Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
XFCE, no progress bar when copying files
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sasq
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Sep 2005
Posts: 225
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2019 11:52 pm    Post subject: XFCE, no progress bar when copying files Reply with quote

This problem returns like a boomerang, I remember having it a couple of years ago on another Gentoo box.

I have XFCE desktop running, and when I use either Dolphin or Konqueror (for file management) from KDE for moving or copying files, there's no usual window that would display the progress of the operation :/ The files simply appear in the destination folder one by one, but I can't see whether the operation already finished or not, because there's no window with such information.

I guess I'm missing some obscure package from KDE?

How can I bring the usual copying progress window back?
_________________
SasQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banana
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 449
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I don't now a solution but a question:
Why not use thunar?
_________________
My personal space
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
catacombs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2019
Posts: 1
Location: /home/

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*_-=Banana=-_* wrote:
Well I don't now a solution but a question:
Why not use thunar?


Another option is pcmanfm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Logicien
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 1387
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What if the files to be copied are too small to let the progress bar the time to raise and instead Dolphin copy the next file?

If you use Kde desktop environment is Dolphin have the same behavior?
_________________
Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sasq
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Sep 2005
Posts: 225
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2019 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Logicien wrote:
What if the files to be copied are too small to let the progress bar the time to raise and instead Dolphin copy the next file?


Nope, they're pretty big. Like, ISO images etc. Or a whole bunch of small files – same effect.
I can see they're still being copied, because they appear one by one once in a while, but no progress window is showing up. As if some component of the system was missing, the one that displays that window.

Logicien wrote:
If you use Kde desktop environment is Dolphin have the same behavior?


Yes, it's the same way in Dolphin.

But the "desktop environment" is XFCE, as I said earlier. I don't use the full-blown KDE, just installed a few packages from it that are required. I think I just missed one of them, the one that is responsible for that progress window, because I had the same exact problem a couple of years ago, except with another version of KDE, so the same solution doesn't seem to work anymore (they keep changing it, usually for worse, and my patience for this piece of crap is already running short :q ).

*_-=Banana=-_* wrote:
Why not use thunar?


Because the choice is not always up to me. It's my parents's machine and they quite used to Konqueror as their file manager. When I tried them to move to Dolphin, they didn't quite like it, because "everything was different". And I'm pretty sure it would get even worse with Thunar :q
_________________
SasQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banana
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 449
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2019 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

a switch to a complete KDE is not an option?

just found something matching your problem: https://forum.kde.org/viewtopic.php?f=225&t=121466
_________________
My personal space
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sasq
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Sep 2005
Posts: 225
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2019 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, that's my post from 2014 when I had the same problem (did I say it returns like a boomerang?) :q
And that's the solution that I said it worked then but doesn't work anymore, because there's no kuiserver package in Portage for current version of KDE anymore.
They must've changed it, AGAIN :x
Or if there is a different package that contains this command, please tell me what package it is.
(I would probably have found it myself long ago, if it wasn't for another problem with Portage, and forum mods in general :roll: ).
_________________
SasQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum