Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Anyone try the software natron in gentoo?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Niimura
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:19 am    Post subject: Anyone try the software natron in gentoo? Reply with quote

Hi. I am wondering anyone using the package Natron. Natron is a video composition software which is similar to Adobe After Effects.
I have tried to install Natron from Overlay.

However, I got this error when I tried to install it.

Code:
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "dev-python/pyside:0[X,opengl,python_targets_python2_7(-)?,-python_single_target_jython2_7(-),
-python_single_target_pypy(-),-python_single_target_pypy3(-),-python_single_target_python3_4(-),
-python_single_target_python3_5(-),-python_single_target_python3_6(-),-python_single_target_python3_7(-),
python_single_target_python2_7(+)]".
(dependency required by "media-gfx/natron-2.3.9999::4nykey" [ebuild])
(dependency required by "natron" [argument])

i have python 2.7 and python 3.6 installed in my system. Also, I have pyside installed. I don't know what's missing that hurdles me to install Natron.

[Moderator edit: added [code] tags to preserve output layout; broke long whitespace-free lines in code tags to fix thread layout. -Hu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30837
Location: here

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dev-python/pyside package is required but not present in any overlay you installed.
The problem is that pyside:0 is based on old qt4, then you need also an overlay with qt4.
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Niimura
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply.

By the way, which packages are required to install the Qt4?
Is it qtcore? or others like qtconcurrent, qtchooser,qtdbus,qtbluetooth also?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30837
Location: here

PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Niimura wrote:
Thanks for the reply.

By the way, which packages are required to install the Qt4?
Is it qtcore? or others like qtconcurrent, qtchooser,qtdbus,qtbluetooth also?

pyside need qtgui that need qtcore, qttranslation and qtscript (based on booboo ovrlay)
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Niimura
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi. I check the Natron official website. There are a binary installer and a portable version of Natron in the compressed file. I can run the portable version without dealing with the mess of QT4.

I also try the binary installer and it seems to work, but how can I tell portage about there's a new custom package for my own? Do you know the wiki page for doing that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30837
Location: here

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Niimura wrote:
Hi. I check the Natron official website. There are a binary installer and a portable version of Natron in the compressed file. I can run the portable version without dealing with the mess of QT4.

I also try the binary installer and it seems to work, but how can I tell portage about there's a new custom package for my own? Do you know the wiki page for doing that?

I tried 'Portable installer' and this is a tar.xz that create a directory with all libraries for run program, so it doesn't affect the system.
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Niimura
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi. I have installed Natron in the directory /usr/local/bin, but I want something like local overlay and make my own ebuild file so that I can uninstall it if I don't like it.

By the way, can a ebuild file install and uninstall packages in binary files instead of compling from sources?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30837
Location: here

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Niimura wrote:
By the way, can a ebuild file install and uninstall packages in binary files instead of compling from sources?

Yes you can see some example in portage tree finding *-bin package
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ianmoone
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2018
Posts: 6
Location: /dev/null

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Niimura wrote:
but I want something like local overlay and make my own ebuild file so that I can uninstall it if I don't like it.


Here you go: natron-bin-2.3.14.ebuild

Code:
# Copyright 1999-2019 Gentoo Authors
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2

EAPI=7

inherit desktop xdg-utils

MY_PN="${PN/-bin}"
MY_P="${MY_PN}-${PV}"
SRC_URI_BASE="https://github.com/NatronGitHub/Natron/releases/download"

DESCRIPTION="Open-source video compositing software"
HOMEPAGE="https://natron.fr"
SRC_URI="
   amd64? ( ${SRC_URI_BASE}/${PV}/${MY_P^}-Linux-x86_64bit-portable.tar.xz -> ${P}-64bit.tar.xz )
"
RESTRICT="mirror"

LICENSE="GPL-2+"
SLOT="0"
KEYWORDS="-* ~amd64"

RDEPEND="media-libs/fontconfig:1.0"

S="${WORKDIR}/${MY_P^}-Linux-x86_64bit"

src_install() {
   dodir "/opt/natron"
   # Note: intentionally not using "doins" so that we preserve +x bits
   cp -r ./* "${ED}/opt/natron" || die

   dosym ../../opt/natron/Natron /usr/bin/Natron

   # Install icons and desktop entry
   newicon -s 256 Resources/pixmaps/natronIcon256_linux.png natron.png
   make_desktop_entry Natron Natron natron \
      "Graphics;2DGraphics;RasterGraphics" \
      "MimeType=application/x-natron\\nTerminal=false\\nStartupWMClass=Natron"
   sed -i "/^Exec/s/$/ %U/" "${ED}"/usr/share/applications/*.desktop || die
   
   insinto /usr/share/mime/packages
   doins "${FILESDIR}/x-natron.xml"
}

update_caches() {
   if type gtk-update-icon-cache &>/dev/null; then
      ebegin "Updating GTK icon cache"
      gtk-update-icon-cache "${EROOT}/usr/share/icons/hicolor"
      eend $? || die
   fi
   xdg_desktop_database_update
   xdg_mimeinfo_database_update
}

pkg_postrm() {
   update_caches
}

pkg_postinst() {
   update_caches
}


x-natron.xml you get from here: https://github.com/MrKepzie/Natron/blob/master/Gui/Resources/Mime/x-natron.xml

It's not perfect, but it's a starting point.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum