[Solved]Problem emerging python during installation on SPARC
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
cosmogroid
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2021 7:00 pm    Post subject: [Solved]Problem emerging python during installation on SPARC Reply with quote

I'm new to Gentoo (but not to Linux) and I'm installing on a nonstandard architecture but hopefully a wizard will be able to help me. I'm trying to get a basic installation on a sun server with the sparc64 architecture and I have followed the sparc install guide up to the poing where you run
Code:
emerge --ask --verbose --update --deep --newuse @world
Every time it fails when compling python. The only things that I have done differently from the handbook are that as I am on a low baud serial console I have run emerge with "--quiet" instead of "--verbose", and I have changed the profile before running emerge to "default/linux/sparc/17.0/64ul" for 64-bit userland. I have looked in the build.log and the only problem that I can find is something about an "ffi.h" header file but I don't know where to go from there. I am under the impression that this isn't related to the fact that I'm on sparc but I really don't know. Thanks in advance because I have no idea what I'm doing.

build.log : https://pastebin.com/EdEN4jKE
emerge --info '=dev-lang/python-3.9.1-r1::gentoo' : https://pastebin.com/d2s2GfSS
emerge -pqv '=dev-lang/python-3.9.1-r1::gentoo' : https://pastebin.com/r2seApUw
uname -a :
Code:
Linux livecd 5.4.80-gentoo-r1-sparc64 #2 SMP Mon Mar 8 13:34:42 UTC 2021 sparc64 sun4v UltraSparc T3 (Niagara3) GNU/Linux

Last edited by cosmogroid on Sat Mar 13, 2021 10:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2021 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Gentoo on Sparc.
Hu