Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Most powerful machine you've put gentoo on?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 23, 24, 25  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MacMasta
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 545
Location: Anchorage, AK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 7:20 am    Post subject: Most powerful machine you've put gentoo on? Reply with quote

So, we've all read the "gentoo on ancient hardware" thread; I'm looking for the biggest, baddest iron you've put gentoo on.

Note: this isn't just 'I installed it, and then wiped the drives and put <something else> on there" but "I built, installed, and am using".

The best I've seen is the dual-athlon-mp 1200s my roomie has.

Anybody got it running on a quad-cpu machine? Or one of those giant N-cpu SPARCs?

~Mac~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ed0n
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Apr 2003
Posts: 638
Location: Prishtine/Kosove

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The most powerful machine that I puted gentoo on is my workstation.
Intel Pentium 4 1.6 ghz with hyper threading @ 512 mb sdram .
Nvidia Geforce 2 MX 64mb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AMD Barton 2500+, 512MB ram, KT400 chipset, GF FX5600 Ultra, cdrw, dvd, 60GB & 40GB hard disks
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mem7
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Dec 2003
Posts: 85
Location: Spokane, Washington

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My main computer:
P3 500Mhz
256Mb of PC100
GeForce MX 420 64Mb
ISA SOUND BLASTER 16!
_________________
NeoGeo, PC Engine, and NES for life!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MacMasta
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 545
Location: Anchorage, AK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All right, I'll trump you both with my Athlon XP 1600+, 512 ram, GF4 Ti4200, and 320 gig (unformatted) of disk.

We're looking for fast machines here, not slow ones!


~Mac~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avenj
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 495
Location: New Hampshire

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does my Athlon64 3200 with a gig of DDR400 count? It bootstraps in 45 minutes 8)
_________________
Jon Portnoy
avenj/irc.oppresses.us #eris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you lucky lucky bastard...
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
llew
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

avenj wrote:
Does my Athlon64 3200 with a gig of DDR400 count? It bootstraps in 45 minutes 8)


I've got me that baby, as well.

Do you know a good howto on compiling gentoo for 64 bit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avenj
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 495
Location: New Hampshire

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

llew wrote:
avenj wrote:
Does my Athlon64 3200 with a gig of DDR400 count? It bootstraps in 45 minutes 8)


I've got me that baby, as well.

Do you know a good howto on compiling gentoo for 64 bit?


http://dev.gentoo.org/~brad_mssw/amd64-tech-notes.html
_________________
Jon Portnoy
avenj/irc.oppresses.us #eris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nermal
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 259
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I put it on a dual opteron 2ghz machine with 2gb of ram at work.

Test machine from AMD. Nice, sure emerged mozilla quick ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
llew
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2003
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, but I knew this site.

The problem is, I can't find this image anymore:
livecd-amd64-2.6.0-official-basic-20031221.iso

I guess it is successed by this one, isn't it?
livecd-amd64-2004.0-rc1-20040201.iso

I'll just give it a try..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avenj
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 495
Location: New Hampshire

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes.
_________________
Jon Portnoy
avenj/irc.oppresses.us #eris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aurora
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 658
Location: Classified

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

avenj wrote:
Does my Athlon64 3200 with a gig of DDR400 count? It bootstraps in 45 minutes 8)


WOW

8O 8O
_________________
"My downfall raises me to infinite heights." -Napoleon Bonaparte
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gaz
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Oct 2002
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dual Xeon 3.06ghz with Hyperthreading and 2gb ram
Dual Xeon 2.8ghz with Hyperthreading and 2gb ram
Dual AthlonMP 2800+ with 1gb ram

I installed gentoo on these for running gameservers for walan

I had distcc running on them and bootstrapped my own machine :)
(didnt time it though sorry :( )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
banadushi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 37
Location: San Antonio, TX USA Earth

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dell 6650 4x2Ghz Xeon w/Hyperthreading, 16GB RAM 3x73GB RAID5

Compile time for GCC under 5 minutes. With ccache of course :wink:

Right now installing on a SunFire 280R 2x1.2 GHz UltraSPARC III Cu Procs 2x36GB drives and 1GB RAM. (and its not going well) :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Boris27
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 562
Location: Almelo, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AthlonXP 2500+, 512MB, 120GB.... Pretty fast.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
christsong84
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Apr 2003
Posts: 1002
Location: GMT-8 (Spokane)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well...dunno 'bout uber or fast...but it's decent ;)

Dual P4 Xeon 3.06GHz
PC2700 1GB RAM
72GB SATA HD
_________________
while(true) {self.input(sugar);} :twisted:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaska
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 725
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fastest machine I have installed gentoo on is my workstation:
Athlon XP 2400+, 512mb ddr400 ram, 200gb hd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShockValue
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My personal workstation at home runs gentoo 24x7.

2.6Ghz P4
512 PC2700
KT400
2x40 RAID0

When I compile large stuff, I boot distccKnoppix on my wifes mirror machine, so I get 2x the above specs to emerge with :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoobydu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 1076
Location: 'Mind the Gap'

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some opterons :)
_________________
Tyan Tiger K8W, 2xOpteron 240,Powerbook5,6 15" 1.5g, Macbook Black 2g, Mac Mini 1g, Ipod P60g.
| Linux - From a windows user perspective|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CDLM
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 179
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

see sig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
c4Ff3In3 4ddiC+
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 3:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pentium 4 2.4GHz + 512MB DDR333 + 60GB ATA133
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
caffeinecoder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For an isp I sysadmin: Dual 2.4ghz Xeon with 2 gigs of ram, dual 80 gig wd se

My system (also running gentoo) is a Athlon XP 2800+ with a gig of ram, and a radeon 9800pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ejay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2003
Posts: 11
Location: Oulu/Finland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AMD AthlonXP 1600+, 512MB DDR 266, 120GB HD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Abraxas
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 793

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm hoping to get rid of the Suse installation on the computer I just built for my brother and install Gentoo.

Athlon XP 2800
1 GB Dual Channel DDR Corsair PC3200
GeForce 5700 Ultra
120 GB SATA HD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 23, 24, 25  Next
Page 1 of 25

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum