Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How should I mask QT 5.11 elegantly?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
crocket
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Apr 2017
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:22 pm    Post subject: How should I mask QT 5.11 elegantly? Reply with quote

"/etc/portage/packages.mask/anki" blocks QT 5.11 so that I can use Anki.

Code:
=dev-qt/qtcore-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtxml-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtbluetooth-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtdbus-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtdeclarative-5.11*
=dev-qt/designer-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtgui-5.11*
=dev-qt/qthelp-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtlocation-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtmultimedia-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtnetwork-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtopengl-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtpositioning-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtprintsupport-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtsensors-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtscript-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtserialport-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtsql-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtsvg-5.11*
=dev-qt/qttest-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtwebchannel-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtwebengine-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtwebkit-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtwebsockets-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtwidgets-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtwidgets-5.11.1
=dev-qt/qtx11extras-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtxmlpatterns-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtconcurrent-5.11*
=dev-qt/linguist-tools-5.11*
=dev-qt/qtimageformats-5.11*
=kde-plasma/kactivitymanagerd-5.13*


I think this is not an elegant way to mask QT 5.11. Do you know such an elegant way?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think this works in package.mask

dev-qt/qt*:5.11

edit to add: maybe even "dev-qt/*:5.11" but I'm not sure on it, it needs testing.

add either of the 2 above, comment out what you have and see what happens, if it works, then those things commented out can be removed.
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30917
Location: here

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have qt-5.11 installed and I able to install anki
Code:
# emerge -pv app-misc/anki

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild  N     ] dev-python/markdown-2.6.8::gentoo  USE="-doc -pygments -test" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_6 (-pypy) (-pypy3) -python3_4 -python3_5" 301 KiB
[ebuild  N     ] dev-python/decorator-4.2.1::gentoo  USE="-doc" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_6 (-pypy) (-pypy3) -python3_4 -python3_5" 33 KiB
[ebuild  N     ] dev-python/send2trash-1.3.0::gentoo  USE="-doc" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_6 (-pypy) -python3_4 -python3_5" 6 KiB
[ebuild  N     ] app-i18n/enca-1.19-r1::gentoo  USE="iconv -doc -recode -static-libs" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" 455 KiB
[ebuild  N     ] dev-libs/libcdio-0.93:0/15::gentoo  USE="cxx -cddb -minimal -static-libs -test" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild  N     ] media-libs/portaudio-19.06.00-r1::gentoo  USE="alsa cxx -debug -doc -jack -oss -static-libs" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" 1,417 KiB
[ebuild  N     ] dev-python/pyaudio-0.2.11::gentoo  USE="-doc" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_6 -python3_4 -python3_5" 37 KiB
[ebuild  N     ] dev-libs/libcdio-paranoia-0.93_p1::gentoo  USE="cxx -static-libs -test" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" 0 KiB
[ebuild  N     ] media-video/mplayer-1.3.0-r5::gentoo  USE="X a52 alsa cdio dts dvd dvdnav enca encode gif iconv ipv6 jpeg libass mad mng mp3 network opengl osdmenu png pulseaudio sdl shm truetype unicode vorbis x264 xscreensaver xv xvid -aalib (-altivec) (-aqua) -bidi -bl -bluray -bs2b -cddb -cdparanoia -cpudetection -debug -dga -doc -dv -dvb -faac -faad -fbcon -ftp -ggi -gsm -jack -joystick -ladspa -libcaca -libmpeg2 -lirc -live -lzo -md5sum -nas -nut -openal -oss -pnm -pvr -radio -rar -rtc -rtmp -samba (-selinux) -speex -tga -theora -toolame -tremor -twolame -v4l -vcd -vdpau (-vidix) -xinerama -xvmc -yuv4mpeg -zoran" CPU_FLAGS_X86="mmx mmxext sse sse2 ssse3 -3dnow -3dnowext" VIDEO_CARDS="-mga (-tdfx)" 12,968 KiB
[ebuild   R    ] dev-python/PyQt5-5.10.1-r1::gentoo  USE="bluetooth dbus declarative designer gui network opengl printsupport sql svg webchannel* webengine* webkit widgets -debug -examples (-gles2) -help -location -multimedia -positioning -sensors -serialport -testlib -websockets -x11extras -xmlpatterns" PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_6 -python3_4 -python3_5 (-python3_7)" 0 KiB
[ebuild  N    ~] app-misc/anki-2.1.0_beta27::gentoo  USE="recording sound -latex -test" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_6" 4,032 KiB

_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crocket
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Apr 2017
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
I have qt-5.11 installed and I able to install anki


You should try executing anki. You can't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30917
Location: here

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

crocket wrote:
You should try executing anki. You can't.

And download anki from official site that have bundled qt lib and put it in /opt as long as anki not support qt 5.11? (seems that developer wait for qt 5.12)
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 8936

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, a very poor decision of the anki developers...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crocket
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Apr 2017
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
And download anki from official site that have bundled qt lib and put it in /opt as long as anki not support qt 5.11? (seems that developer wait for qt 5.12)


Their anki builds depend on wayland which I don't have on my gentoo system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crocket
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Apr 2017
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
dev-qt/qt*:5.11

edit to add: maybe even "dev-qt/*:5.11"


Both atoms don't block qt 5.11 packages. 5.11 doesn't exist as a slot.


Last edited by crocket on Fri Oct 19, 2018 1:45 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crocket
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Apr 2017
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I succeeded in downgrading QT to 5.9

It was a messy process.

I had to manually mask qt 5.11 packages and kde-plasma 5.13 packages. I also had to remove all kde packages and install them again because they didn't automatically pick up qt 5.9

I didn't know how to block a certain version of a package category with one line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30917
Location: here

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

crocket wrote:
Anon-E-moose wrote:
dev-qt/qt*:5.11

edit to add: maybe even "dev-qt/*:5.11"


Both atoms don't block qt 5.11 packages. 5.11 doesn't exist as a slot.

Because the correct slot/subslot is 5/5.11 then the entry is
Code:
dev-qt/*:5/5.11

_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Josef.95
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Sep 2007
Posts: 4555
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Huh, I think downgrading Qt, and masking the stable plasma 5.13 is a bad idea.
All this for one broken app-misc/anki beta package?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crocket
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Apr 2017
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Josef.95 wrote:
Huh, I think downgrading Qt, and masking the stable plasma 5.13 is a bad idea.
All this for one broken app-misc/anki beta package?


Value of a program differs from person to person. To me, anki is a very valuable package. If I couldn't run anki on Gentoo, I would move to another linux within a few days. Or, I would run anki in a virtual machine.

Not reviewing anki decks for a few days leads to anki avalanche which is very painful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crocket
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Apr 2017
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
Because the correct slot/subslot is 5/5.11 then the entry is
Code:
dev-qt/*:5/5.11


What about blocking kde-plasma 5.13 packages with one line?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30917
Location: here

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

crocket wrote:
What about blocking kde-plasma 5.13 packages with one line?

Unfortunately there is no subslot for kde-plasma and you cannot mask with a single line.
You can use qlist for create the list
Code:
$ qlist -I kde-plasma/* | awk '{print ">="$1"-5.13.0"}'

_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crocket
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Apr 2017
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
Unfortunately there is no subslot for kde-plasma and you cannot mask with a single line.
You can use qlist for create the list
Code:
$ qlist -I kde-plasma/* | awk '{print ">="$1"-5.13.0"}'


Why is =kde-plasma/*-5.13* an invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.mask/?

dev-qt/*:5/5.11 doesn't block qt 5.11 packages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30917
Location: here

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

crocket wrote:
Why is =kde-plasma/*-5.13* an invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.mask/?

I've no idea because this is not permitted.

crocket wrote:
dev-qt/*:5/5.11 doesn't block qt 5.11 packages.

Strange, tested in my system and emerge want to downgrade to 5.9
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crocket
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Apr 2017
Posts: 558

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The slot of dev-qt/qtsql-5.9.6-r1 is 5/5.9.6
Thus, the slot of qtsql-5.11.x should be 5/5.11.x which cannot be masked by 5/5.11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30917
Location: here

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

crocket wrote:
The slot of dev-qt/qtsql-5.9.6-r1 is 5/5.9.6
Thus, the slot of qtsql-5.11.x should be 5/5.11.x which cannot be masked by 5/5.11

You right, qtsql you should mask with >=dev-qt/qtsql-5.11.0
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
crocket wrote:
Anon-E-moose wrote:
dev-qt/qt*:5.11

edit to add: maybe even "dev-qt/*:5.11"


Both atoms don't block qt 5.11 packages. 5.11 doesn't exist as a slot.

Because the correct slot/subslot is 5/5.11 then the entry is
Code:
dev-qt/*:5/5.11


I wasn't a 100% sure if you could block on a subslot. Evidently not.
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 3922
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fedeliallalinea wrote:
You can use qlist for create the list
Code:
$ qlist -I kde-plasma/* | awk '{print ">="$1"-5.13.0"}'
I prefer sed
Code:
qlist -IC kde-plasma | sed -e 's/^/>=/g' -e 's/$/-5.13.5/g' > kde-plasma-5.13.5
;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 8936

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or just pick the package.mask file already provided by kde overlay (and replace '<' with '>').

https://gitweb.gentoo.org/proj/kde.git/tree/Documentation/package.mask/kde-plasma-5.12
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

crocket wrote:
Why is =kde-plasma/*-5.13* an invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.mask/?


I don't know if this will work, but portage doesn't complain about an invalid atom with this:
Code:
kde-plasma/*5.13*

_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6098
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pjp wrote:
crocket wrote:
Why is =kde-plasma/*-5.13* an invalid atom in /etc/portage/package.mask/?


I don't know if this will work, but portage doesn't complain about an invalid atom with this:
Code:
kde-plasma/*5.13*


The "=" in front should be rejected, as it's for a specific version and they're trying to generalize it. Your version is correct pjp at least as far as syntax.
Whether it actually works is left to the tester. :lol:
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, 6.1 zen kernel
gcc 13, profile 17.0 (custom bare multilib), openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum