iptables port forwarding on a router
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
erg_samowzbudnik
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2020 2:17 pm    Post subject: iptables port forwarding on a router Reply with quote

Hi all,

I want to ssh from internet to a server running behind home router running OpenWrt. Router has static IP. I'm a noob if it comes to iptables.

Assuming router address is 192.168.1.1 and server behind it 192.168.1.100, would adding those rules on the router be ok? Or am I supposed to use 'outside' IP rather than internal one for the router address?:

Code:
iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -p tcp --dport 22 -j DNAT -d 192.168.1.100:80
iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -p tcp -d 192.168.1.100 --dport 22 -j SNAT -s 192.168.1.1

Or should I rather use --to-destination and --to-source instead of -d and -s options?
szatox
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2020 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Prerouting: if packet comes to router's public interface, change destination to your client
Postrouting: if packet comes to router's private interface, change source IP to your router's public IP
Not limiting by interfaces (or otherwise distinguishing between lan and wan traffic) will come at you and bite you at some point when you don't expect it. Also, it should be --sport in POSTROUTING in your case, since it's meant to match packets going from your sever in LAN to a client somewhere over the internet and you don't know his randomly chosen port at the time of creating those rules.

There is no need to alter "remote" end's IP for the client, because it will route via your router by default anyway.

Another thing you might need is an ACCEPT rule in the FORWARD chain.
erg_samowzbudnik
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2020 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

szatox,