[Solved] Messed up kernel upgrade
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
cacto
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 8:27 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Messed up kernel upgrade Reply with quote

Hello and apologies if this is the wrong sub-form

I'm completely new to gentoo and after spending a few days working through the handbook managed to get a system installed and everything was okay for a while

Today I tried upgrading the kernel from 4.19.57 to 4.19.66 by following the wiki (https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Kernel/Upgrade) using genkernel,

It compiles and grub picks it up after mkconfig but I've screwed something up somewhere and can't seem to boot at all now
Initially I was seeing a grey splash screen that hangs so I used my installation usb to gain access the system and tried to setup the kernel again with genkernel

That's done something and now I'm shown a sort of limited terminal (forgive my lack of knowledge here) that complains about not being able to find a block device.

I *think* I've passed a wrong config or not provided one to genkernel but I'm lost on how to start unraveling it all
Happy to provide any further information & any help would be greatly appreciated

Last edited by cacto on Thu Aug 15, 2019 7:50 am; edited 2 times in total
Hu

PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to the Gentoo forums. This is a good place for the problem you encountered. The most likely explanation is that the newer kernel was built without support for some part of your storage stack, so as far as it can see, you have no (working) hard drive, and thus nowhere to find the root filesystem.