Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] i3 and xrandr issue
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
braz2kuk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Apr 2007
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Sat Mar 23, 2019 12:00 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] i3 and xrandr issue Reply with quote

Hi,

I am running i3 and have a 3 monitor setup, i have made a script file that contains the xrandr executable and parameters that work for my setup, if i execute the xrandr command in a terminal it works so i know the command is not at fault, however if i try and run it at i3 startup it does not work.

The script file i am using is ~/.screenlayout/screens.sh is shown below.

Code:

#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output DVI-D-0 --off --output HDMI-0 --off --output DP-5 --off --output DP-4 --primary --mode 1920x1080 --pos 1920x0 --rotate normal --output DP-3 --off --output DP-2 --mode 1920x1080 --pos 3840x0 --rotate normal --output DP-1 --off --output DP-0 --mode 1920x1080 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal


My i3 config below

Code:

#Font for window titles. Will also be used by the bar unless a different font
# is used in the bar {} block below.
font pango:Fantasque Sans Mono 8

# This font is widely installed, provides lots of unicode glyphs, right-to-left
# text rendering and scalability on retina/hidpi displays (thanks to pango).
font pango:DejaVu Sans Mono 8

# Before i3 v4.8, we used to recommend this one as the default:
# font -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal--13-120-75-75-C-70-iso10646-1
# The font above is very space-efficient, that is, it looks good, sharp and
# clear in small sizes. However, its unicode glyph coverage is limited, the old
# X core fonts rendering does not support right-to-left and this being a bitmap
# font, it doesn’t scale on retina/hidpi displays.

# Mod Key
set $mod Mod4

#Screen Layout
exec_always --nostartup-id terminator -e ~/.screenlayout/screens.sh

#Nitrogen
exec --no-startup-id nitrogen --restore

#start ckb-next daemon
exec --no-startup-id ckb-next --background

#set keyboard map
exec --no-startup-id setxkbmap -layout gb

# compton
exec --no-startup-id compton --config ~/.config/i3/compton.conf

# start a terminal
bindsym $mod+Return exec terminator

# Use Mouse+$mod to drag floating windows to their wanted position
floating_modifier $mod

# kill focused window
bindsym $mod+q kill

# Make the currently focused window a scratchpad
bindsym $mod+Shift+minus move scratchpad

# Show the first scratchpad window
bindsym $mod+minus scratchpad show

# change focus
bindsym $mod+j focus left
bindsym $mod+k focus down
bindsym $mod+l focus up
bindsym $mod+semicolon focus right

# alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:
bindsym $mod+Left focus left
bindsym $mod+Down focus down
bindsym $mod+Up focus up
bindsym $mod+Right focus right

# move focused window
bindsym $mod+Shift+j move left
bindsym $mod+Shift+k move down
bindsym $mod+Shift+l move up
bindsym $mod+Shift+semicolon move right

# alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:
bindsym $mod+Shift+Left move left
bindsym $mod+Shift+Down move down
bindsym $mod+Shift+Up move up
bindsym $mod+Shift+Right move right

# split in horizontal orientation
bindsym $mod+h split h

# split in vertical orientation
bindsym $mod+v split v

# enter fullscreen mode for the focused container
bindsym $mod+f fullscreen toggle

# change container layout (stacked, tabbed, toggle split)
bindsym $mod+s layout stacking
bindsym $mod+w layout tabbed
bindsym $mod+e layout toggle split

# toggle tiling / floating
bindsym $mod+space floating toggle

# change focus between tiling / floating windows
bindsym $mod+Shift+space focus mode_toggle

# focus the parent container
bindsym $mod+a focus parent

# focus the child container
#bindsym $mod+shift+d focus child

# Define names for default workspaces for which we configure key bindings later on.

# We use variables to avoid repeating the names in multiple places.
set $ws1 "1"
set $ws2 "2"
set $ws3 "3"
set $ws4 "4"
set $ws5 "5"
set $ws6 "6"
set $ws7 "7"
set $ws8 "8"
set $ws9 "9"
set $ws10 "10"

# switch to workspace
bindsym $mod+1 workspace $ws1
bindsym $mod+2 workspace $ws2
bindsym $mod+3 workspace $ws3
bindsym $mod+4 workspace $ws4
bindsym $mod+5 workspace $ws5
bindsym $mod+6 workspace $ws6
bindsym $mod+7 workspace $ws7
bindsym $mod+8 workspace $ws8
bindsym $mod+9 workspace $ws9
bindsym $mod+0 workspace $ws10

# move focused container to workspace
bindsym $mod+Shift+1 move container to workspace $ws1
bindsym $mod+Shift+2 move container to workspace $ws2
bindsym $mod+Shift+3 move container to workspace $ws3
bindsym $mod+Shift+4 move container to workspace $ws4
bindsym $mod+Shift+5 move container to workspace $ws5
bindsym $mod+Shift+6 move container to workspace $ws6
bindsym $mod+Shift+7 move container to workspace $ws7
bindsym $mod+Shift+8 move container to workspace $ws8
bindsym $mod+Shift+9 move container to workspace $ws9
bindsym $mod+Shift+0 move container to workspace $ws10



# resize window (you can also use the mouse for that)
mode "resize" {
        # These bindings trigger as soon as you enter the resize mode

        # Pressing left will shrink the window’s width.
        # Pressing right will grow the window’s width.
        # Pressing up will shrink the window’s height.
        # Pressing down will grow the window’s height.
        bindsym j resize shrink width 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym k resize grow height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym l resize shrink height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym semicolon resize grow width 10 px or 10 ppt

        # same bindings, but for the arrow keys
        bindsym Left resize shrink width 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Down resize grow height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Up resize shrink height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Right resize grow width 10 px or 10 ppt

        # back to normal: Enter or Escape or $mod+r
        bindsym Return mode "default"
        bindsym Escape mode "default"
        bindsym $mod+r mode "default"
}

bindsym $mod+r mode "resize"

# Start i3bar to display a workspace bar (plus the system information i3status finds out, if available)

bar {
    font pango:DejaVu Sans Mono, FontAwesome 11
    position top
    output DP-4
    status_command ~/Bin/i3status-rs ~/.config/i3/status.toml
    colors {
        separator #666666
        background #000000
        statusline #dddddd
        focused_workspace #E74B12 #E74B12 #ffffff
        active_workspace #333333 #333333 #ffffff
        inactive_workspace #333333 #333333 #888888
        urgent_workspace #2f343a #900000 #ffffff
    }
}

# i3-gaps
gaps inner 10
gaps outer 05
smart_gaps on

# a fix for the black bar at the top of the screen
# https://github.com/Airblader/i3/issues/29
# the following line fixes the issue, removes window titlebars
for_window [class="^.*"] border pixel 0

# reload the configuration file
bindsym $mod+Shift+c reload

# restart i3 inplace (preserves your layout/session, can be used to upgrade i3)
bindsym $mod+Shift+r restart

# exit i3
bindsym $mod+Shift+e exec i3-msg exit

#Pulse Audio controls
bindsym XF86AudioRaiseVolume exec --no-startup-id pactl set-sink-volume 0 +4% #increase sound volume
bindsym XF86AudioLowerVolume exec --no-startup-id pactl set-sink-volume 0 -4% #decrease sound volume
bindsym XF86AudioMute exec --no-startup-id pactl set-sink-mute 0 toggle # mute sound


# Media player controls
bindsym XF86AudioPlay exec playerctl play
bindsym XF86AudioPause exec playerctl pause
bindsym XF86AudioNext exec playerctl next
bindsym XF86AudioPrev exec playerctl previous

# Disabled dmenu
# bindsym $mod+d exec dmenu_run
# There also is the (new) i3-dmenu-desktop which only displays applications
# shipping a .desktop file. It is a wrapper around dmenu, so you need that
# installed.
# bindsym $mod+d exec --no-startup-id i3-dmenu-desktop


# i3 Lock
bindsym Mod1+shift+o exec i3lock --color E74B12

# copy and paste buffer
exec --no-startup-id autocutsel

#numlockx
exec_always --no-startup-id numlockx on

# dunst
exec --no-startup-id dunst

# start Rofi
bindsym $mod+d exec --no-startup-id rofi -show drun

# start Spotify
bindsym Mod1+shift+s exec --no-startup-id spotify

# browser shortcut
bindsym Mod1+g exec google-chrome-stable

# Thunar shortcut
bindsym Mod1+Shift+t exec thunar 

# ranger shortcut
bindsym Mod1+Shift+r exec terminator -e ranger
 
# calcurse
#bindsym Mod1+y exec termite -e "zsh -c 'source ~/.zshrc && calcurse'"

# screenshot
bindsym --release Print exec scrot '%Y-%m-%d_%H.%M.%S_$wx$h.png' -e 'mv $f ~/Pictures/screenshots' -q 100
bindsym --release Shift+Print exec scrot '%Y-%m-%d_%H.%M.%S_$wx$h.png' -e 'mv $f ~/Pictures/screenshots'

#wal - use the last image/color scheme
#exec_always wal -R &


#######################################################################
# automatically start i3-config-wizard to offer the user to create a
# keysym-based config which used their favorite modifier (alt or windows)
#
# i3-config-wizard will not launch if there already is a config file
# in ~/.i3/config.
#
# Please remove the following exec line:
#######################################################################


Any ideas what i may be doing wrong?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
braz2kuk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Apr 2007
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Solved this by calling /usr/bin/xrandr instead of just xrandr, strange but it works now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21635

PostPosted: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That solution suggests that $PATH is not set correctly when called from the window manager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum