Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
lxqt pulls in wayland when USE=monitor
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pa4wdh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Posts: 453

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2021 5:27 pm    Post subject: lxqt pulls in wayland when USE=monitor Reply with quote

Hi All,

On my desktop PC i've been running lxde, and since that is masked now i'm trying out lxqt. With some fiddling i got most of it the way i want it, but there seems to be something strange in it's dependencies:
Code:

USE=monitor emerge -pvt lxqt-config

These are the packages that would be merged, in reverse order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild   R    ] lxqt-base/lxqt-config-0.16.1::gentoo  USE="monitor* touchpad" 0 KiB
[ebuild  N     ]  kde-plasma/libkscreen-5.20.5:5/7::gentoo  USE="-debug -doc -test" 84 KiB
[ebuild  N     ]   kde-frameworks/kwayland-5.77.0:5/5.77::gentoo  USE="-debug -doc -test" 337 KiB
[ebuild  N     ]    dev-qt/qtwayland-5.15.2-r1:5/5.15::gentoo  USE="X -debug -test -vulkan" 552 KiB
[ebuild   R    ]     dev-qt/qtgui-5.15.2-r1:5/5.15.2::gentoo  USE="X dbus egl* gif jpeg libinput png udev -accessibility -debug -eglfs -evdev -gles2-only -ibus -test -tslib -tuio -vnc -vulkan -wayland" 0 KiB
[ebuild  N     ]    dev-libs/wayland-protocols-1.20::gentoo  110 KiB
[ebuild  N     ]     dev-libs/wayland-1.19.0::gentoo  USE="-doc" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" 446 KiB
[ebuild  N     ]      dev-util/wayland-scanner-1.19.0::gentoo  ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild  N     ]    dev-libs/plasma-wayland-protocols-1.1.1::gentoo  USE="-debug" 38 KiB
[ebuild  N     ]   kde-frameworks/kcoreaddons-5.77.0:5/5.77::gentoo  USE="nls -debug -doc (-fam) -test" 394 KiB

Total: 10 packages (8 new, 2 reinstalls), Size of downloads: 1957 KiB

I first installed it without the monitor USE flag to prevent wayland from being pulled in, and now i'm checking out what's happening. I'm running X (so i have USE=X and -wayland), and still it pulls in wayland. I suppose the USE=monitor on lxqt-base/lxqt-config enables building a monitor configuration item and it doesn't seem to make sense to pull in wayland for that. Is it a bug or a feature?
*if* it is a bug, i guess it's for libkscreeen, is that right?

Thanks in advance.
_________________
The gentoo way of bringing peace to the world:
USE="-war" emerge --newuse @world

Free as in Freedom is not limited to software only:
Music: http://www.jamendo.com
Recipes: http://www.opensourcefood.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alamahant
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Mar 2019
Posts: 931

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2021 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is nothing you can do about it because
lxqt-config->kde-plasma/libkscreen->kwayland...
from the libkscreen ebuild
Code:

DEPEND="
   >=dev-qt/qtdbus-${QTMIN}:5
   >=dev-qt/qtgui-${QTMIN}:5
   >=dev-qt/qtx11extras-${QTMIN}:5
   >=kde-frameworks/kcoreaddons-${KFMIN}:5
   >=kde-frameworks/kwayland-${KFMIN}:5
   x11-libs/libxcb

from lxqt-config ebuild
Code:

IUSE="+monitor +touchpad"

BDEPEND="
   dev-qt/linguist-tools:5
   >=dev-util/lxqt-build-tools-0.8.0
"
DEPEND="
   >=dev-libs/libqtxdg-3.3.1
   dev-qt/qtcore:5
   dev-qt/qtdbus:5
   dev-qt/qtgui:5
   dev-qt/qtwidgets:5
   dev-qt/qtx11extras:5
   dev-qt/qtxml:5
   kde-frameworks/kwindowsystem:5
   =lxqt-base/liblxqt-$(ver_cut 1-2)*
   sys-libs/zlib:=
   x11-apps/setxkbmap
   x11-libs/libxcb:=
   x11-libs/libX11
   x11-libs/libXcursor
   x11-libs/libXfixes
   monitor? ( kde-plasma/libkscreen:5= )
   touchpad? (
      virtual/libudev
      x11-drivers/xf86-input-libinput
      x11-libs/libXext
      x11-libs/libXi
   )

Maybe try
Code:

USE="-monitor" emerge -1av lxqt-config

_________________
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pa4wdh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Posts: 453

PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2021 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your answer alamahant.

As i told in my post it is now installed with USE=-monitor.
I know the libkscreen ebuild depends unconditionally on kwayland, and i think that might be the bug. If i check the libkscreen code it has randr and wayland backends, so i think it should configionally depend on randr or wayland based on USE flags.
_________________
The gentoo way of bringing peace to the world:
USE="-war" emerge --newuse @world

Free as in Freedom is not limited to software only:
Music: http://www.jamendo.com
Recipes: http://www.opensourcefood.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum