Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ramfs vs portage space requirements
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
axl
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 1144
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 2:57 am    Post subject: ramfs vs portage space requirements Reply with quote

hi folks. I have been using tmpfs for portage tmp dir for a while now, and it's been working great. The system(s) where I'm trying this are well equipped with memory upwards of 32Gb so... it's a joy to use tmpfs as much as possible.

But I've run some benchmarks with bonnie++ and some of my own things and realized ramfs is a little bit faster than tmpfs. Enough to try to make this work.

But there's a problem. When you try to emerge things like libreoffice or chromium portage will fail because ramfs can't have size or space remaining. That's the thing, tmpfs is an evolved ramfs with size :). At a sys call / C level I think ramfs is too simple to support that stuff. and ofc the question, why use it, because it's slightly faster.

Anyway, there's not a tone of packages that check-req and check for space in portage tmp dir, so an overlay isn't that hard to maintain, but I was looking at other packages and what check_req does and it seems it doesn't help me very much. I was wondering if there's a FEATURE in portage to turn that off. Or another way to fake space remaining on ramfs could work. I tried mount -o size but that only works for tmpfs, because that is what tmpfs is, ramfs with space remaining and other things.

Any ideas are welcome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dr.Willy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 547
Location: NRW, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
I_KNOW_WHAT_I_AM_DOING="y"
in make.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54238
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

axl,

You can override environment variables on a per package basis too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
axl
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 1144
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks DrWilly.

Neddy I'm thinking u're suggesting I add "I_KNOW_WHAT_I_AM_DOING" on a per-package basis? Or can you override CHECKREQS_DISK_BUILD? I'm asking because I'm in the middle of an empty tree emerge 1000/2000 packages. Kinda don't want to stop it now.

Thanks guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54238
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

axl,

You can set
Code:
I_KNOW_WHAT_I_AM_DOING
on a per-package basis.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
axl
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 1144
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, thank you very much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2569

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just out of curiosity, is there also an:

Code:

I_WAS_CLEARLY_WRONG_HELP_ME_FIX_IT="y"


?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54238
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1clue,

That feature goes back to 08 Apr 2002. Its documented here :)
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2569

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just thought it needed to be said.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum