Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Again and again: no sound, no config_snd_hda
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lokesh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 3:56 pm    Post subject: Again and again: no sound, no config_snd_hda Reply with quote

I just re-installed the whole OS from scratch. As happened before and to many users, there is no sound.
I went through this pleasure some time ago , but this time it is different.

Needless to add that alsa is set as USE flag in my make.conf && my profile is set to the Desktop profile "plasma", which in theory (it did not) should have set the alsa USE flag. And, the user was added to the audio group.
I cannot cope with the tons of available information on this because it fails at the beginning since there are no kernel modules to configure:
Code:
grep CONFIG_SND_HDA /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=64
Previously, there where a number of kernel modules available for configuration, e.g.
CONFIG_SND_HDA; CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL; CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK; CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915, and so on. Where are they?
Code:
uname -r
5.4.48-gentoo

The only information I found about my audio card is
Code:
lspci |grep -i audio
00:03.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio Controller (rev 06)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset High Definition Audio Controller (rev 05)

But I only get:
Code:
ls /proc/asound/
cards  devices  seq  timers  version

cat /proc/asound/cards
--- no soundcards ---

Any help would be appreciated.
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halcon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Again and again: no sound, no config_snd_hda Reply with quote

Lokesh wrote:
Code:
grep CONFIG_SND_HDA /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=64
Previously, there where a number of kernel modules available for configuration, e.g.
CONFIG_SND_HDA; CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL; CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK; CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915, and so on. Where are they?
Code:
uname -r
5.4.48-gentoo

It's always more reliable to grep in the working kernel:

Code:
# zcat /proc/config.gz | grep CONFIG_SND_HDA
CONFIG_SND_HDA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132_DSP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_DSP_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_COMPONENT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=0
(It's for 5.6.3. You may have /proc/config, not /proc/config.gz, or no /proc/config* at all, depending on your kernel configuration, but gz seems to be a default?)

If there is the same picture in /proc/config.gz, you could run
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
make clean
make menuconfig
, press "/", type CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL, press <Enter>, and you will see where the symbol is located in your current kernel version; I have

Code:
Symbol: SND_HDA_INTEL [=m] 
  │ Type  : tristate                   
  │ Defined at sound/pci/hda/Kconfig:11 
  │   Prompt: HD Audio PCI                                 
  │   Depends on: SOUND [=m] && !UML && SND [=m] && SND_PCI [=y]   
  │   Location:                                                                                     
  │     -> Device Drivers                                                             
  │       -> Sound card support (SOUND [=m])                     
  │         -> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture (SND [=m])   
  │ (1)       -> HD-Audio                                                     
  │ Selects: SND_HDA [=m] && SND_INTEL_DSP_CONFIG [=m]

The Location shows where to find CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL, the Prompt shows how it is named.


Last edited by halcon on Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zucca
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 1801
Location: KUUSANKOSKI, Finland

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use sys-kernel/gentoo-kernel-5.4.40 as my kernel on my intel based laptop.

I have these enabled:
# zgrep ^CONFIG_SND_HDA /proc/config.gz:
CONFIG_SND_HDA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP_MODE=1
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132_DSP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_DSP_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_COMPONENT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_EXT_CORE=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=4096


snippet from lspci -k:
00:0e.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Device 3198 (rev 03)
        DeviceName: Onboard - Sound
        Subsystem: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. Device 1190
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
        Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel, snd_sof_pci
... so it looks like you may also need to enable (or "modularize") CONFIG_SND_SOC_SOF_PCI

I hope this helps. :)
_________________
..: Zucca :..

Code:
ERROR: '--failure' is not an option. Aborting...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your reply. It will help next time...
Quote:
, press "/", type CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL, press <Enter>

results in
Code:
Symbol: SND_HDA_INTEL [=n]                                              │ 
  │ Type  : tristate                                                        │ 
  │ Prompt: HD Audio PCI                                                    │ 
  │   Location:                                                             │ 
  │     -> Device Drivers                                                   │ 
  │       -> Sound card support (SOUND [=y])                                │ 
  │         -> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture (SND [=y])                 │ 
  │ (1)       -> HD-Audio                                                   │ 
  │   Defined at sound/pci/hda/Kconfig:11                                   │ 
  │   Depends on: SOUND [=y] && !UML && SND [=y] && SND_PCI [=n]            │ 
  │   Selects: SND_HDA [=n] && SND_INTEL_NHLT [=n]                          │ 
  │                                                                         │ 
  │                                                                         │ 
  │ Symbol: SND_HDA_INTEL_DETECT_DMIC [=n]                                  │ 
  │ Type  : bool                                                            │ 
  │ Prompt: DMIC detection and probe abort                                  │ 
  │   Location:                                                             │ 
  │     -> Device Drivers                                                   │ 
  │       -> Sound card support (SOUND [=y])                                │ 
  │         -> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture (SND [=y])                 │ 
  │ (2)       -> HD-Audio                                                   │ 
  │             -> HD Audio PCI (SND_HDA_INTEL [=n])                        │ 
  │   Defined at sound/pci/hda/Kconfig:26                                   │ 
  │   Depends on: SOUND [=y] && !UML && SND [=y] && SND_HDA_INTEL [=n]
However, the site on -> Device Drivers -> Sound card support -> Advanced Linux Sound Architecture -> HD-Audio was empty! Blank, absolutely nothing.

But, I found the reason why: "PCI sound devices (@ Advanced Linux Sound Architecture) was unmarked. Pressed the space bar to mark it, went to HD-audio --> there is now an item called "HD AUDIO PCI". Again, the item was unmarked and nothing else on this site.

I pressed the space bar again and voila, a whole list is given:
Code:
[ ]   DMIC detection and probe abort (NEW)                       │ │ 
  │ │    [ ] Build hwdep interface for HD-audio driver (NEW)              │ │ 
  │ │    [ ] Allow dynamic codec reconfiguration (NEW)                    │ │ 
  │ │    [ ] Support digital beep via input layer (NEW)                   │ │ 
  │ │    [ ] Support initialization patch loading for HD-audio (NEW)      │ │ 
  │ │    < > Build Realtek HD-audio codec support (NEW)                   │ │ 
  │ │    < > Build Analog Device HD-audio codec support (NEW)             │ │ 
  │ │    < > Build IDT/Sigmatel HD-audio codec support (NEW)              │ │ 
  │ │    < > Build VIA HD-audio codec support (NEW)                       │ │ 
  │ │    < > Build HDMI/DisplayPort HD-audio codec support (NEW)          │ │ 
  │ │    < > Build Cirrus Logic codec support (NEW)                       │ │ 
  │ │    < > Build Conexant HD-audio codec support (NEW)                  │ │ 
  │ │    < > Build Creative CA0110-IBG codec support (NEW)                │ │ 
  │ │    < > Build Creative CA0132 codec support (NEW)                    │ │ 
  │ │    < > Build C-Media HD-audio codec support (NEW)                   │ │ 
  │ │    < > Build Silicon Labs 3054 HD-modem codec support (NEW)         │ │ 
  │ │    < > Enable generic HD-audio codec parser (NEW)                   │ │ 
  │ │    (0) Default time-out for HD-audio power-save mode (NEW

The one I need I believe is the Realtek HD-audio codec. I shall report back.
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 2785
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW

Code:

zcat /proc/config.gz | grep CONFIG_SND_HDA


can be shortened to
Code:

zgrep CONFIG_SND_HDA /proc/config.gz



:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halcon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmpogo wrote:
can be shortened to
Code:

zgrep CONFIG_SND_HDA /proc/config.gz

Thanks for the suggestion. I know :) I just used to cat/zcat as the explicit first step. It does not harm and looks consequentially.

PS. May be it's because I use perl, I don't like much a shortened code (perl can shorten a code so that it's not difficult to forget what it is already in ten minutes, lol).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 2785
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

halcon wrote:
dmpogo wrote:
can be shortened to
Code:

zgrep CONFIG_SND_HDA /proc/config.gz

Thanks for the suggestion. I know :) I just used to cat/zcat as the explicit first step. It does not harm and looks consequentially.

PS. May be it's because I use perl, I don't like much a shortened code (perl can shorten a code so that it's not difficult to forget what it is already in ten minutes, lol).



well, zcat is a shell wrapper around gzip, while zgrep is a shell wrapper around grep. Hard to say what is more 'compact'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does not work yet! The kernel seems to be configured correctly:
Code:
grep SND_HDA /boot/config-5.4.48-gentoo
CONFIG_SND_HDA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL_DETECT_DMIC is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054 is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_COMPONENT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=64
but
Code:
lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
x86_pkg_temp_thermal    20480  0
efivarfs               16384  1
Nothing loaded. :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: A fresh install and such basic things not working, it is annoying.
Code:
sudo modprobe SND_HDA_INTEL       
modprobe: FATAL: Module SND_HDA_INTEL not found in directory /lib/modules/5.4.48-gentoo

I am at my wit's ends.
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7428

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lokesh wrote:
Does not work yet! The kernel seems to be configured correctly

it only warrant you have install a kernel using that configuration
it doesn't warrant you didn't just forget to install the modules built for that kernel, if it's that, the good news is that it just mean you need to cd /usr/src/linux-5.4.48-gentoo && make modules_install
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45819
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lokesh,

Code:
CONFIG_SND_HDA=y 
is built into the kernel binary. It will not appear as a module.

I suspect you are building one kernel and running another, maybe you forgot to mount /boot for the kernel install, or its a new version and you didn't update grub.cfg, oc you updated grub.cfg but the kernel you want is not the default ...

Anyway, what does
Code:
uname -a
tell?
I get
Code:
$ uname -a
Linux NeddySeagoon_Static 5.7.4-gentoo #1 SMP PREEMPT Tue Jun 23 13:43:54 BST 2020 x86_64 AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

The date and time is the build date and time of the running kernel. Does it show what you expected?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7428

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also love the #value (number of time kernel has been built), no idea why i always fail to check date/time :)
NeddySeagoon wrote:
Linux NeddySeagoon_Static 5.7.4-gentoo #1 ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
I suspect you are building one kernel and running another, maybe you forgot to mount /boot for the kernel install, or its a new version and you didn't update grub.cfg, oc you updated grub.cfg but the kernel you want is not the default ...

I checked it:
Code:
uname -a
Linux localhost 5.4.48-gentoo #7 SMP Sun Aug 2 11:42:16 CEST 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.20GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

ls -l /usr/src/
total 8
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root   19 Aug  2 11:21 linux -> linux-5.4.48-gentoo
drwxr-xr-x 25 root root 4096 Aug  2 10:09 linux-5.4.38-gentoo
drwxr-xr-x 25 root root 4096 Aug  2 11:42 linux-5.4.48-gentoo

ls /boot/
System.map-5.4.48-gentoo  efi   vmlinuz-5.4.48-gentoo
config-5.4.48-gentoo      grub

sudo eselect kernel list
Available kernel symlink targets:
  [1]   linux-5.4.38-gentoo
  [2]   linux-5.4.48-gentoo *

Couple of complete shut-offs and starts, nothing
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:

Code:
CONFIG_SND_HDA=y 
is built into the kernel binary. It will not appear as a module.

These should appear:
Code:
grep SND_HDA /boot/config-5.4.48-gentoo |grep m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=m

But the don't.
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User


Last edited by Lokesh on Sun Aug 02, 2020 12:20 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halcon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmpogo wrote:
well, zcat is a shell wrapper around gzip, while zgrep is a shell wrapper around grep. Hard to say what is more 'compact'

As they say, "offtopic on"...
Good catch, but I meant not comparing what is more compact, but just a consequence of actions... That pipe from zcat is like opening file (1), then grep like doing work (2). Closing file (3) not needed here :) Just a matter of habit. When grepping with -r, sure, I use grep as the first command :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7428

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lokesh wrote:
I checked it

And you have double checked it? efi kernel is in /boot/efi, not in /boot ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halcon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lokesh wrote:
Code:
grep SND_HDA /boot/config-5.4.48-gentoo |grep m

What output do you get for this?
Code:
file /proc/config*

If you get /proc/config.gz, a gzip compressed data, you could zgrep it instead of files in /boot:
Code:
zgrep SND_HDA /proc/config.gz |grep m
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7428

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

halcon wrote:
What output do you get for this?
Code:
file /proc/config*

only if it was set as Y in kernel, it cannot be this easy :D
Code:
LC_ALL=c ls /proc/config*
ls: cannot access '/proc/config*': No such file or directory
modprobe configs
LC_ALL=c ls /proc/config*
/proc/config.gz
zgrep IKCONFIG /proc/config.gz
CONFIG_IKCONFIG=m
CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PROC=y

ps: if you want find the module name, try https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1101178-highlight-module.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
Lokesh wrote:
I checked it

And you have double checked it? efi kernel is in /boot/efi, not in /boot ...

What do you mean? The kernel files are under boot, efi stub kernel in my view NOT in charge of anything else but to get the system starting
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

obsolete reply
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User


Last edited by Lokesh on Sun Aug 02, 2020 1:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="krinn"]
Code:
modprobe configs
LC_ALL=c ls /proc/config*
/proc/config.gz
zgrep IKCONFIG /proc/config.gz
CONFIG_IKCONFIG=m
CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PROC=y


I went back to the kernel configuration searched for "IKCONFIG", went to it and activated the two items exactly as listed by krinn.
Compiled and installed the newly configured kernel, rebooted.
Code:
modprobe configs
LC_ALL=c ls /proc/config*
/proc/config.gz


How do I make loading configs at boot? Putting it into /etc/modprobe.d/ directory? And what is the next step, the sound modules still aren't there (a newbie question probably...)

A naive attempt...
Code:
modprobe configs

modprobe SND_HDA_INTEL
modprobe: FATAL: Module SND_HDA_INTEL not found in directory /lib/modules/5.4.48-gentoo
Considering Neddy Seagoon's comment, this may be expected, but
Code:
modprobe SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK
modprobe: FATAL: Module SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK not found in directory /lib/modules/5.4.48-gentoo

_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No /etc/modules-load.d/ directory. The kernel wiki sounds like it should be there.

What a mess 8O
_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halcon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lokesh wrote:
How do I make loading configs at boot? Putting it into /etc/modprobe.d/ directory?

No. When booting a kernel compiled with CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PROC, the file /proc/config.gz will "appear automatically" and will show with which .config the running kernel was compiled - very useful!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lokesh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

halcon wrote:
Lokesh wrote:
How do I make loading configs at boot? Putting it into /etc/modprobe.d/ directory?

No. When booting a kernel compiled with CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PROC, the file /proc/config.gz will "appear automatically" and will show with which .config the running kernel was compiled - very useful!

Not in my case. After shutdown and start:
Code:
sudo grep CONFIG_IKCONFIG /boot/config-5.4.48-gentoo
CONFIG_IKCONFIG=m
CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PROC=y

LC_ALL=c ls /proc/config*
ls: cannot access '/proc/config*': No such file or directory

_________________
Sometimes frustrated Linux User
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fturco
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Dec 2010
Posts: 1169
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you use OpenRC you can add the following line to /etc/conf.d/modules:
Code:
modules="configs"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
halcon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Dec 2019
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have
Code:
CONFIG_IKCONFIG=y
CONFIG_IKCONFIG_PROC=y

and /proc/config.gz is always in place. No need to check if the module is loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum