Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved]i3wm monitor temperature
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:33 pm    Post subject: [Solved]i3wm monitor temperature Reply with quote

According to the i3status man page configuration - https://i3wm.org/i3status/manpage.html#_configuration,
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp1_input gives the temperature.
/sys/devices/platform/directory exists but it does not have a coretemp.0 directory.
Here are the files that it does have - https://paste.pound-python.org/show/X7dNFuNi7SJOhkn4vUfr/

I have sensors installed.
I did run sensors-detect and have openRC configured to run lm_sensors on startup.

Where would the temperature file which I should link to be located in the Gentoo filesystem?
Code:
locate temp1_input
does not output anything.

This is what
Code:
sensors
outputs - https://paste.pound-python.org/show/rVzZJBc3aMs2GAZV3J0x/
It just gives the temperature of one core as well instead of the 6 it should. I could see the temperature of all 6 cores when I was running Manjaro as well as when I was running Ubuntu. So it is probably something to do with my configuration?

Do I need to enable things in my kernel apart from what is on the Gentoo lm_sensors wiki? If yes, how do I know what to enable?
_________________
[19:18] <@NeddySeagoon> Gentoo has an installer. Just like other distros. Go to the bathroom, look in the mirror. You will see the Gentoo installer :)


Last edited by reikdas on Sat Dec 29, 2018 3:11 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 3790
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does "ls /sys/devices/platform/coretemp*" return

And which cpu are we talking about? make and model
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau & radeon, oss4
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.0 (no-pie) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon


Last edited by Anon-E-moose on Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
What does "ls /sys/devices/platform/coretemp*" return


No such file or directory. (I posted the ls of /sys/devices/platform/ in the first post of this thread)
_________________
[19:18] <@NeddySeagoon> Gentoo has an installer. Just like other distros. Go to the bathroom, look in the mirror. You will see the Gentoo installer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 3790
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you turn on the options under hardware monitoring support?

And which cpu make and model?
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau & radeon, oss4
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.0 (no-pie) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Did you turn on the options under hardware monitoring support?


Yup. Here is my kernel config file - https://paste.pound-python.org/show/bFSAyQ9e2u8c81TDnCVj/

Anon-E-moose wrote:
And which cpu make and model?


Intel i7 8750H
_________________
[19:18] <@NeddySeagoon> Gentoo has an installer. Just like other distros. Go to the bathroom, look in the mirror. You will see the Gentoo installer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 3790
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does sensors-detect report?
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau & radeon, oss4
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.0 (no-pie) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
What does sensors-detect report?


Summary -
Code:
Now follows a summary of the probes I have just done.
Just press ENTER to continue:

Driver `coretemp' (built-in):
  * Chip `Intel digital thermal sensor' (confidence: 9)

No modules to load, skipping modules configuration.

Unloading cpuid... OK


Entire log-
Code:
reik-msi /usr/src/linux # sensors-detect
# sensors-detect revision 3.4.0+git_807f9b1529892c0ac89bca0c7ae781c59f9c8393
# System: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd. GS65 Stealth Thin 8RF [REV:1.0] (laptop)
# Board: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd. MS-16Q2
# Kernel: 4.14.83-gentoo x86_64
# Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz (6/158/10)

This program will help you determine which kernel modules you need
to load to use lm_sensors most effectively. It is generally safe
and recommended to accept the default answers to all questions,
unless you know what you're doing.

Gentoo config file protection is active. Every file this program will
modify must be merged before the change will become active using
default Gentoo tools such as dispatch-conf, cfg-update, and etc-update.

Some south bridges, CPUs or memory controllers contain embedded sensors.
Do you want to scan for them? This is totally safe. (YES/no): yes
Module cpuid loaded successfully.
Silicon Integrated Systems SIS5595...                       No
VIA VT82C686 Integrated Sensors...                          No
VIA VT8231 Integrated Sensors...                            No
AMD K8 thermal sensors...                                   No
AMD Family 10h thermal sensors...                           No
AMD Family 11h thermal sensors...                           No
AMD Family 12h and 14h thermal sensors...                   No
AMD Family 15h thermal sensors...                           No
AMD Family 16h thermal sensors...                           No
AMD Family 17h thermal sensors...                           No
AMD Family 15h power sensors...                             No
AMD Family 16h power sensors...                             No
Intel digital thermal sensor...                             Success!
    (driver `coretemp')
Intel AMB FB-DIMM thermal sensor...                         No
Intel 5500/5520/X58 thermal sensor...                       No
VIA C7 thermal sensor...                                    No
VIA Nano thermal sensor...                                  No

Some Super I/O chips contain embedded sensors. We have to write to
standard I/O ports to probe them. This is usually safe.
Do you want to scan for Super I/O sensors? (YES/no): yes
Probing for Super-I/O at 0x2e/0x2f
Trying family `National Semiconductor/ITE'...               No
Trying family `SMSC'...                                     No
Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Nuvoton/Fintek'...               No
Trying family `ITE'...                                      No
Probing for Super-I/O at 0x4e/0x4f
Trying family `National Semiconductor/ITE'...               No
Trying family `SMSC'...                                     No
Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Nuvoton/Fintek'...               No
Trying family `ITE'...                                      No

Some hardware monitoring chips are accessible through the ISA I/O ports.
We have to write to arbitrary I/O ports to probe them. This is usually
safe though. Yes, you do have ISA I/O ports even if you do not have any
ISA slots! Do you want to scan the ISA I/O ports? (YES/no): yes
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM78' at 0x290...       No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM79' at 0x290...       No
Probing for `Winbond W83781D' at 0x290...                   No
Probing for `Winbond W83782D' at 0x290...                   No

Lastly, we can probe the I2C/SMBus adapters for connected hardware
monitoring devices. This is the most risky part, and while it works
reasonably well on most systems, it has been reported to cause trouble
on some systems.
Do you want to probe the I2C/SMBus adapters now? (YES/no): yes
Using driver `i2c-i801' for device 0000:00:1f.4: Cannon Lake-H (PCH)
modprobe: FATAL: Module i2c-i801 not found in directory /lib/modules/4.14.83-gentoo
Failed to load module i2c-i801.

Next adapter: i915 gmbus dpb (i2c-0)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): yes
Can't open /dev/i2c-0
Next adapter: i915 gmbus dpc (i2c-1)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): yes
Can't open /dev/i2c-1
Next adapter: i915 gmbus misc (i2c-2)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): yes
Can't open /dev/i2c-2
Next adapter: i915 gmbus dpd (i2c-3)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): yes
Can't open /dev/i2c-3
Next adapter: DPDDC-A (i2c-4)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): yes
Can't open /dev/i2c-4
Next adapter: DPDDC-C (i2c-5)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): yes
Can't open /dev/i2c-5
Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter 1 at 1:00.0 (i2c-6)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): yes
Can't open /dev/i2c-6
Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter 2 at 1:00.0 (i2c-7)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): yes
Can't open /dev/i2c-7
Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter 6 at 1:00.0 (i2c-8)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): yes
Can't open /dev/i2c-8
Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter 8 at 1:00.0 (i2c-9)
Do you want to scan it? (yes/NO/selectively): yes
Can't open /dev/i2c-9

Now follows a summary of the probes I have just done.
Just press ENTER to continue:

Driver `coretemp' (built-in):
  * Chip `Intel digital thermal sensor' (confidence: 9)

No modules to load, skipping modules configuration.

Unloading cpuid... OK


_________________
[19:18] <@NeddySeagoon> Gentoo has an installer. Just like other distros. Go to the bathroom, look in the mirror. You will see the Gentoo installer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 3790
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you have detect-sensors write the config file for you?
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau & radeon, oss4
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.0 (no-pie) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon


Last edited by Anon-E-moose on Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:18 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Did you have detect-sensors write the config file for you?


I did not get a prompt for that. (Shown in the above logs)
_________________
[19:18] <@NeddySeagoon> Gentoo has an installer. Just like other distros. Go to the bathroom, look in the mirror. You will see the Gentoo installer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 3790
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They may have changed it, it used to ask if you wanted it to write out a config file.


You might try setting the coretemp driver to module instead of built-in, I see you selected "m" (module) for everything else.
Actually on my systems everything from the original "hardware monitor" selection on is module, just to be consistent.
And I set all the acpi options to be modules too, again just for consistency. I've had problems mixing modules and built-in before.

If not that, then I don't know, it looks like you have all the things selected that you should have.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau & radeon, oss4
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
5.0.13 zen kernel, profile 17.0 (no-pie) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 8.2.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muso
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Oct 2002
Posts: 969
Location: The Holy city of Honolulu

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

reikdas wrote:
Anon-E-moose wrote:
Did you have detect-sensors write the config file for you?


I did not get a prompt for that. (Shown in the above logs)


They are built in so you won't get that prompt. I also build mine into the kernel rather than keeping them modular.

I use i3blocks to keep an eye on my temperatures, you just have to edit the ~/.config/i3/i3blocks.conf file for your needs.
_________________
Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils.


Last edited by Muso on Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Muso wrote:
I use i3blocks to keep an eye on my temperatures, you just have to edit the ~/.config/i3/i3blocks.conf file for your needs/


And make it point where?
_________________
[19:18] <@NeddySeagoon> Gentoo has an installer. Just like other distros. Go to the bathroom, look in the mirror. You will see the Gentoo installer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muso
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Oct 2002
Posts: 969
Location: The Holy city of Honolulu

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

reikdas wrote:
Muso wrote:
I use i3blocks to keep an eye on my temperatures, you just have to edit the ~/.config/i3/i3blocks.conf file for your needs/


And make it point where?


Read the script. It uses a bunch of perl scrips located in /usr/libexec/i3blocks
_________________
Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muso
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Oct 2002
Posts: 969
Location: The Holy city of Honolulu

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 4:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My desktop has the CPU and GPU temps : Screenshot

My laptop just monitors the CPU temp : Screenshot
_________________
Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Muso wrote:
reikdas wrote:
Muso wrote:
I use i3blocks to keep an eye on my temperatures, you just have to edit the ~/.config/i3/i3blocks.conf file for your needs/


And make it point where?


Read the script. It uses a bunch of perl scrips located in /usr/libexec/i3blocks


Thanks Muso that works!
_________________
[19:18] <@NeddySeagoon> Gentoo has an installer. Just like other distros. Go to the bathroom, look in the mirror. You will see the Gentoo installer :)


Last edited by reikdas on Sat Dec 29, 2018 7:20 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Muso wrote:
My desktop has the CPU and GPU temps : Screenshot

My laptop just monitors the CPU temp : Screenshot



Is it possible to make my laptop monitor the GPU temperature and load?
_________________
[19:18] <@NeddySeagoon> Gentoo has an installer. Just like other distros. Go to the bathroom, look in the mirror. You will see the Gentoo installer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muso
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Oct 2002
Posts: 969
Location: The Holy city of Honolulu

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

reikdas wrote:
Muso wrote:
My desktop has the CPU and GPU temps : Screenshot

My laptop just monitors the CPU temp : Screenshot



Is it possible to make my laptop monitor the GPU temperature and load?


Assuming it's nVidia...

I added this to the i3blocks.conf :
Code:
# nVidia Temperature
[nvidia]
label=GPU TEMP °C
command=/home/rasalom/Scripts/nvidia.sh
#nvidia-settings -q gpucoretemp -t °C
#[load_average]
interval=1


That nvidia.sh just being this :
Code:
#!/bin/bash
nvidia-settings -q gpucoretemp -t


I'm sure there must be a more elegant solution, but that worked. I never looked into getting the GPU load displayed.
_________________
Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reikdas
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Nov 2018
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Muso wrote:
reikdas wrote:
Muso wrote:
My desktop has the CPU and GPU temps : Screenshot

My laptop just monitors the CPU temp : Screenshot



Is it possible to make my laptop monitor the GPU temperature and load?


Assuming it's nVidia...

I added this to the i3blocks.conf :
Code:
# nVidia Temperature
[nvidia]
label=GPU TEMP °C
command=/home/rasalom/Scripts/nvidia.sh
#nvidia-settings -q gpucoretemp -t °C
#[load_average]
interval=1


That nvidia.sh just being this :
Code:
#!/bin/bash
nvidia-settings -q gpucoretemp -t


I'm sure there must be a more elegant solution, but that worked. I never looked into getting the GPU load displayed.


Thanks!
_________________
[19:18] <@NeddySeagoon> Gentoo has an installer. Just like other distros. Go to the bathroom, look in the mirror. You will see the Gentoo installer :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum