Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Intel SST USB sound ACEPC T11 (SOLVED)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ShadowHawkBV
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 10:04 pm    Post subject: Intel SST USB sound ACEPC T11 (SOLVED) Reply with quote

My video player replacement is almost completely up and running. One minor little hic-up, the sound refuses to work. I've went through the wiki (https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/ALSA), and am still getting nowhere slow. I've tried with the speakers connected to the audio port of the system, and to the monitor it's connected to via an HDMI cable.

Here is the lsmod
Code:
lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ipv6                  532480  84
ip_tables              28672  0
btintel                28672  0
btbcm                  16384  0
btrtl                  20480  0
hci_uart               36864  0
snd_soc_sst_byt_cht_es8316    16384  0
8021q                  32768  0
garp                   16384  1 8021q
stp                    16384  1 garp
llc                    16384  2 stp,garp
btsdio                 20480  0
fscrypto               32768  0
bluetooth             643072  6 btrtl,btsdio,btintel,hci_uart,btbcm
ecdh_generic           28672  1 bluetooth
brcmfmac              393216  0
brcmutil               20480  1 brcmfmac
crc32c_intel           24576  0
ghash_clmulni_intel    16384  0
cryptd                 28672  1 ghash_clmulni_intel
cfg80211              757760  1 brcmfmac
iTCO_wdt               16384  0
r8152                  73728  0
iTCO_vendor_support    16384  1 iTCO_wdt
snd_intel_sst_acpi     20480  1
snd_intel_sst_core     65536  1 snd_intel_sst_acpi
snd_soc_sst_atom_hifi2_platform   106496  1 snd_intel_sst_core
snd_soc_acpi_intel_match    28672  1 snd_intel_sst_acpi
snd_soc_es8316         40960  0
snd_soc_acpi           16384  2 snd_soc_acpi_intel_match,snd_intel_sst_acpi
snd_soc_core          245760  3 snd_soc_sst_byt_cht_es8316,snd_soc_sst_atom_hifi2_platform,snd_soc_es8316
snd_compress           28672  1 snd_soc_core
snd_pcm_dmaengine      16384  1 snd_soc_core
ac97_bus               16384  1 snd_soc_core

The onboard card is the Intel SST (Cherry Trail HDMI). I have all the options I could find as modules.

It does NOT show up with lspci or lsusb.

Here is the aplay -L
Code:
aplay -L
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
sysdefault:CARD=Audio
    Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio, Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audi
    Default Audio Device
hdmi:CARD=Audio,DEV=0
    Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio, Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audi
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=Audio,DEV=1
    Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio, Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audi
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=Audio,DEV=2
    Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio, Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audi
    HDMI Audio Output
usbstream:CARD=Audio
    Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio
    USB Stream Output

So it is being detected.
It shows up only as audio via cat /sys/class/sound/card*/id
Code:
cat /sys/class/sound/card*/id
Audio

And there are three entries for aplay --list-devices
Code:
aplay --list-devices
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Audio [Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio], device 0: HdmiLpeAudio [Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audi]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Audio [Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio], device 1: HdmiLpeAudio [Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audi]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Audio [Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio], device 2: HdmiLpeAudio [Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audi]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Alsa mixer shows a card, but doesn't let me do anything with it.
Code:
Card: Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio                                            F1:  Help               │
│ Chip:                                                                    F2:  System information │
│ View: F3: Playback  F4: Capture  F5: All                                 F6:  Select sound card  │
│ Item:                                                                    Esc: Exit               │

│                          This sound device does not have any controls.


I can select default or the card by name. Neither allows me to un-mute or do anything else.

Finally here is my asound.conf (This is where I'm unsure if I have the contents correct)
Code:
cat /etc/asound.conf
pcm.!spdif {
     type hw
     card 0
     device 1
}

pcm.!default {
     type plug
     slave {
           pcm "spdif"
     }
}


I am in the audio group, alsasound is in the boot level, and have installed the xfce4-alsa-plugin, alsa-lib, alsa-plugins, alsa-utils, and alsa-utils. The XFCE ALSA volume control allows me to select the card or default, but does not let me select channel, or any other controls.

Umm help.
_________________
This space for rent... Well maybe to give away.. Heck.. i'll pay you to take it.

Lost Linux Neophyte
Intel Atom Cherry Trail
Intel i7-4790
AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955
Intel Core i7-2670QM
Intel Core i5-2557M
Pure 64bit frustration :-)


Last edited by ShadowHawkBV on Mon Mar 18, 2019 8:45 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowHawkBV
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some more information.

Code:
sudo cat /var/log/dmesg | grep audio
[    2.948864] [drm] HDaudio controller not detected, using LPE audio instead
[    3.071076] input: Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio HDMI/DP,pcm=0 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:02.0/hdmi-lpe-audio/sound/card0/input8
[    3.071272] input: Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio HDMI/DP,pcm=1 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:02.0/hdmi-lpe-audio/sound/card0/input9
[    3.071455] input: Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio HDMI/DP,pcm=2 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:02.0/hdmi-lpe-audio/sound/card0/input10


Code:
sudo head -1 /proc/asound/card?/codec*
head: cannot open '/proc/asound/card?/codec*' for reading: No such file or directory


Does this mean that there is a codec I am missing for the Cherry trail sound device? If so, what codec would it use?
_________________
This space for rent... Well maybe to give away.. Heck.. i'll pay you to take it.

Lost Linux Neophyte
Intel Atom Cherry Trail
Intel i7-4790
AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955
Intel Core i7-2670QM
Intel Core i5-2557M
Pure 64bit frustration :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42573
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ShadowHawkBV,

Edit your original post to add further information. Replying to yourself removes your topic from the unanswered post search.
That means it may be missed by potential helpers.

Please reboot,
post your
Code:
lspci -nnk
output.
Put your kernel .config file onto a pastebin site.
Put your dmesg onto a pasetbin site.

It looks like you are missing a codec but it way not be that simple.
You appear to have no analogue audio outputs, that looks a bit odd.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6958
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Booting a distro with good multimedia support may help to understand what's needed, if it works, that is.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowHawkBV
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry Neddy, I'll try to remember to edit not add.

The lspci -nnk
Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series SoC Transaction Register [8086:2280] (rev 36)
   Subsystem: Intel Corporation Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series SoC Transaction Register [8086:7270]
   Kernel driver in use: iosf_mbi_pci
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series PCI Configuration Registers [8086:22b0] (rev 36)
   DeviceName:  Onboard IGD
   Subsystem: Intel Corporation Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series PCI Configuration Registers [8086:7270]
   Kernel driver in use: i915
00:03.0 Multimedia controller [0480]: Intel Corporation Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series Imaging Unit [8086:22b8] (rev 36)
   Subsystem: Intel Corporation Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series Imaging Unit [8086:7270]
00:0b.0 Signal processing controller [1180]: Intel Corporation Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series Power Management Controller [8086:22dc] (rev 36)
   Subsystem: Intel Corporation Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series Power Management Controller [8086:7270]
00:14.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series USB xHCI Controller [8086:22b5] (rev 36)
   Subsystem: Intel Corporation Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series USB xHCI Controller [8086:7270]
   Kernel driver in use: xhci_hcd
00:1a.0 Encryption controller [1080]: Intel Corporation Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series Trusted Execution Engine [8086:2298] (rev 36)
   Subsystem: Intel Corporation Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series Trusted Execution Engine [8086:7270]
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series PCU [8086:229c] (rev 36)
   Subsystem: Intel Corporation Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series PCU [8086:7270]
   Kernel driver in use: lpc_ich


Here is the link to .config: https://pastebin.com/vAa3k98E
Here is the dmesg: https://pastebin.com/3aLgpX9S
_________________
This space for rent... Well maybe to give away.. Heck.. i'll pay you to take it.

Lost Linux Neophyte
Intel Atom Cherry Trail
Intel i7-4790
AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955
Intel Core i7-2670QM
Intel Core i5-2557M
Pure 64bit frustration :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42573
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ShadowHawkBV,

Heres a pointer to your sound cand issue.
dmesg:
[   11.198920] bytcht_es8316 bytcht_es8316: ASoC: CODEC DAI ES8316 HiFi not registered
[   11.198933] bytcht_es8316 bytcht_es8316: snd_soc_register_card failed -517


and while we are here, it looks like your WiFi doesn't work either.
dmesg:
[   13.247637] brcmfmac mmc1:0001:1: Direct firmware load for brcm/brcmfmac43455-sdio.Belmicro Computadores LTDA-T11.txt failed with error -2
[   13.247681] brcmfmac mmc1:0001:1: Direct firmware load for brcm/brcmfmac43455-sdio.txt failed with error -2
[   14.257927] brcmfmac: brcmf_sdio_htclk: HT Avail timeout (1000000): clkctl 0x50


Your kernel says
Code:
CONFIG_SND_SOC_INTEL_BYT_CHT_ES8316_MACH=m
CONFIG_SND_SOC_ES8316=m

Does lsmod show either or both loaded?
They will be called bytcht_es8316 and es8316. If either are missing modprobe them and test sound again.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowHawkBV
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EDIT: Added locate information
Neddy,
I knew about the broadcom firmware failing, but since I run wired for this application, was going to deal with it later.

The module appears to be loaded in lsusb. (line 7 and used in line 31)
Code:
lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ipv6                  532480  84
ip_tables              28672  0
btintel                28672  0
btbcm                  16384  0
btrtl                  20480  0
hci_uart               36864  0
snd_soc_sst_byt_cht_es8316    16384  0
8021q                  32768  0
garp                   16384  1 8021q
btsdio                 20480  0
stp                    16384  1 garp
llc                    16384  2 stp,garp
bluetooth             643072  6 btrtl,btsdio,btintel,hci_uart,btbcm
fscrypto               32768  0
ecdh_generic           28672  1 bluetooth
brcmfmac              393216  0
crc32c_intel           24576  0
brcmutil               20480  1 brcmfmac
ghash_clmulni_intel    16384  0
cryptd                 28672  1 ghash_clmulni_intel
cfg80211              757760  1 brcmfmac
r8152                  73728  0
snd_intel_sst_acpi     20480  1
iTCO_wdt               16384  0
snd_intel_sst_core     65536  1 snd_intel_sst_acpi
iTCO_vendor_support    16384  1 iTCO_wdt
snd_soc_sst_atom_hifi2_platform   106496  1 snd_intel_sst_core
snd_soc_es8316         40960  0
snd_soc_acpi_intel_match    28672  1 snd_intel_sst_acpi
snd_soc_acpi           16384  2 snd_soc_acpi_intel_match,snd_intel_sst_acpi
snd_soc_core          245760  3 snd_soc_sst_byt_cht_es8316,snd_soc_sst_atom_hifi2_platform,snd_soc_es8316
snd_compress           28672  1 snd_soc_core
snd_pcm_dmaengine      16384  1 snd_soc_core
ac97_bus               16384  1 snd_soc_core


There is no plain es8316 module. In /lib/modules/5.0.2-gento there is two that mention es8316.
Code:
ls -R /lib/modules/5.0.2-gentoo | grep 8316
snd-soc-es8316.ko
snd-soc-sst-byt-cht-es8316.ko

modprobe does not result in snd-soc-es8316 showing up on the primary side of a lsmod.
Code:
/usr/src/linux-5.0.2-gentoo $ sudo locate snd-soc-es8316.ko
/lib64/modules/4.20.13-gentoo/kernel/sound/soc/codecs/snd-soc-es8316.ko
/lib64/modules/5.0.0-gentoo/kernel/sound/soc/codecs/snd-soc-es8316.ko
/lib64/modules/5.0.1-gentoo/kernel/sound/soc/codecs/snd-soc-es8316.ko
/lib64/modules/5.0.2-gentoo/kernel/sound/soc/codecs/snd-soc-es8316.ko
/usr/src/linux-4.20.13-gentoo/sound/soc/codecs/.snd-soc-es8316.ko.cmd
/usr/src/linux-4.20.13-gentoo/sound/soc/codecs/snd-soc-es8316.ko
/usr/src/linux-5.0.0-gentoo/sound/soc/codecs/.snd-soc-es8316.ko.cmd
/usr/src/linux-5.0.0-gentoo/sound/soc/codecs/snd-soc-es8316.ko
/usr/src/linux-5.0.1-gentoo/sound/soc/codecs/.snd-soc-es8316.ko.cmd
/usr/src/linux-5.0.1-gentoo/sound/soc/codecs/snd-soc-es8316.ko
/usr/src/linux-5.0.2-gentoo/sound/soc/codecs/.snd-soc-es8316.ko.cmd
/usr/src/linux-5.0.2-gentoo/sound/soc/codecs/snd-soc-es8316.ko

name@system:/usr/src/linux-5.0.2-gentoo $ sudo insmod /lib64/modules/5.0.2-gentoo/kernel/sound/soc/codecs/snd-soc-es8316.ko
insmod: ERROR: could not insert module /lib64/modules/5.0.2-gentoo/kernel/sound/soc/codecs/snd-soc-es8316.ko: File exists

Would seem to indicate that it is already loaded, but not appearing in this lsmod.

In /usr/src/linux there is three es8316, but none of them are modules.
Code:
/usr/src/linux $ ls -R sound | grep 8316
es8316.c
es8316.h
es8316.o
snd-soc-es8316.ko
snd-soc-es8316.mod.c
snd-soc-es8316.mod.o
snd-soc-es8316.o
bytcht_es8316.c
bytcht_es8316.o
snd-soc-sst-byt-cht-es8316.ko
snd-soc-sst-byt-cht-es8316.mod.c
snd-soc-sst-byt-cht-es8316.mod.o
snd-soc-sst-byt-cht-es8316.o


if it matters, the kernel is built with make oldconfig, make clean, make, make modules_install, and make install
_________________
This space for rent... Well maybe to give away.. Heck.. i'll pay you to take it.

Lost Linux Neophyte
Intel Atom Cherry Trail
Intel i7-4790
AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955
Intel Core i7-2670QM
Intel Core i5-2557M
Pure 64bit frustration :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42573
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ShadowHawkBV,

This is little more than guesswork. I wonder if you need one of the Intel PINCTRL options in the kernel?
Cherry Trail isn't mentioned by name but I wouldn't let that put me off.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowHawkBV
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well that got me a step ahead. alsamixer now shows another option.
Code:
Card: Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio                                            F1:  Help               │
│ Chip:                                                                    F2:  System information │
│ View: F3: Playback  F4: Capture  F5: All                                 F6:  Select sound card  │
│ Item:                                                                    Esc: Exit               │

│                          This sound device does not have any controls.                           │
│                                   ┌─────── Sound Card ───────┐                                   │
│                                   │-  (default)              │                                   │
│                                   │0  Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio│                                   │
│                                   │1  bytcht-es8316          │                                   │
│                                   │   enter device name...   │                                   │
│                                   └──────────────────────────┘

bytcht-es8316 lets me unmute the Headphone and Headphone-mixer. Unfortunately it does nothing for putting sound through the headphone jack.

Something did click with the HDMI into the monitor. Using VLC, I can select Audio/Audio-Device// the pulse-audio option or the fourth of four Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio Output options to get sound from the monitor. The XFCE4 ALSA volume control does nothing, but I can set it between default, Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio and bytcht-es8316. The bytcht allows me to select channel Headphone or Headphone-mixer. The intel doesn't allow me to set a channel. Default has no channel options .
_________________
This space for rent... Well maybe to give away.. Heck.. i'll pay you to take it.

Lost Linux Neophyte
Intel Atom Cherry Trail
Intel i7-4790
AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955
Intel Core i7-2670QM
Intel Core i5-2557M
Pure 64bit frustration :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42573
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ShadowHawkBV,

HDMI sound outputs are digital. At most, you will get a mute switch.
Doing volume control on digital outputs is hard. You need to demultiplex the audio as it can be lots of channels, do lots of multiplies to change the volume of each channel, then multiplex it again.
This would all take time, so the audio/video sync would change. Its possible but not on PC sound cards.

As that sound card says HDMI in its name and it has no controls, its the sound output to the monitor.
There are usually several HDMI sound outputs. You need to use trial and error to discover the right one.

Sound card 0 is the default. That's 0 Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio

Your heaphone/speakers and Mic input will be on the other sound card.
What does that show in alsamixer?

Trap for the unwary. Not all headsets are created equal. Some have 4 pole jacks, some have 3 pole jacks (and no mic) others have two 3 pole jacks, stereo out and stereo mic.
It matters. If you mix things, you get various degrees of not working.

As your headphones are not the default output, you need to use an application to direct output to the headphone. VLC will do nicely.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowHawkBV
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Neddy,
The only one that mentions headphones is the bytcht-es8316. It doesn't seem to pipe any sound through them. I've tried two different headphones, and a speaker with no results. I've even tried running sound and slowly, click-by-click, inserting and removing the jacks to see if I get sound, or even feedback. Nothing.

I guess it's time to investigate running the audio through the TV. Then I need to simplify the number of HDMI options down to only one so VLC can default to the proper one. Would that be done through asound.conf? If so, is the one I posted up-thread correct?

Jaglover,
I tried Mint and SystemRescueCD. Neither of them provided audio. Sorry for the delay in responding to your idea, I missed the post.
_________________
This space for rent... Well maybe to give away.. Heck.. i'll pay you to take it.

Lost Linux Neophyte
Intel Atom Cherry Trail
Intel i7-4790
AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955
Intel Core i7-2670QM
Intel Core i5-2557M
Pure 64bit frustration :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42573
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ShadowHawkBV,

I use /etc/asound.conf. Mine contains

Code:
pcm_slave.slave_rate48000Hz {
        pcm "hw:1,8"
#       This is the rate the sound card does.
#       Any random input rates are resampled to this.
        rate 48000
}
pcm.rate44100Hz {
        type plug
        slave slave_rate48000Hz
}

defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.pcm.device 8
defaults.ctl.card 1


Its easiest to explain it from the bottom up. Make the default output card 1 device 8 and control it with the control on card 1.
You probably don't need any of that. Well, you may need the defaults.pcm.device entry to get the right output

The rest of the file resamples everything to 48000Hz, which is required if you want to play CDs or CD rips.

You get the numbers from /proc/asound/devices. Mine contains
Code:
  2: [ 1- 3]: digital audio playback
  3: [ 1- 7]: digital audio playback
  4: [ 1- 8]: digital audio playback   <---
  5: [ 1- 9]: digital audio playback
  6: [ 1-10]: digital audio playback
  7: [ 1- 0]: hardware dependent
  8: [ 1]   : control
  9: [ 0- 0]: digital audio playback
 10: [ 0- 0]: digital audio capture
 11: [ 0- 3]: digital audio playback
 12: [ 0- 0]: hardware dependent
 13: [ 0]   : control
 33:        : timer

That's my card 1 device 8 highlighted, which happens to be the speakers in my display on the Display Port connection.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowHawkBV
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Neddy,
That's got it. That and a reinstall with pulseaudio USE flag,and VLC is working flawlessly. Now to modify the home theatre to accommodate it.

Thanks again for the nudges in the right direction.
_________________
This space for rent... Well maybe to give away.. Heck.. i'll pay you to take it.

Lost Linux Neophyte
Intel Atom Cherry Trail
Intel i7-4790
AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955
Intel Core i7-2670QM
Intel Core i5-2557M
Pure 64bit frustration :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum