Multiple issues with KDE
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
compinthegroove
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 4:09 am    Post subject: Multiple issues with KDE Reply with quote

Hello. I'm new to Gentoo and have been playing around with a few VMs to get a feel for it. On one of them, I've done an install of KDE and I'm having a few issues with it. Maybe you guys could help?

I've got a Dell R720 with Debian 10 installed, running KVM and QEMU. The VM in question was configured with Q35 firmware, BIOS boot, and OpenRC, on the stable branch.

1) I've got SDDM configured to start automatically. The Session menu gives 3 options- Plasma, Xsession, and Plasma (Wayland). If I choose Plasma, I'm able to log in. If I choose either of the other two, I see a very brief text output (too fast to read), then the VM goes right back to the SDDM logon screen.

2) Logging into a Plasma session, the default screen resolution is 1024x768. I'm able to change it to 1920x1080, but if I log out, the settings don't persist. Logging back in, I get the default screen resolution.

3) I did a custom kernel configuration, consulting the Gentoo page for configuring a KVM guest. When I run lspci -v, all the devices shown in the output list drivers in use, except for two. Trying to locate the missing drivers, I ran the same command on an Arch VM on the same box and was able to figure out the name of one of the missing drivers. Problem is, when I run make menuconfig on my Gentoo VM and do a search, I can't find it. Another thing I tried was to set the VM to boot into a Debian live CD, then running lspci -v again. The missing drivers didn't show up. So I'm wondering, could it be that the driver that did show up in the Arch VM was due to a newer kernel? Here are the devices in question:

Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31/P35/P31 Express DRAM Controller