Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't get temperature for my new 2700X
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sol33t303
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2018
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:02 am    Post subject: Can't get temperature for my new 2700X Reply with quote

I just recently upgraded from an I7-6700K to an AMD Ryzen2 2700X. After running sensors-detect it said that in order to read the temperature of my CPU i need to load the k10temp module. So following https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Ryzen#Kernel I to configure my kernel I figured that one of those options would either compile k10temp into the kernel or as a module. It dosn't seem like it has, because sensors says that it can't find any sensors, and I can't seem to load the module so I presume it wasn't compiled. Where is the option to compile this module? I'm currently using the Gentoo-sources kernel so maybe I should try the vanilla kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54236
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sol33t303,

The menuconfig search says
Code:
  ┌────────────────────────────── Search Results ──────────────────────────────┐
  │ Symbol: SENSORS_K10TEMP [=m]                                               │ 
  │ Type  : tristate                                                           │ 
  │ Prompt: AMD Family 10h+ temperature sensor                                 │ 
  │   Location:                                                                │ 
  │     -> Device Drivers                                                      │ 
  │ (1)   -> Hardware Monitoring support (HWMON [=y])                          │ 
  │   Defined at drivers/hwmon/Kconfig:273                                     │ 
  │   Depends on: HWMON [=y] && X86 [=y] && PCI [=y] && AMD_NB [=y]            │ 
  │                                                                            │ 

The option will be hidden until the Depends on: evaluates to true.
Press 'z' to toggle the display of hidden options. They will still be unselectable but now they will appear in search resuts, so you can read the help and fix the Depends on:
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marlo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 1591

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can confirm what NeddySeagoon says.

You need to have ISA turned on. Part of the signals are transported via this bus.

Code:
@tux ~ $ egrep ISA /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_GENERIC_ISA_DMA = y
CONFIG_ISA_DMA_API = y

As a result, sensors-detect can find other sensors. In my case it is:
it8622-isa-0a30 Adapter: ISA adapter

I have K10TEMP as a module CONFIG_SENSORS_K10TEMP = m.
Code:

@tux ~ $ sensors
iwlwifi-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:        +40.0°C 

it8622-isa-0a30
Adapter: ISA adapter
in0:          +0.91 V  (min =  +1.80 V, max =  +1.45 V)  ALARM
in1:          +1.27 V  (min =  +1.99 V, max =  +2.56 V)  ALARM
in2:          +2.22 V  (min =  +2.83 V, max =  +0.58 V)  ALARM
in3:          +2.22 V  (min =  +2.72 V, max =  +0.18 V)  ALARM
in4:          +2.00 V  (min =  +2.75 V, max =  +3.01 V)  ALARM
in5:          +1.80 V  (min =  +1.55 V, max =  +2.53 V)
in6:          +1.70 V  (min =  +1.21 V, max =  +1.33 V)  ALARM
3VSB:         +3.50 V  (min =  +5.64 V, max =  +6.12 V)  ALARM
Vbat:         +3.48 V 
+3.3V:        +3.60 V 
fan2:         790 RPM  (min =   35 RPM)
fan3:        1439 RPM  (min =   10 RPM)
temp1:        +38.0°C  (low  = +118.0°C, high = -65.0°C)  ALARM  sensor = thermistor
temp2:        +33.0°C  (low  =  -9.0°C, high = -27.0°C)  sensor = thermistor
temp3:        +38.0°C  (low  = -59.0°C, high = +118.0°C)  sensor = disabled
intrusion0:  ALARM

amdgpu-pci-0b00
Adapter: PCI adapter
vddgfx:       +0.98 V 
fan1:        1194 RPM
temp1:        +47.0°C  (crit = +94.0°C, hyst = -273.1°C)
power1:       21.09 W  (cap =  48.00 W)

k10temp-pci-00c3
Adapter: PCI adapter
Tdie:         +33.5°C  (high = +70.0°C)
Tctl:           +33.5°C 



PS:
Sorry, I forgot:
I use the gentoo-sources. There is no reason to change the kernel.
He should just be something new.
https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=Linux-4.18.6-k10temp-Correct
_________________
------------------------------------------------------------------
http://radio.garden/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54236
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Marlo,

Its your
Code:
it8622-isa-0a30
Adapter: ISA adapter
that is on the ISA bus. That's not needed for k10temp unless the kernel
Code:
Depends on: HWMON [=y] && X86 [=y] && PCI [=y] && AMD_NB [=y]
is not correct.
ISA is missing there.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marlo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 1591

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear NeddySeagoon,

I wrote awkwardly.
The comment on ISA only refers to it8622-isa-0a30. NOT to K10TEMP.
Many Thanks
_________________
------------------------------------------------------------------
http://radio.garden/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sol33t303
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Mar 2018
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the help guys, but strangely it looks like I already have evrything I need compiled into the kernel. But I'm now having a seperate issue with booting which I will open A new thread for. I'll investigate further when I can boot into my PC again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomtom69
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Nov 2010
Posts: 245
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What kernel are you using?
Gentoo stable kernel is 4.14 at the moment, and this one supports AMD CPU temperature sensor up to family 16h. For family 17h a newer kernel is needed:
https://github.com/lm-sensors/lm-sensors/issues/16
Have seen this issue on a Ryzen 1700 (family 17h), while it worked on a Ryzen 1600 (family 16h).
So you could unmask and compile a newer kernel version or wait for it to be stabilized.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
derbrain
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 178

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a similar problem with a Ryzen 5 2600 (kernel 4.14.65-gentoo). This is what sensors-detect gives me:
Code:
Now follows a summary of the probes I have just done.
Just press ENTER to continue:

Driver `it87':
  * ISA bus, address 0xa60
    Chip `ITE IT8792E Super IO Sensors' (confidence: 9)

Driver `to-be-written':
  * ISA bus, address 0xa40
    Chip `ITE IT8686E Super IO Sensors' (confidence: 9)

Driver `k10temp':
  * Chip `AMD Family 17h thermal sensors' (confidence: 9)

Note: there is no driver for ITE IT8686E Super IO Sensors yet.
Check https://hwmon.wiki.kernel.org/device_support_status for updates.


So it seems one of the chips is not yet supported, although there seems already to be a config for it? -> https://github.com/lm-sensors/lm-sensors/blob/master/configs/Gigabyte/GA-AX370M-DS3H.conf (I have a Gigabyte B450 Aorus M motherboard).

Apart from that, the k10temp is not shown. The module is loaded, but sensors gives me:
Code:
amdgpu-pci-0600
Adapter: PCI adapter
GPU fan:      684 RPM
GPU temp:     +35.0°C  (crit =  +0.0°C, hyst =  +0.0°C)

it8792-isa-0a60
Adapter: ISA adapter
in0:          +1.26 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +2.78 V)
in1:          +1.17 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +2.78 V)
in2:          +1.11 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +2.78 V)
+3.3V:        +1.67 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +2.78 V)
in4:          +1.30 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +2.78 V)
in5:          +1.16 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +2.78 V)
in6:          +2.78 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +2.78 V)  ALARM
3VSB:         +1.67 V  (min =  +0.00 V, max =  +2.78 V)
Vbat:         +1.59 V 
fan1:           0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM)
fan2:           0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM)
fan3:           0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM)
temp1:        +30.0°C  (low  = +127.0°C, high = +127.0°C)  sensor = thermistor
temp2:        +34.0°C  (low  = +127.0°C, high = +127.0°C)  sensor = Intel PECI
temp3:        +37.0°C  (low  = +127.0°C, high = +127.0°C)  sensor = thermistor
intrusion0:  ALARM

No k10temp here. On a side note, also the fan readout is 0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
derbrain
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 178

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tomtom69 wrote:
What kernel are you using?
Gentoo stable kernel is 4.14 at the moment, and this one supports AMD CPU temperature sensor up to family 16h. For family 17h a newer kernel is needed:
https://github.com/lm-sensors/lm-sensors/issues/16


Oh, I guess that's the answer 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1609
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2020 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i use 5.6.15 atm, but i can not get lm-sensors to find my ryzen 2700x temp sensors

Code:
Driver `to-be-written':
  * ISA bus, address 0xa40
    Chip `ITE IT8686E Super IO Sensors' (confidence: 9)

Driver `k10temp' (autoloaded):
  * Chip `AMD Family 17h thermal sensors' (confidence: 9)


sensors reports only reports:
Code:
# sensors
acpitz-acpi-0
Adapter: ACPI interface
temp1:        +16.8°C  (crit = +20.8°C)

k10temp-pci-00c3
Adapter: PCI adapter
Vcore:         1.29 V 
Vsoc:        813.00 mV
Tdie:         +35.8°C 
Tctl:         +45.8°C 
Icore:        15.00 A 
Isoc:          5.75 A


any suggestions on this ?


i guess i will change to 5.7.2 and see if it helps....


output of sensors-detect :
Code:

# sensors-detect version 3.6.0
# System: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. B450M DS3H [Default string]
# Board: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. B450M DS3H-CF
# Kernel: 5.6.15-gentoo x86_64
# Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core Processor (23/8/2)

AMD Family 17h thermal sensors...                           Success!
    (driver `k10temp')

Found `ITE IT8686E Super IO Sensors'                        Success!
    (address 0xa40, driver `to-be-written')



edit : i followed this kernel modules guide for ryzen processors https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Ryzen#Kernel
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D

Ryzen9 7950x ; Geforce1650 ; kernel 6.5 ; XFCE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nick_gentoo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jan 2019
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2020 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mgiese wrote:
i use 5.6.15 atm, but i can not get lm-sensors to find my ryzen 2700x temp sensors
Code:
# sensors
k10temp-pci-00c3
Adapter: PCI adapter
...
Tdie:         +35.8°C 
Tctl:         +45.8°C 
...



Those are the temperatures that you are looking for.
I'm not sure I remember correctly, but I think Tdie is the actual temperature of the chip and Tctl the temperature reported to the cooling system. The two are different for the Ryzen X CPUs; for me, with a Ryzen 2600, they are identical.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1609
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2020 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for your reply, i realized what you said before. but i am looking for my 8 core temperatures.

i am using xfce4, where a taskbar plugin doesnt find k10temp at all. xsensors instead does find it...
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D

Ryzen9 7950x ; Geforce1650 ; kernel 6.5 ; XFCE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2020 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mgiese wrote:
thanks for your reply, i realized what you said before. but i am looking for my 8 core temperatures.

i am using xfce4, where a taskbar plugin doesnt find k10temp at all. xsensors instead does find it...


if sensors finds it then it's xfce's plugin that has the problem (configuration?)

The only temps you'll get from k10temp is (at least on my system) which are all temps at the base of the cpu socket
Tdie: +37.4°C
Tctl: +37.4°C
Tccd1: +38.8°C

and your I/O sensor (IT8686E) should have some temps in it too.

Edit to add: seems that i/o sensor isn't supported (or wasn't as of the end of 2019) in the kernel. Haven't checked the latest kernel sources.
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6920

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kernel 5.8 supports power sensors per-core (or use /usr/src/linux/tools/power/x86/turbostat/), but temperature is currently only per-chiplet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1609
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Mgiese wrote:
thanks for your reply, i realized what you said before. but i am looking for my 8 core temperatures.

i am using xfce4, where a taskbar plugin doesnt find k10temp at all. xsensors instead does find it...


if sensors finds it then it's xfce's plugin that has the problem (configuration?)

The only temps you'll get from k10temp is (at least on my system) which are all temps at the base of the cpu socket
Tdie: +37.4°C
Tctl: +37.4°C
Tccd1: +38.8°C

and your I/O sensor (IT8686E) should have some temps in it too.

Edit to add: seems that i/o sensor isn't supported (or wasn't as of the end of 2019) in the kernel. Haven't checked the latest kernel sources.


you were right, in the meantime i figured it out. my problem was that xfce4-sensors-plugin was compiled without lm_sensors useflag

thanks a lot !

edit : as of today, kernel 5.7.2 does not support IT8686E :(
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D

Ryzen9 7950x ; Geforce1650 ; kernel 6.5 ; XFCE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1609
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
Kernel 5.8 supports power sensors per-core (or use /usr/src/linux/tools/power/x86/turbostat/), but temperature is currently only per-chiplet.
i am excited about kernel 5.8 then :)
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D

Ryzen9 7950x ; Geforce1650 ; kernel 6.5 ; XFCE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nick_gentoo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jan 2019
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mgiese wrote:
edit : as of today, kernel 5.7.2 does not support IT8686E :(

I also have an IT8686 chip onboard, and would like to know more about this.
For example, lm-sensors includes it in a config file (here), but where does one find the kernel driver for it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leandrolnh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2019
Posts: 20
Location: Brasil

PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 3:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nick_gentoo wrote:
Mgiese wrote:
edit : as of today, kernel 5.7.2 does not support IT8686E :(

I also have an IT8686 chip onboard, and would like to know more about this.
For example, lm-sensors includes it in a config file (here), but where does one find the kernel driver for it?


Unfortunately the work being done on a out-of-tree IT87 driver is no logen being made:

https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=IT87-Linux-Driver-Axing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum