Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] qt-creator: Updateinfo plugin error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Fitap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2011
Posts: 437
Location: Rosario, Argentina

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 1:04 am    Post subject: [Solved] qt-creator: Updateinfo plugin error Reply with quote

Hi to all, just wondering where are the Updateinfo plugin.

Plugin initialization failed: Could not determine location of maintenance tool. Please check your installation if you did not enable this plugin manually.

Code:


equery u dev-qt/qt-creator


[ Legend : U - final flag setting for installation]
[        : I - package is installed with flag     ]
[ Colors : set, unset                             ]

 * Found these USE flags for dev-qt/qt-creator-4.6.2:

 U I
 + + android             : Build plugin for Android devices
 + + autotools           : Enable autotools project manager plugin
 + + baremetal           : Build plugin for bare metal devices
 - - bazaar              : Add support for dev-vcs/bzr version control system
 + + clangcodemodel      : Build clang-based code model and refactoring plugins
 + + clangstaticanalyzer : Build clang-based static analyzer plugin
 - - clearcase           : Add support for IBM ClearCase version control system (requires manual installation of ClearCase client)
 + + cmake               : Enable cmake project manager plugin
 - - cvs                 : Enable CVS (Concurrent Versions System) integration
 + + designer            : Build widget designer plugin
 - - doc                 : Add extra documentation (API, Javadoc, etc). It is recommended to enable per package instead of globally
 + + git                 : Enable git (version control system) support
 - - glsl                : Enable GLSL source code editor
 - - ios                 : Build plugin for Apple iOS devices
 - - l10n_cs             : Czech
 - - l10n_de             : German
 - - l10n_fr             : French
 - - l10n_ja             : Japanese
 - - l10n_pl             : Polish
 - - l10n_ru             : Russian
 - - l10n_sl             : Slovenian
 - - l10n_uk             : Ukrainian
 - - l10n_zh-CN          : Chinese (China)
 - - l10n_zh-TW          : Chinese (Taiwan)
 - - mercurial           : Add support for dev-vcs/mercurial version control system
 + + modeling            : Enable graphical model editor
 - - nim                 : Enable Nim source code editor
 - - perforce            : Add support for Perforce version control system (requires manual installation of Perforce client)
 + + python              : Enable Python source code editor
 + + qbs                 : Enable QBS project manager plugin
 - - qnx                 : Build plugin for QNX devices
 - - scxml               : Enable graphical SCXML editor
 - - subversion          : Enable subversion (version control system) support
 - - systemd             : Add support for retrieving application output from journald
 - - test                : Enable dependencies and/or preparations necessary to run tests (usually controlled by FEATURES=test but can be toggled
                           independently)
 - - valgrind            : Add support for memory debugging using dev-util/valgrind
 + + webengine           : Use dev-qt/qtwebengine to view documentation
 + + winrt               : Build plugin for WinRT devices



Last edited by Fitap on Tue Feb 19, 2019 1:40 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2011
Posts: 437
Location: Rosario, Argentina

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2019 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Already have install 4.8.0 version of qt-creator and no screen notice me about Updateinfo plugin, but Updateinfo pluging not in to list plugins like 4.6.2

What does Updateinfo plugin?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2571
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 12:36 pm    Post subject: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

Which USE-flags was 4.8.0 built with?

Did you ever install any such plug-ins manually?

As for what it does: “Displays Update-Infos for Qt Installer Framework-based Updaters.” [1]

For others reading, there's a bug too:
1. https://code.qt.io/cgit/qt-creator/qt-creator.git/tree/src/plugins/updateinfo/UpdateInfo.json.in?h=4.8#n16
_________________
Kindest of regardses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2011
Posts: 437
Location: Rosario, Argentina

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:


equery u qt-creator
[ Legend : U - final flag setting for installation]
[        : I - package is installed with flag     ]
[ Colors : set, unset                             ]
 * Found these USE flags for dev-qt/qt-creator-4.8.0:
 U I
 + + android        : Build plugin for Android devices
 + + autotools      : Enable autotools project manager plugin
 + + baremetal      : Build plugin for bare metal devices
 - - bazaar         : Add support for dev-vcs/bzr version control system
 + + clang          : Build clang-based plugins (code model, format, static analysis)
 - - clearcase      : Add support for IBM ClearCase version control system (requires manual installation of ClearCase client)
 + + cmake          : Enable cmake project manager plugin
 - - cppcheck       : Enable integration with dev-util/cppcheck
 - - cvs            : Enable CVS (Concurrent Versions System) integration
 + + designer       : Build widget designer plugin
 - - doc            : Add extra documentation (API, Javadoc, etc). It is recommended to enable per package instead of globally
 + + git            : Enable git (version control system) support
 - - glsl           : Enable GLSL source code editor
 + + help           : Build the help plugin
 - - ios            : Build plugin for Apple iOS devices
 - - l10n_cs        : Czech
 - - l10n_da        : Danish
 - - l10n_de        : German
 - - l10n_fr        : French
 - - l10n_ja        : Japanese
 - - l10n_pl        : Polish
 - - l10n_ru        : Russian
 - - l10n_sl        : Slovenian
 - - l10n_uk        : Ukrainian
 - - l10n_zh-CN     : Chinese (China)
 - - l10n_zh-TW     : Chinese (Taiwan)
 - - lsp            : Add support for the Language Server Protocol (LSP)
 - - mercurial      : Add support for dev-vcs/mercurial version control system
 + + modeling       : Enable graphical model editor
 - - nim            : Enable Nim source code editor
 - - perforce       : Add support for Perforce version control system (requires manual installation of Perforce client)
 + + python         : Enable Python source code editor
 + + qbs            : Enable QBS project manager plugin
 - - qnx            : Build plugin for QNX devices
 - - scxml          : Enable graphical SCXML editor
 - - serialterminal : Build serial terminal plugin
 - - silversearcher : Enable integration with sys-apps/the_silver_searcher
 - - subversion     : Enable subversion (version control system) support
 - - systemd        : Add support for retrieving application output from journald
 - - test           : Enable dependencies and/or preparations necessary to run tests (usually controlled by FEATURES=test but can be toggled
                      independently)
 - - valgrind       : Add support for memory debugging using dev-util/valgrind
 + + webengine      : Use dev-qt/qtwebengine to view documentation
 + + winrt          : Build plugin for WinRT devices



IIRC I never install plug-ins manually.

That bug was reported from me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2571
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fitap wrote:
That bug was reported from me.

Yup, I figured. I mentioned it mainly as a reference to anyone else reading. :]

I replicated your USE-flags here, but still don't see the thing you see, so at least none of that should be doing it.

Have you tried using a clean user profile?
_________________
Kindest of regardses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2011
Posts: 437
Location: Rosario, Argentina

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Have you tried using a clean user profile?


How do I do that?
I have choose profile #19

Code:

eselect profile list
Available profile symlink targets:
  [1]   default/linux/amd64/13.0 (stable)
  [2]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/selinux (dev)
  [3]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop (stable)
  [4]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome (stable)
  [5]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome/systemd (stable)
  [6]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma (stable)
  [7]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/plasma/systemd (stable)
  [8]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/developer (stable)
  [9]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/no-multilib (stable)
  [10]  default/linux/amd64/13.0/systemd (stable)
  [11]  default/linux/amd64/13.0/x32 (dev)
  [12]  default/linux/amd64/17.0 (stable)
  [13]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/selinux (stable)
  [14]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/hardened (stable)
  [15]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/hardened/selinux (stable)
  [16]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop (stable)
  [17]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/gnome (stable)
  [18]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/gnome/systemd (stable)
  [19]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/plasma (stable) *
  [20]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/plasma/systemd (stable)
  [21]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/developer (stable)
  [22]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/no-multilib (stable)
  [23]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/no-multilib/hardened (stable)
  [24]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/no-multilib/hardened/selinux (stable)
  [25]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/systemd (stable)
  [26]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/x32 (dev)
  [27]  default/linux/amd64/17.1 (dev)
  [28]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/selinux (dev)
  [29]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/hardened (dev)
  [30]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/hardened/selinux (dev)
  [31]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop (dev)
  [32]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop/gnome (dev)
  [33]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop/gnome/systemd (dev)
  [34]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop/plasma (dev)
  [35]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop/plasma/systemd (dev)
  [36]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/developer (dev)
  [37]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/no-multilib (dev)
  [38]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/no-multilib/hardened (dev)
  [39]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/no-multilib/hardened/selinux (dev)
  [40]  default/linux/amd64/17.1/systemd (dev)
  [41]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/musl (exp)
  [42]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/musl/hardened (exp)
  [43]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/musl/hardened/selinux (exp)
  [44]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/uclibc (exp)
  [45]  default/linux/amd64/17.0/uclibc/hardened (exp)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2571
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A user that never ran the application would be the most simple way.

That is, add a completely new user to the system ('useradd') for testing purposes.
_________________
Kindest of regardses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2011
Posts: 437
Location: Rosario, Argentina

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2019 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chiitoo wrote:
Fitap wrote:
That bug was reported from me.

Yup, I figured. I mentioned it mainly as a reference to anyone else reading. :]

I replicated your USE-flags here, but still don't see the thing you see, so at least none of that should be doing it.

Have you tried using a clean user profile?


Ok, what do you looing for? to find the issue of qt-creator version 4.6.2?

Remember what I move to unstable version 4.8.0 like manteiner recomend me, but I haven't Updateinfo plugin into plugins list.

You are recomend me run stable version with a clean profile ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2571
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2019 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use 4.8.0 for now, and no need to switch profiles (stay on '[19] default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/plasma (stable)').

Since the issue isn't present in my system, I'm trying to find out if it's coming from somewhere under your user's home directory ('/home/fitap' or whatever the user name is).

So, instead of changing things under '/home/fitap', create a new user and run Qt Creator as this test user, and see if the issue happens for that one too. If it does happen, it should exclude anything under '/home' being the cause.

Let me know if something is unclear still! :]
_________________
Kindest of regardses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitap
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2011
Posts: 437
Location: Rosario, Argentina

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2019 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry Chiitoo, I'm understood and I back to stable version 4.6.2 and the issue is the same with another user, with another clean profile.

The version of qt-creator 4.8.0 haven't Updateinfo plugin built in?, in the version 4.6.2 Updateinfo is present and turn it off into installed plugins list.

You can check this issue with the stable version 4.6.2?


The UpdateInfo plugin shouldn't be enabled for the Qt Creator-only binaries in the first place, please go to "Qt Creator > About Plugins" in Qt Creator's menu, and turn it off.


https://forum.qt.io/topic/23865/solved-creator-2-6-2-getting-error-message-on-startup-mac-os-x/7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum