Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Compilation failure compiling XOrg/X11
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
student
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2019 8:08 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Compilation failure compiling XOrg/X11 Reply with quote

Hello everyone!
This is my first post here as I am a noob at gentoo, so pls don't be too harsh. :oops:
I have installed gentoo on VirtualBox VM. Now I tried to install Xorg/X11 server and would later install the Fluxbox to have a gui.
I was following this tutorial: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xorg/Guide
I did not configure/recompile kernel for xorg, as some setting that, according to tutorial, were needed, were already correct. But fot GPU part, VirtualBox vm doesn't have nvidia or amd virtual card, but rather "VMSVGA", so I didn't set/change any setting related to GPU.
I got an error while compiling some package.
I was running this command:
Code:
emerge --ask x11-base/xorg-server

Here is the output that I get:
Here are last 100 lines of console output from the command. I couldn't upload whole file, because it was too large (~26k lines).
http://dpaste.com/32J17A4


Last edited by student on Wed May 01, 2019 2:36 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 4438
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi student,

welcome to the Gentoo forums!

Please post the output of
Code:
emerge --info

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
student
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here you go: http://dpaste.com/362QEBM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30822
Location: here

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2019 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In your log there is no error, but on possible cause is an out of memory error (you have only 1Gb ram).
You should add more RAM on virtual machine and you can also set a lower MAKEOPTS
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 4438
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2019 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In /etc/portage/make.conf:
Code:
VIDEO_CARDS="amdgpu fbdev intel nouveau radeon radeonsi vesa dummy v4l"

That makes Mesa pull in llvm. I don't know why it fails, but you probably don't need llvm. Try
Code:
VIDEO_CARDS="virtualbox"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30822
Location: here

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2019 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike155 wrote:
That makes Mesa pull in llvm. I don't know why it fails, but you probably don't need llvm.

llvm is enabled by default on mesa, you should disable llvm use flag from mesa with /etc/portage/package.use
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
student
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2019 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for quick help.

fedeliallalinea wrote:
mike155 wrote:
That makes Mesa pull in llvm. I don't know why it fails, but you probably don't need llvm.

llvm is enabled by default on mesa, you should disable llvm use flag from mesa with /etc/portage/package.use


How should I disable llvm exactly? In my case
Code:
/etc/portage/package.use/
is a directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30822
Location: here

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2019 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

student wrote:
How should I disable llvm exactly? In my case
Code:
/etc/portage/package.use/
is a directory.

Yes /etc/portage/package.use can be a file or directory, if is a directory you can put inside a file with name that you want.
Code:
# echo "media-libs/mesa -llvm" >> /etc/portage/package.use/disable_llvm

_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
student
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2019 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. Everything was compiled and installed. I called emerge before you told me how to disable llvm from it, so I guess I have llvm now, too. But that doesn't hurt. I will try to proceed with installation of gui.
Thank you a lot for your help, gentoo mates!

P.S. It took probably around an hour to install. I think llvm and mesa took the most time. I was about to cancel execution at one point, as I thought there is some error or something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 4438
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2019 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After you change USE flags or anything in make.conf (e.g. VIDEO_CARDS), you should run
Code:
emerge --update --deep --newuse -av @world

and
Code:
emerge --depclean -a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
student
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello again. Thanks for previous help.
Here I am, cannot start the XOrg server with
Code:
xstart
.
I tried to install
Code:
x11-wm/twm and x11-terms/xterm
from this (https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xorg/Guide) guide, but it didn't help. I still get "no screens found" error.

This is error picture: https://ibb.co/3N2XRF2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54028
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

student,

Its
Code:
startx
but it must be a typo in your post.

Please use wgetpaste to put the entire /var/log/Xorg.0.log onto a pastebin site and tell us the link.
You will need to emerge wgetpaste if you don't have it.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
student
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is paste: http://dpaste.com/0P1164T

P.S.
I checked if there is no virtual monitor assigned to the vm, but in VirtualBox configuration it says "monitor count: 1".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54028
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

student,

The auto detect says [
Code:
 16300.914] (==) Matched vmware as autoconfigured driver 0
[ 16300.914] (==) Matched modesetting as autoconfigured driver 1
[ 16300.914] (==) Matched fbdev as autoconfigured driver 2
[ 16300.914] (==) Matched vesa as autoconfigured driver 3
so Xorg thinks you are running a a guest in VMware, not Virtualbox.

Your emulated graphics card
Code:
[ 16300.909] (--) PCI:*(0@0:2:0) 15ad:0405:15ad:0405 rev 0
first appeared in VMware Workstation 3.

By default, Virtualbox shows its video controller PCI Vendor and Device ID as 80ee:beef
There are 4 to choose from, including None.
Which one are you using?

Your helpers and the documentation will assume you are using VBoxVGA.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
student
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is output of
Code:
lspci -nn
: http://dpaste.com/039EZWA
It seems that I have a VirtualBox video card, but its address doesn't start with 80ee. And there is VirtualBox guest service which starts with 80ee, but it's not a gpu.

Selected "Graphics controller" in VirtualBox configuration is "VMSVGA".

Is it possible that I did some mistake / misconfigured something during installation of my Gentoo. so that now XOrg server doesn't see the correct gpu?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54028
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

student,

Code:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: VMware SVGA II Adapter [15ad:0405]

Heh, it says VMware in its name.

Unless you really need that video card, shut down the Virtual Machine, go into the Virtual box control panel, choose your Gentoo VM.
Open the Display panel.
In the Graphics Controller drop down, choose VBoxVGA.
Restart the VM.

This changes the virtual hardware to the graphics card your Gentoo is expecting.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
student
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh boy, startx now started! Thank you!
So what was the problem here? Is it like XOrg was expecting vmware gpu, but instead there was vbox gpu (VMSVGA)? But it doesn't make much sense because "VBoxVGA" cannot be vmware gpu, because its name says "VBoxVGA" :/
And also, shouldn't there be some problems with kernel? I think I had it compiled for one hardware, and now I change tha GPU, shouldn't it stop working?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54028
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

student,

All the documentation for running Gentoo as a VirtualBox guest assumes that you use the VBoxVGA graphics card.
When you installed Gentoo, that's how you configured it.

However, when you configured the VirtualBox environment for Gentoo, you gave it the VMSVGA graphics card.

So the software was set up one way and the emulated hardware another way.
You have changed the emulated hardware to match your Gentoo install.

When you only have the text console, there is one driver suits all in the PC world.
When you get to the GUI, Xorg has different drivers to get the best performance out of each family of cards.

You could have made it work with the other graphics card, by rebuilding your Gentoo but you would probably have the only Gentoo in VirtualBox with the VMware graphics in the world.
That would be hard to support in future.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
student
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for explanation. I actually used generic Gentoo installation (https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64), and not any guide made specifically for VirtualBox guest Gentoo. But I'm happy that I have it working now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum