Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Kernel config and HDMI
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2020 12:51 pm    Post subject: Kernel config and HDMI Reply with quote

Hi,
I would like to use the utility pactl to change the audio output device from CLI.

Until a couple of months ago it was working as expected, unfortunately I can not define exactly what is the difference.

If I type:
Code:

pactl move-sink-input 1 5

to move the sink-input 5 to 1, where 1 is hdmi, while a video is playing on mpv or via youtube, the video starts to hardly stutter (a lot of dropped frames) even if there is no heavy load on the CPU.

Instead if I move to 0 (speaker) it returns to normal playback.

I have tried to ru the same command on a Kubuntu 20.04 live and the problem is not present.

Any ideas?

Thanks


Last edited by yellowhat on Sun May 10, 2020 1:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2020 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried:

    Code:

    $ echo "options snd_hda_intel index=1,0" > /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf


    Code:

    $ diff /etc/pulse/default.pa
    < load-module module-udev-detect
    ---
    > load-module module-udev-detect tsched=0


    - Commenting "load-module module-switch-on-port-available" in /etc/pulse/default.pa


but nothing is changed.

This is the list of modules loaded:
Code:

$ pact list short modules
0   module-device-restore
1   module-stream-restore
2   module-card-restore
3   module-augment-properties
4   module-switch-on-port-available
5   module-udev-detect   tsched=0
6   module-alsa-card   device_id="2" name="pci-0000_01_00.1" card_name="alsa_card.pci-0000_01_00.1" namereg_fail=false tsched=no fixed_latency_range=no ignore_dB=no deferred_volume=yes use_ucm=yes avoid_resampling=no card_properties="module-udev-detect.discovered=1"
7   module-alsa-card   device_id="0" name="pci-0000_00_03.0" card_name="alsa_card.pci-0000_00_03.0" namereg_fail=false tsched=no fixed_latency_range=no ignore_dB=no deferred_volume=yes use_ucm=yes avoid_resampling=no card_properties="module-udev-detect.discovered=1"
8   module-alsa-card   device_id="1" name="pci-0000_00_1b.0" card_name="alsa_card.pci-0000_00_1b.0" namereg_fail=false tsched=no fixed_latency_range=no ignore_dB=no deferred_volume=yes use_ucm=yes avoid_resampling=no card_properties="module-udev-detect.discovered=1"
9   module-bluetooth-policy
10   module-bluetooth-discover
11   module-bluez5-discover
12   module-native-protocol-unix
13   module-gsettings
14   module-default-device-restore
15   module-rescue-streams
16   module-always-sink
17   module-intended-roles
18   module-suspend-on-idle
19   module-console-kit
20   module-systemd-login
21   module-position-event-sounds
22   module-role-cork
23   module-filter-heuristics
24   module-filter-apply
25   module-cli-protocol-unix
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2020 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems to be a kernel configuration issue, with gentoo-kernel-bin works expected.
How can I check which config options should I check?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I try to grep the Audio devices I get:
Code:

$ sudo lspci -vnnn | grep Audio -A 10
00:03.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio Controller [8086:0c0c] (rev 06)
   Subsystem: Lenovo Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio Controller [17aa:2211]
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 38, IOMMU group 3
   Memory at b2a30000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
   Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
   Capabilities: [60] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit-
   Capabilities: [70] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
--
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset High Definition Audio Controller [8086:8c20] (rev 04)
   Subsystem: Lenovo 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset High Definition Audio Controller [17aa:2211]
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 37, IOMMU group 8
   Memory at b2a34000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
   Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
   Capabilities: [60] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
   Capabilities: [70] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
   Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
--
01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: NVIDIA Corporation GK106 HDMI Audio Controller [10de:0e0b] (rev a1)
   Subsystem: Lenovo GK106 HDMI Audio Controller [17aa:221e]
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 17, IOMMU group 1
   Memory at b1000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
   Capabilities: [60] Power Management version 3
   Capabilities: [68] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
   Capabilities: [78] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel


as you can see there are 3 audio devices, instead:
Code:

$ pactl list short sinks
1   alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo   module-alsa-card.c   s16le 2ch 48000Hz   SUSPENDED
4   alsa_output.pci-0000_00_03.0.hdmi-stereo   module-alsa-card.c   s16le 2ch 44100Hz   IDLE

returns only 2 devices.

How do I enable the missing one?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I manage to get mpv working.
The following allows to get a list of audio devices:
Code:

$ mpv --audio-device=help
List of detected audio devices:
  'auto' (Autoselect device)
  'pulse/alsa_output.pci-0000_00_03.0.hdmi-stereo' (Built-in Audio Digital Stereo (HDMI))
  'pulse/alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo' (Built-in Audio Analog Stereo)
  'alsa' (Default (alsa))
  'alsa/upmix' (Plugin for channel upmix (4,6,8))
  'alsa/vdownmix' (Plugin for channel downmix (stereo) with a simple spacialization)
  'alsa/hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0' (HDA Intel HDMI, HDMI 0/HDMI Audio Output)
  'alsa/hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=1' (HDA Intel HDMI, HDMI 1/HDMI Audio Output)
  'alsa/hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=2' (HDA Intel HDMI, HDMI 2/HDMI Audio Output)
  'alsa/hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=3' (HDA Intel HDMI, HDMI 3/HDMI Audio Output)
  'alsa/hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=4' (HDA Intel HDMI, HDMI 4/HDMI Audio Output)
  'alsa/usbstream:CARD=HDMI' (HDA Intel HDMI/USB Stream Output)
  'alsa/sysdefault:CARD=PCH' (HDA Intel PCH, ALC3232 Analog/Default Audio Device)
  'alsa/front:CARD=PCH,DEV=0' (HDA Intel PCH, ALC3232 Analog/Front output / input)
  'alsa/surround21:CARD=PCH,DEV=0' (HDA Intel PCH, ALC3232 Analog/2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers)
  'alsa/surround40:CARD=PCH,DEV=0' (HDA Intel PCH, ALC3232 Analog/4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers)
  'alsa/surround41:CARD=PCH,DEV=0' (HDA Intel PCH, ALC3232 Analog/4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers)
  'alsa/surround50:CARD=PCH,DEV=0' (HDA Intel PCH, ALC3232 Analog/5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers)
  'alsa/surround51:CARD=PCH,DEV=0' (HDA Intel PCH, ALC3232 Analog/5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers)
  'alsa/surround71:CARD=PCH,DEV=0' (HDA Intel PCH, ALC3232 Analog/7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers)
  'alsa/usbstream:CARD=PCH' (HDA Intel PCH/USB Stream Output)
  'alsa/hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0' (HDA NVidia, HDMI 0/HDMI Audio Output)
  'alsa/hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=1' (HDA NVidia, HDMI 1/HDMI Audio Output)
  'alsa/hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=2' (HDA NVidia, HDMI 2/HDMI Audio Output)
  'alsa/hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3' (HDA NVidia, HDMI 3/HDMI Audio Output)
  'alsa/usbstream:CARD=NVidia' (HDA NVidia/USB Stream Output)


It works if I select
Code:
alsa/hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0


Any ideas why
Code:
pulse/alsa_output.pci-0000_00_03.0.hdmi-stereo
is no working?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poe_1957
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Sep 2018
Posts: 97
Location: Mortsel

PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2020 11:51 am    Post subject: my 2 cents Reply with quote

DId you check alsamixergui ?
_________________
Linuxpioneer
ALUG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banana
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 807
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2020 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or just alsamixer if the gui command does not exist
_________________
My personal space
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2020 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So alsamixer returns 4 cards:
1. (default)[/code] that is pulseaudio
2. HDA Intel HDMI that has 5 S/PDIF
3. HDA Intel PCH that has Master/Headphone/Speaker/PCM/...
4. HDA NVidia that has 4 S/PDIF

even if I try to change the sound card with "F6" the output sound does not change.
And got the same behavior in mpv.

Code:

$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 10: HDMI 4 [HDMI 4]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC3232 Analog [ALC3232 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poe_1957
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Sep 2018
Posts: 97
Location: Mortsel

PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2020 3:19 pm    Post subject: Alsmixer Reply with quote

If one is working then the other ways of decoding do not work.

for example if the analog audio is working the digital audio does not work. You have to switch manually.
Also check if your headphone is not connected.

Sound volume is not muted etc on each channel.
_________________
Linuxpioneer
ALUG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2020 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not sure what do you mean by "for example if the analog audio is working the digital audio does not work. You have to switch manually.". How can switch it?

There is no headphone connect, just the displayport to hdmi cable.

I do not think is a problem of muting as when I select the pulse/alsa_output.pci-0000_00_03.0.hdmi-stereo output the video freezes in mpv
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poe_1957
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Sep 2018
Posts: 97
Location: Mortsel

PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2020 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Even if you have no headphone connected to it your motherboard has probably a socket for headphones or analog output besides HDMI. Look for red, green, connectors ;-)
You switch it in KMIX on your desktopbar if you have KDE desktop. ( you have 2 icons then).
On other desktops it will be a similar option in your audiocontrol application.
You might be missing a software application that you need to install if you cannot do it. Anyway that is the way forward.
Currently there is a problem with the alsamixergui. It does not compile due to a illegal converting from string to char issue.
What also helps : instead of putting it as a module put everything in the kernel. <*> instead of <M>.
That may also be a problem : everything as a module or everything included.
_________________
Linuxpioneer
ALUG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yellowhat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2020 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using sway on pure wayland.
The problem is that it works if I use the gentoo-kernel-bin, so it is definitely related to my kernel config.
I have tried to compile a kernel with make allmodconfig, but it will just kernel panic on boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poe_1957
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Sep 2018
Posts: 97
Location: Mortsel

PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2020 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, wayland is a problem. Too much loose ends to me. Still experimental.
I stay with X11 and KDE. I recently switched to SYSTEMD. It works but if it fails...
New software is not so stable as it used to be.
_________________
Linuxpioneer
ALUG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum