Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] How to exclude packages list from update?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Blind_Sniper
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 2:55 pm    Post subject: [Solved] How to exclude packages list from update? Reply with quote

Hi!
How could I exclude few packages from world update? I'm aware of --exclude option, but I'm looking for something like --exclude="packages_list_file" ? Just put packages list into file and point emerge to use that file as input for exclude option.


Last edited by Blind_Sniper on Thu Feb 21, 2019 9:39 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30917
Location: here

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you create file
your_exclude_packages_file.lst:
category/package1 category/package2 category/package3 ...

you can use it with emerge -uUD @world --exclude="$(cat your_exclude_packages_file.lst)".
Anyway is not a good idea exclude packages from update
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blind_Sniper
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, cat is an option.
What about removing a package from world file or put a package into package.mask?
It's a dev-qt/qtwebkit package ( and few packages it depends on). I only need it for running teamviewer. I do not care about qtwebkit updates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 4438
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you need dev-qt/qtwebkit only for teamviewer (and a few other packages), it shouldn't be in your world file. Remove it from /var/lib/portage/world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blind_Sniper
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge --depclean tries to remove qtwebkit and deps if dev-qt/qtwebkit not in world file.
Will try to use package.mask
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 4438
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't mask the package - try to find out what is wrong instead.

You say that
1) teamviewer is installed and that
2) teamviewer is in /var/lib/portage/world, and that
3) teamviewer needs qtwebengine

Right?

If that's the case, 'emerge --depclean' won't delete qtwebengine, because it knows that teamviewer needs it.

1) Which version of teamviewer is installed?

2) Is teamviewer in your world file?

3) Did you run 'emerge --update --deep --newuse @world' and 'revdep-rebuild' before you ran 'emerge --depclean'?

4) Please post the output of 'emerge --depclean -pv'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blind sniper, did you use the ebuild for teamviewer or did you just install the package.

If you used the ebuild then qtwebkit should be pulled in as a dependency so no need to have it in world file.
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blind_Sniper
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Till now I used teamviewer tarball downloaded from their site, just unpacked and launched binary from there.
This binary depends on qtwebkit, so I installed it separately. And since teamviewer not in the world file, I think it will be excessive to update qtwebkit regularly, only if teamviewer will require new version. I do not want to update qtwebkit to every new available version. Only when teamviewer will require it.

Spending 3 hours for qtwebkit update (with makeopt=j1) - it's a craziness. Unfortunately if I set makeopt to j5, emerge qtwebkit hangs a system, so I can't even reboot. Though I have 8Gb of RAM and there shouldn't be any problem.

Thats why I decided to minimize qtwebkit updates.

Right now I put qtwebkit into package.mask file, emerge complains about it, but at least emerge will not accidentally start qtwebkit compiling.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30917
Location: here

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why not use net-misc/teamviewer package?
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blind_Sniper
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
Why not use net-misc/teamviewer package?

it will be the same qtwebkit update problem, so it doesn't matter how did I install teamviewer, from tarball or with ebuild. Both depends on qtwebkit.
I using tarballs for a few years now and it works for me, so I don't want to change things
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blind_Sniper wrote:
fedeliallalinea wrote:
Why not use net-misc/teamviewer package?

it will be the same qtwebkit update problem, so it doesn't matter how did I install teamviewer, from tarball or with ebuild. Both depends on qtwebkit.
I using tarballs for a few years now and it works for me, so I don't want to change things


Doing it that way is fine, but make it known to the rest of the people trying to help you that you're bypassing the package install system.

Since you're installing the tarball, then yes you need qtwebkit in the world file. :roll:
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30917
Location: here

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blind_Sniper wrote:
it will be the same qtwebkit update problem, so it doesn't matter how did I install teamviewer, from tarball or with ebuild. Both depends on qtwebkit.
I using tarballs for a few years now and it works for me, so I don't want to change things

No it's not the same, because with ebuild qtwebkit isn't added to world file then you can insert a entry in package.mask like
Code:
>dev-qt/qtwebkit-5.212.0_pre20180120

and next world update qtwebkit is not added as update
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KatsuoRyuu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Nov 2016
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What about creating a meta ebuild, or maybe you can use a set, though I'm at this moment unsure if you can set version in a set.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Syl20
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 619
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blind_Sniper wrote:
I do not care about qtwebkit updates.

You should. For security reasons. Especially with a software made to control your system through internet.

You don't need to wait in front of your screen when you update your system. You can do it by night, when you sleep.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21633

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blind_Sniper wrote:
Till now I used teamviewer tarball downloaded from their site, just unpacked and launched binary from there.
Could you elaborate on this? To what directory are you unpacking Teamviewer?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KatsuoRyuu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Nov 2016
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seriously people, the blind_sniper asks about a simple question, and you start wanting to change how he wants the system. If he already said he doesn't care about the version and he wants to use a tarball, then help with that.

And again @Hu another question from you that doesn't make sense. Either help or stay away. How can you not understand, unpacking tarball, and run binary. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30917
Location: here

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KatsuoRyuu wrote:
Seriously people, the blind_sniper asks about a simple question, and you start wanting to change how he wants the system. If he already said he doesn't care about the version and he wants to use a tarball, then help with that.

If it were a version problem, I'd agree with you. But latest version is in portage then I don't see why not use official package where there is a solution for not update all version of qtwebkit (with possible security issue).
If he want use tar also in this case has a soluzion use the file with cat in --exclude emerge option.
It seems to me that we have helped him by proposing other solutions as well.
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blind_Sniper
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:

Code:
>dev-qt/qtwebkit-5.212.0_pre20180120



Seems it's a most suitable solution, adding package version to the package name suppresses warning message.
Thanks for the hint!

As for installing teamviewer from repo: I prefer to use tarball. Downloading it, unpacking in my home dir and running teamviewer binary.
Teamviewer warns me if there is an update, so I always using the last version. It suits me.

Thanks all for your efforts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KatsuoRyuu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Nov 2016
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Blind_sniper sorry im a bit late to the game, needed to get to my system, to confirm the config.

from my experience, you can create a "set" in /etc/portage/sets like

Code:

mkdir -p /etc/portage/sets/
cat << EOF > /etc/portage/sets/teamviewertarball
dev-qt/qtcore:5
dev-qt/qtdbus:5
dev-qt/qtdeclarative:5
dev-qt/qtgui:5
dev-qt/qtnetwork:5
dev-qt/qtquickcontrols:5
=dev-qt/qtwebkit-5.212.0_pre20180120
dev-qt/qtwidgets:5
dev-qt/qtx11extras:5
sys-apps/dbus
EOF


This should create a set for you with a forced version of qtwebkit.
then you can install the dependencies
(I added the dependencies for the common teamviewer package but if your only concern is qtwebkit, then remove the others)
by running this:

Code:

emerge -av @teamviewertarball


its not super much what sets are meant for, but from my experience it should do the trick.
(anybody feel free to correct me if im wrong)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21633

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KatsuoRyuu wrote:
Seriously people, the blind_sniper asks about a simple question, and you start wanting to change how he wants the system. If he already said he doesn't care about the version and he wants to use a tarball, then help with that.

And again @Hu another question from you that doesn't make sense. Either help or stay away. How can you not understand, unpacking tarball, and run binary. :?
It's common for people to bring us X-Y problems. When that happens, diagnosing their real issue and fixing that issue is better than helping them with their perceived solution. In this case, I asked my question because unpacking unmanaged tarballs systemwide can, if done incorrectly, overwrite system files and create a bigger mess.

I understand exactly how to unpack an unsigned and unauthenticated tarball, then run something from it. I also understand that this is more often than not the wrong solution.

In my opinion, proper system security policy includes setting noexec everywhere possible. On such a system, running a tarball out of the user's home directory is impossible. Therefore, I sought to understand whether Blind_Sniper had unpacked the tarball in an unsafe way or merely had an inadequate system security policy. Happily, the system is insecure, but system files have not been overwritten.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KatsuoRyuu wrote:
Seriously people, the blind_sniper asks about a simple question, and you start wanting to change how he wants the system. If he already said he doesn't care about the version and he wants to use a tarball, then help with that.


Actually it wasn't simple at all.
He did indeed ask a simple question about exclusion ... which was answered simply.

Then he asked about removing something from world file (without an adequate explanation that he was using a tarball instead of portage but needed portage dependencies) which is fine in and of itself. But along with that he got erroneous advice. Among which is the standard advice of "why not use the portage package".

Here's the simple question he could have asked.

"I run teamviewer from a tarball not portage, but use the other dependencies for teamviewer from portage, is there a way to exclude a set of files from updating and do those files need to be in the world file".

Proper questions usually get succinct and simple answers.
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum