check this comment and that one
Anyway, good luck :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corrosif
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 199
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2021 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a good hint, but no, I'm not using Wayland.
Instead, I'm using Xorg with nVidia proprietary drivers, through Plasma:

Code:
[ebuild   R    ] kde-frameworks/plasma-5.80.0:5/5.80::gentoo  USE="X -debug -doc -gles2-only -test -wayland" 0 KiB

[ebuild   R    ] x11-base/xorg-drivers-1.20-r2::gentoo  INPUT_DEVICES="libinput -elographics -evdev -joystick -synaptics -vmmouse -void -wacom" VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia -amdgpu -ast -dummy -fbdev (-freedreno) (-geode) -glint -i915 -i965 -intel -mga -nouveau -nv (-omap) -qxl -r128 -radeon -radeonsi -siliconmotion (-tegra) (-vc4) -vesa -via -virtualbox -vmware" 0 KiB

[ebuild   R    ] x11-base/xorg-server-1.20.11:0/1.20.11::gentoo  USE="ipv6 systemd udev xorg -debug -dmx -doc -elogind -kdrive (-libressl) -minimal (-selinux) -suid -test -unwind -wayland -xcsecurity -xephyr -xnest -xvfb" 0 KiB

_________________
S'il n'y a pas de solution, alors il n'y a pas de problème (logique Shadok).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 6051
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2021 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does dmesg say?
The reason i ask is I can't launch.

There was a locale issue (easy to add US), missing ibus ... But I keep getting a general protection fault associated with libX11
_________________
Quote:
Removed by Chiitoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corrosif
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 199
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2021 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since I'm using a French locale, I have tried to run Metro Exodus with following parameter:
Code:
LC_ALL=C %command%


But it still fails (I suspect the problem is elsewhere).

Here is what I saw from dmesg:

Code:
[  550.364369] MetroExodus[6479]: segfault at 0 ip 00000000012ac580 sp 00007ffe02b292d0 error 4 in MetroExodus[409000+137d000]
[  550.364372] Code: 5e 41 5f c3 66 0f 1f 44 00 00 41 57 41 56 41 54 53 50 49 89 fe 48 c7 04 24 00 00 00 00 48 8b 06 8b 0a 0f 1f 84 00 00 00 00 00 <48> 8b 18 48 83 c0 08 39 4b 20 75 f4 48 85 db 74 29 f0 83 43 0c 01

_________________
S'il n'y a pas de solution, alors il n'y a pas de problème (logique Shadok).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Siarhei
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jan 2016
Posts: 59
Location: Minsk

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2021 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, Metro exodus also does not start. I have gentoo and I always get a warning message from Steam "/home/searhey/.local/share/Steam has both 'SteamApps' and 'steamapps' directories.
This will cause problems. Please fix manually and only keep 'steamapps'".
Steam cannot find the startup file. I don't know
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corrosif
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 199
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2021 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my side, in "~/local/share/Steam", I only have one "steamapps" directory (spelled with lowercase).
_________________
S'il n'y a pas de solution, alors il n'y a pas de problème (logique Shadok).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Siarhei
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jan 2016
Posts: 59
Location: Minsk

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2021 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

corrosif wrote:
On my side, in "~/local/share/Steam", I only have one "steamapps" directory (spelled with lowercase).

I have steamapps and SteamApps. Other games start without problems: Broderlandss 2, Hitman, Wasteland 2 director's cut, Tomb Raider, Alien Isolation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 6051
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2021 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Launching from the command line:
Code:
/opt/Steam/steam.sh: line 115: DISTRIB_RELEASE: unbound variable
/opt/Steam/steam.sh: line 115: DISTRIB_RELEASE: unbound variable
Running Steam on gentoo  64-bit
STEAM_RUNTIME is enabled by the user
Pins up-to-date!
STEAM_RUNTIME_PREFER_HOST_LIBRARIES=0 is deprecated, and no longer has an effect.
Steam client's requirements are satisfied
WARNING: Using default/fallback debugger launch
/opt/Steam/ubuntu12_32/steam steam://run/412020//



dmesg:
Code:
[15301.451313] traps: MetroExodus[19754] general protection fault ip:7fa5da0ed540 sp:7ffc2ac39118 error:0 in libX11.so.6.4.0[7fa5da0bb000+13f000]


gdb ./MetroExodus
Code:
Starting program: /opt/SteamLibrary/steamapps/common/Metro Exodus/MetroExodus
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/lib64/libthread_db.so.1".

Program received signal SIGTRAP, Trace/breakpoint trap.
0x00007ffff682e5b1 in raise () from /lib64/libpthread.so.0

_________________
Quote:
Removed by Chiitoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Siarhei
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jan 2016
Posts: 59
Location: Minsk

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2021 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My dmesg:
Code:
MetroExodus[19564]: segfault at 0 ip 00000000012ac580 sp 00007ffed618bcc0 error 4 in MetroExodus[409000+137d000]
[11270.549049] Code: 5e 41 5f c3 66 0f 1f 44 00 00 41 57 41 56 41 54 53 50 49 89 fe 48 c7 04 24 00 00 00 00 48 8b 06 8b 0a 0f 1f 84 00 00 00 00 00 <48> 8b 18 48 83 c0 08 39 4b 20 75 f4 48 85 db 74 29 f0 83 43 0c 01
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corrosif
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 199
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2021 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib,

You were right about missing ibus being a potential problem!
When trying to start the game from the command line (instead from the Steam GUI), from where it is installed, I got a much more explicit error message:

Code:
$ ./MetroExodus
./MetroExodus: error while loading shared libraries: libibus-1.0.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


In fact, on my system, app-i18n/ibus wasn't installed.
After emerging it, this specific error went away.

It still doesn't start however.
Now, when trying to start the game from the command line, no error appears anymore in the prompt.
But it still crashes, as reported by dmesg:

Code:
[33481.886883] MetroExodus[98240]: segfault at 0 ip 00000000012ac580 sp 00007fffc089d490 error 4 in MetroExodus[409000+137d000]
[33481.886887] Code: 5e 41 5f c3 66 0f 1f 44 00 00 41 57 41 56 41 54 53 50 49 89 fe 48 c7 04 24 00 00 00 00 48 8b 06 8b 0a 0f 1f 84 00 00 00 00 00 <48> 8b 18 48 83 c0 08 39 4b 20 75 f4 48 85 db 74 29 f0 83 43 0c 01


Maybe this is some configuration/ratio problem? (my desktop is running at 2560x1440x144Hz)
I'll investigate if it's possible to tweak the user config file for this game.
_________________
S'il n'y a pas de solution, alors il n'y a pas de problème (logique Shadok).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corrosif
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 199
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2021 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib, Siarhei,

My current problem now is not related to ratio nor resolution (editing the game's user.cfg from my home directory didnt't help).
I'm having the exact same crash as you both in your latest posts, and with gdb, exact same thing as Naib:

Code:
 (gdb) run
Starting program: /bigstorage/games/SteamLibrary/steamapps/common/Metro Exodus/MetroExodus
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/lib64/libthread_db.so.1".

Program received signal SIGTRAP, Trace/breakpoint trap.
0x00007ffff68546c1 in raise () from /lib64/libpthread.so.0

_________________
S'il n'y a pas de solution, alors il n'y a pas de problème (logique Shadok).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 6051
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2021 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So there is something about how binaries are built on Gentoo (or more specifically ubuntu..) which is causing these issues.

The solution is to enable SRL for Metro... The problem at the moment is the present container (soldier) is lacking libibus and thus will not work. This has been reported to Valve so an update to the container should be due soon(tm)

Hopefully this will all metro to work as it is a sandbox set of libraries ... there is the nasty memory leak that the game has but that is another problem (set to MEDIUM graphics or lower)
_________________
Quote:
Removed by Chiitoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 6051
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2021 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try using a specific steam runtime. SCOUT is the default while soldier is the newer one. Works well and the game is pretty good... be it leaky (keep at medium for now)
in the launch options put this, obviously with the path for your location of SteamLibrary

/opt/SteamLibrary/steamapps/common/SteamLinuxRuntime_soldier/run-in-soldier %command%
_________________
Quote:
Removed by Chiitoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Siarhei
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jan 2016
Posts: 59
Location: Minsk

PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib, You are a magician :). Thank you so much. At your prompt, the game is working. Sound problem only - crackling sound in the game. In proton's version I was possible to change the sound system. There is no such thing in the native version
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Siarhei
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jan 2016
Posts: 59
Location: Minsk

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2021 7:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I removed the crackle of sound in the game like this: in /etc/pulse/daemon.conf changed string to "default-fragments = 5" and "default-fragment-size-msec = 2". The game now works fine with good performance on my graphics card gtx1070
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corrosif
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 199
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2021 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Naib!
With your solution (run-in-soldier), the native game now runs fine on my system (RTX also works fine).
_________________
S'il n'y a pas de solution, alors il n'y a pas de problème (logique Shadok).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Siarhei
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jan 2016
Posts: 59
Location: Minsk

PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2021 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know what happened, but now the game has stopped starting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corrosif
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 199
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2021 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same for me: It doesn't work anymore, even when using run-in-soldier solution.
_________________
S'il n'y a pas de solution, alors il n'y a pas de problème (logique Shadok).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Linubie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2021 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same issue:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1140616.html
_________________
Mircosoft software is like having sex with a stranger, you always have to be careful not to get infected with something...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 6051
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2021 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So the tip last time was to force the soldier pressure vessel.

Now you don't need to explicitly state the pressure vessel but you do need to force it to use steam runtime (ie scout)

1) remove the launch arguement
2) Compatibility -> "Force to use of ..."
3) select Steam Linux Runtime
_________________
Quote:
Removed by Chiitoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corrosif
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 199
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2021 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Naib, with your new solution it is now working fine on my system!
_________________
S'il n'y a pas de solution, alors il n'y a pas de problème (logique Shadok).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Siarhei
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jan 2016
Posts: 59
Location: Minsk

PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2021 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Naib, your new solution works for me too
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum