Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
how to reset wlan? [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 3:14 pm    Post subject: how to reset wlan? [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi all,

I started playing around with my wlan adapter and sometimes I have to reboot my box to in order to get it working again. I was wondering if there is a way to reset it without rebooting. Here is what I tried (and sometimes worked):
Code:

# ifconfig wlp3s0 down
# iw wlp3s0 del
# iw phy phy0 interface add wlp3s0 type managed
# /etc/init.d/dhcpcd restart


However, sometimes I cant get an inet/ip address (e.g. ifconfig wlp3s0) while I can connect/associate with the router.

Any idea/help is as always appreciated.

Cheers,

Efo


Last edited by Efo on Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banana
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 524
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

do you have ruled out poor signal?
_________________
My personal space
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Banana and thank you for the reply.

Yes, the signal is good, plus wpa_supplicant tells me that wlan is associated with the router (I think this mean they had some kind of handshake).

I think is something with the configuration because I am trying a bunch of settings with ifconfig and iwconfig.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banana
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 524
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm.. what does the logs say when this happens?
Do you habe any network manager software installed?
_________________
My personal space
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so if I remove and then add again the modules everything goes back to normal.
Code:
rmmod iwlmvm
rmmod iwlwifi
modprobe -a iwlmvm
modprobe -a iwlwifi

Now the question is why this happens, but I guess this is for another thread. I think this is a good "hard reset" for the wlan.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum