Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Chromium 71 compile causing system lock
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:08 am    Post subject: Chromium 71 compile causing system lock Reply with quote

Hello all,

I just wanted to see if anyone else has run into this problem or not. When I compile any version of Chromium 71, it will lock my entire system part of the way through. At first, I thought that it was something strange about my workstation, but it just happened on my laptop as well. Here's the emerge output from my workstation (laptop is currently locked):

Code:

# emerge -av chromium

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild     U  ] www-client/chromium-71.0.3578.30::gentoo [70.0.3538.67-r1::gentoo] USE="cups hangouts jumbo-build (pic) proprietary-codecs suid -component-build -custom-cflags -gnome-keyring -kerberos (-neon) -pulseaudio (-selinux) (-system-ffmpeg) (-system-icu) (-system-libvpx) (-tcmalloc) -widevine" L10N="en-GB -am -ar -bg -bn -ca -cs -da -de -el -es -es-419 -et -fa -fi -fil -fr -gu -he -hi -hr -hu -id -it -ja -kn -ko -lt -lv -ml -mr -ms -nb -nl -pl -pt-BR -pt-PT -ro -ru -sk -sl -sr -sv -sw -ta -te -th -tr -uk -vi -zh-CN -zh-TW" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 upgrade), Size of downloads: 0 KiB

Would you like to merge these packages? [Yes/No]


Cheers,
Nathan Zachary
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guessing ... you may be low on resources, jumbo-build really eats them up.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the response. I would tend to agree if it were only happening on my laptop (with fairly low specs). On my desktop, though, I have 24 GiB of RAM which should be more than sufficient. On my laptop, after waiting a long enough time, I was able to get my Openbox environment to reappear, but it has been frozen since (the clock isn't changing). When I move the mouse, it will eventually catch up. So, I'm not really sure what's going on here, but it doesn't happen with the Chromium 70 builds.
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
big
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The same issue here!
The Building ate all memory then yielded a bug warning. It's weird the building would continue, and finally failed with a ninja sub-command error.
There would be no response since high memory usage, however it would recover from that.

Code:
www-client/chromium-70.0.3538.67-r1::gentoo was built with the following:
USE="cups hangouts jumbo-build (pic) proprietary-codecs pulseaudio suid -component-build -custom-cflags"

Maybe switching back to gcc caused this issue? Just guessing..
_________________
be big,no bug
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hund
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2016
Posts: 218
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also had issues with the system running out of memory when compiling qtwebengine. I solved it by adding this line to my make.conf:

Code:
EXTRA_GN="jumbo_file_merge_limit=50"

_________________
Collect memories, not things.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If that's the case, then switching back to using -jumbo-build should fix the problem. However, that doesn't seem like a good solution to me. 24GiB of memory should be more than enough for a build of Chromium with jumbo-build enabled. This would be a serious regression from Chromium 70. If there is a consensus, then I will file a bug for tracking.

Thanks!

Cheers,
Nathan Zachary
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hund
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2016
Posts: 218
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NathanZachary wrote:
If that's the case, then switching back to using -jumbo-build should fix the problem. However, that doesn't seem like a good solution to me. 24GiB of memory should be more than enough for a build of Chromium with jumbo-build enabled. This would be a serious regression from Chromium 70. If there is a consensus, then I will file a bug for tracking.

Thanks!

Cheers,
Nathan Zachary


I have 12GB of RAM and couldn't do it without the change I mentioned above. :)
_________________
Collect memories, not things.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another factor to consider is ninja, I've read it can default to rather insane job settings. It is not controlled by MAKEOPTS variable, it has its own, I think it is NINJA_FLAGS but you better verify it before using.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess that my point here is for typical users, having a Chromium compile essentially crash the system isn't a good approach. We need to figure out what some sane expectations are for the build, and then at least have some Portage checks before continuing.
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
big
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1086548.html
_________________
be big,no bug


Last edited by big on Sat Nov 10, 2018 12:10 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 3:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

big wrote:
https://forums-lb.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1086548.html?sid=bc2bd52d1bc7bdfb1f0f5e3907084a30
What does that link to? I get an invalid security certificate.

Presumably this: ([SOLVED] emerge out of memory) https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1086548.html
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

big,

Code:
https://forums-lb.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1086548.html?sid=bc2bd52d1bc7bdfb1f0f5e3907084a30


Ewww ... do not post your Session ID. That's the sid=bc2bd52d1bc7bdfb1f0f5e3907084a30 in your link.
That's how your https:// session can get hijacked.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, 24 GiB of RAM and it still failed (froze) with jumbo_file_merge_limit set to 75. I guess I'll try again with 50:

Code:

# cat /etc/portage/env/chromium.conf
## 20181112 - Chromium jumbo-build borks the system, so setting the merge limit to <100:
EXTRA_GN="jumbo_file_merge_limit=50"


:?
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Failed with the cap set at 50 as well. Either that environment variable is not actually being set, or it somehow still needs to be lower. Maybe the jumbo-build flag should be disabled for now. I just don't understand how there was such a dramatic change between Chromium 70 and 71.
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikexx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2018
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2018 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same issue here, I think.
During the compile process my laptop runs out of memory (16GB )and then the laptop works very slow. It takes more than one hour to unlock the laptop or do any other operation. First I thought the swap partition is not used, but it is.

Best
mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Filed bug 671168 to discuss options and track progress.
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
big
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NathanZachary wrote:
Failed with the cap set at 50 as well. Either that environment variable is not actually being set, or it somehow still needs to be lower. Maybe the jumbo-build flag should be disabled for now. I just don't understand how there was such a dramatic change between Chromium 70 and 71.

Try adjusting down MAKEOPTS and turning off ccache if it's enabled.

I've successfully emerged ver.71 with MAKEOPTS set to "-j5" and jumbo_file_merge_limit to 25 on an AMD box, 6 cores , 16GB RAM total.

Code:
Sat Nov 10 15:28:28 2018 >>> www-client/chromium-71.0.3578.30
       merge time: 2 hours, 26 minutes and 36 seconds.

_________________
be big,no bug
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chrisyu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Apr 2003
Posts: 207
Location: China

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2018 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

big wrote:
NathanZachary wrote:
Failed with the cap set at 50 as well. Either that environment variable is not actually being set, or it somehow still needs to be lower. Maybe the jumbo-build flag should be disabled for now. I just don't understand how there was such a dramatic change between Chromium 70 and 71.

Try adjusting down MAKEOPTS and turning off ccache if it's enabled.

I've successfully emerged ver.71 with MAKEOPTS set to "-j5" and jumbo_file_merge_limit to 25 on an AMD box, 6 cores , 16GB RAM total.


Thanks, lower MAKEOPTS from -j9 to -j5 worked for me too, all with jumbo_file_merge_limit=25 .
i7-2600K @ 4.6Ghz 4C8T, 16G RAM.

Code:

     Sat Nov 17 17:36:13 2018 >>> www-client/chromium-71.0.3578.30
       merge time: 1 hour, 37 minutes and 15 seconds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The variable for ninja is NINJAOPTS, otherwise it tends to default to the number of cores +2.

https://devmanual.gentoo.org/eclass-reference/ninja-utils.eclass/
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erg_samowzbudnik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 211
Location: European sticks

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have similar issue only system froze for good. Without jumbo-build. May have been overheating.

Now, case open and with jumbo-build it some times freezes, some times fails.

when I
USE="jumbo-build" emerge -a chromium
it wants to do the right thing,

but when I put this use flag in /etc/portage/env/chromium.conf (EXTRA_GN="use_jumbo_build=true") it'll try emerging without jumbo-build set.

Therefore I imagine setting jumbo_file_merge_limit there probably does not work neither. What am I doing wrong?

(16G of ram, i7-3630QM 2.4GHz, MAKEOPST -j9 -l8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tom_
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 444
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2019 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same issue on my desktop (Intel i5 2500k 4 cores and 20GB of ram).

Thanks to this thread, I managed to build Chromium 71.

I used the following settings :
thomas@gentoo ~ % cat /etc/portage/env/chromium.conf
EXTRA_GN="jumbo_file_merge_limit=25"
MAKEOPTS="-j3"


Last compile time was :
Tue Jan 1 12:58:44 2019 >>> www-client/chromium-71.0.3578.80
merge time: 2 hours, 39 minutes and 33 seconds.

Thank you Gentoo forums for helping!

Chromium has become a monster ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erg_samowzbudnik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 211
Location: European sticks

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well my bad, build fail was due to not enough RAM in this case.
I have /dev/tmp/portage on tmpfs, that beast takes up more than 12G of space - by the way it made me notice that my crypt-swap doesn't mount.
Made an exception for chromium to place its temp files on disk and it built fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
big
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Switching back to use Clang instead of GCC can also solve this issue.I've successfully compiled ver. 72 with CCache enabled
Just need to set CHROMIUM_FORCE_CLANG="yes"
_________________
be big,no bug
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sgdavis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Aug 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

big wrote:
Switching back to use Clang instead of GCC can also solve this issue.I've successfully compiled ver. 72 with CCache enabled
Just need to set CHROMIUM_FORCE_CLANG="yes"


Where can I put this setting? make.conf?


FYI: I have been having this issue on my chromium compiles for 76.0.3809.100 with "MAKEOPTS=-j5" (tried both with jumbo-build and without). Seems like this is a bigger problem, maybe it needs to be reported upstream?? Anyone able to track down a root cause?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sgdavis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Aug 2019
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just tried MAKEOPTS=-j2 and after that both MAKEOPTS and NINJAOPTS=-j2... still locked up both times. (only tried jumbo build though).

I'm going to just set CHROMIUM_FORCE_CLANG="yes" in my environment and see if that works. I'll keep you updated!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum