failed to bring eth0 up after install & runscript.sh pro
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
RogierEggers
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2002 9:34 pm    Post subject: failed to bring eth0 up after install & runscript.sh pro Reply with quote

Hi Guys & Girls,

I am new to Gentoo and pretty new to linux. I just did my first installation from stage 1. Everything went well except for that i get the following error message when I boot

Code:
Bringing eth0 up...
dhcpcd{2123}: dhcpcdStart: ioctl SIOCGIFHWADDR: No such device

Failed to bring eth0 up

and I also get the following message in various places during boot:
Code:
/sbin/runscript.sh:used: command not found

About the first problem, I suspected that my Realtek ethernetcard was not installed properly, so I checked that I included support in make menuconfig (included IN the kernel) again and recompiled the kernel. This didn't help.

When I give the command /sbin/ifconfig -a, then it gives me the output:
Code:
lo  Link encap: Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqeuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

In /etc/conf.d/net I have only the following uncommented:
Code:
iface_eth0="dhcp"

I have a Celeron533 system with a Realtek Fast Ethernet Adapter (model tf-3239). I've got my own dhcp-server through which I can also connect to the internet. This worked very well during the install, when I booted from the CD. Does anyone see the thing that I overlook? I searched the forums, but other solutions don't seem to help. Ofcourse I'll be happy to provide you with more logs/error messages, but I don't know which and where to find them.