Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] No sound - snd_hda_intel
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Shiru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Oct 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 3:06 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] No sound - snd_hda_intel Reply with quote

Hello guys,

Totally new in Gentoo universe, i succeeded installing lots of things but failed for sound.
I read a lot of things, tried lots of solution but still no sound.

I think i understand the problem but i don't know to solve it.

Here are some usefull information

lspci | grep -i audio
Code:

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 05)
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation GK104 HDMI Audio Controller (rev a1)


lspci -k|grep -iA2 audio
Code:

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 05)
   Subsystem: ASRock Incorporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev b5)
--
01:00.1 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation GK104 HDMI Audio Controller (rev a1)
   Subsystem: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd. [MSI] GK104 HDMI Audio Controller
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 06)



lsmod |grep snd
(return nothing)


aplay -L
Code:

null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server


dmesg | grep -i sound
Code:

[    0.067077] Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Initialized.
[    1.213158]   No soundcards found.


dmesg | grep -i alsa -A 4
Code:

[    1.212884] ALSA device list:
[    1.213158]   No soundcards found.
[    1.215586] hdaudio hdaudioC0D0: Unable to bind the codec
[    1.319068] hdaudio hdaudioC1D0: Unable to bind the codec
[    1.375014] tsc: Refined TSC clocksource calibration: 3392.294 MHz


modprobe anything would result as no output. I tried :
Code:

modprobe snd_hda_codec_realtek
modprobe snd_hda_intel


lsmod return :
Code:

Module                  Size  Used by
x86_pkg_temp_thermal    16384  0


Can someone has a solution, please ?


Last edited by Shiru on Thu Sep 13, 2018 2:23 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Keruskerfuerst
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 2237
Location: near Augsburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 4:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One possibility: you complied no soundcard support into the kernel

Can you post the config of sound card support of kernel ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shiru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Oct 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems ok in the kernel but here's the output :

Code:

#
# HD-Audio
#
CONFIG_SND_HDA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132 is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=64
# CONFIG_SND_USB is not set
CONFIG_SND_PCMCIA=y
# CONFIG_SND_VXPOCKET is not set
# CONFIG_SND_PDAUDIOCF is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SOC is not set
CONFIG_SND_X86=y
CONFIG_AC97_BUS=y


I forgot to say that : lsmod return :
Code:

Module                  Size  Used by
x86_pkg_temp_thermal    16384  0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 3208
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does "ls /proc/asound" show?

What does "cat /proc/asound/cards" show?

What does "cat /proc/asound/devices" show?

Assuming a card0 in proc
what does "cat /proc/asound/card0/codec* | grep Codec" show?

Edit to add: if you don't have a /proc/asound directory, then turn on SND_PROC_FS recompile the kernel and see what it shows.

The fact that snd_hda_intel shows up with lspci says the module is getting installed, you have some other problem

ETA2: Do you have either /etc/asound.conf or ~.asoundrc?
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau & radeon, oss4
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
4.14.62 kernel, profile 17.0 (no-pie) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 4.9.4 & 7.3.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cboldt
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 792

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kernel-wise, the sound facilities are built into the kernel, not as modules, so lsmod and modprobe won't have any effect.

It might be beneficial to rebuild kernel with those functions as modules. If nothing else, it makes the kernel a bit smaller; but going modular allows more control over sound module switches without reboot / kernel command line.

The following kernel config works on a Gigabyte F2A88XM-D3H
$(zgrep SND /proc/config.gz | grep -v "#")

Code:
CONFIG_SND=m
CONFIG_SND_TIMER=m
CONFIG_SND_PCM=m
CONFIG_SND_HWDEP=m
CONFIG_SND_RAWMIDI=m
CONFIG_SND_JACK=y
CONFIG_SND_JACK_INPUT_DEV=y
CONFIG_SND_OSSEMUL=y
CONFIG_SND_MIXER_OSS=m
CONFIG_SND_PCM_OSS=m
CONFIG_SND_PCM_OSS_PLUGINS=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM_TIMER=y
CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y
CONFIG_SND_MAX_CARDS=32
CONFIG_SND_SUPPORT_OLD_API=y
CONFIG_SND_PROC_FS=y
CONFIG_SND_VERBOSE_PROCFS=y
CONFIG_SND_VMASTER=y
CONFIG_SND_DMA_SGBUF=y
CONFIG_SND_MPU401_UART=m
CONFIG_SND_DRIVERS=y
CONFIG_SND_DUMMY=m
CONFIG_SND_ALOOP=m
CONFIG_SND_MPU401=m
CONFIG_SND_PCI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP_MODE=1
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=2048
CONFIG_SND_USB=y
CONFIG_SND_USB_AUDIO=m
CONFIG_SND_X86=y


$(lsmod | grep snd)

Code:
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     57344  2
snd_hda_codec_conexant    24576  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    77824  1 snd_hda_codec_conexant
snd_hda_intel          36864  1
snd_hda_codec         118784  4 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep              16384  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_hda_core           69632  5 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                98304  4 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_core
snd_timer              32768  1 snd_pcm
snd                    81920  11 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hwdep,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_timer,thinkpad_acpi,snd_pcm


Edit: above is on Lenovo T420, not Gigabyte MoBo. Same idea used both places, as much as possible, SND function is modular.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shiru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Oct 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
What does "ls /proc/asound" show?

card0 card1 cards devices hwdep pcm seq timers version

Anon-E-moose wrote:
What does "cat /proc/asound/cards" show?

--- no soundcards ---

Anon-E-moose wrote:
What does "cat /proc/asound/devices" show?

1: : sequencer
33: : timer

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Assuming a card0 in proc
what does "cat /proc/asound/card0/codec* | grep Codec" show?

cat: '/proc/asound/card0/codec*': no file or directory lwith this name (i translate from Japanese)

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Edit to add: if you don't have a /proc/asound directory, then turn on SND_PROC_FS recompile the kernel and see what it shows.

Ok, i'll search how.

Anon-E-moose wrote:
ETA2: Do you have either /etc/asound.conf or ~.asoundrc?

I added those directories manually by myself while searching a solution so it was not built by the system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shiru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Oct 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cboldt wrote:
Kernel-wise, the sound facilities are built into the kernel, not as modules, so lsmod and modprobe won't have any effect.

It might be beneficial to rebuild kernel with those functions as modules. If nothing else, it makes the kernel a bit smaller; but going modular allows more control over sound module switches without reboot / kernel command line.


Here are some additional information :
The first time i built the kernel was manua[/quote]lly with make menuconfig (so set as built-in), then no sound so i build the kernel a second time using genkernell all. The second time with genkernell, it was set as modules.so both exist on my system. How can i set just one with the module without resintalling gentoo from zero ? Can i erase the first set up kernel ?
Sorry for taking your time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 3208
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post your .config file, you don't have something configured right in the sound area

As far as which kernel is running, what does "uname -a" show?

When you rebuild the kernel, including modules, it should not leave the old ones around (for the same kernel version).
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau & radeon, oss4
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
4.14.62 kernel, profile 17.0 (no-pie) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 4.9.4 & 7.3.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shiru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Oct 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Post your .config file, you don't have something configured right in the sound area


Maybue you meant this :


Code:
#
# Console display driver support
#
CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK_SIZE=64
# CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK_PERSISTENT_ENABLE_BY_DEFAULT is not set
CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE_COLUMNS=80
CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE_ROWS=25
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_DETECT_PRIMARY=y
# CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_ROTATION is not set
CONFIG_LOGO=y
# CONFIG_LOGO_LINUX_MONO is not set
# CONFIG_LOGO_LINUX_VGA16 is not set
CONFIG_LOGO_LINUX_CLUT224=y
CONFIG_SOUND=y
# CONFIG_SOUND_OSS_CORE is not set
CONFIG_SND=y
CONFIG_SND_TIMER=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM=y
CONFIG_SND_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQ_DEVICE=y
CONFIG_SND_JACK=y
CONFIG_SND_JACK_INPUT_DEV=y
# CONFIG_SND_OSSEMUL is not set
CONFIG_SND_PCM_TIMER=y
CONFIG_SND_HRTIMER=y
# CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS is not set
CONFIG_SND_SUPPORT_OLD_API=y
CONFIG_SND_PROC_FS=y
CONFIG_SND_VERBOSE_PROCFS=y
# CONFIG_SND_VERBOSE_PRINTK is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_SND_VMASTER=y
CONFIG_SND_DMA_SGBUF=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQUENCER=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQ_DUMMY=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQ_HRTIMER_DEFAULT=y
# CONFIG_SND_SEQ_MIDI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_OPL3_LIB_SEQ is not set
# CONFIG_SND_OPL4_LIB_SEQ is not set
CONFIG_SND_AC97_CODEC=y
# CONFIG_SND_PCSP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DUMMY is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ALOOP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VIRMIDI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MTPAV is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SERIAL_U16550 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MPU401 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AC97_POWER_SAVE is not set
CONFIG_SND_PCI=y
# CONFIG_SND_AD1889 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ALS300 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ALS4000 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ALI5451 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ASIHPI is not set
CONFIG_SND_DMA_SGBUF=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQUENCER=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQ_DUMMY=y
CONFIG_SND_SEQ_HRTIMER_DEFAULT=y
# CONFIG_SND_SEQ_MIDI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_OPL3_LIB_SEQ is not set
# CONFIG_SND_OPL4_LIB_SEQ is not set
CONFIG_SND_AC97_CODEC=y
CONFIG_SND_DRIVERS=y
# CONFIG_SND_PCSP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DUMMY is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ALOOP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VIRMIDI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MTPAV is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SERIAL_U16550 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MPU401 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AC97_POWER_SAVE is not set
CONFIG_SND_PCI=y
# CONFIG_SND_AD1889 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ALS300 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ALS4000 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ALI5451 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ASIHPI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ATIIXP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ATIIXP_MODEM is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AU8810 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AU8820 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AU8830 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AW2 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AZT3328 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_BT87X is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CA0106 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CMIPCI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_OXYGEN is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CS4281 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CS46XX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CTXFI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DARLA20 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_GINA20 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_LAYLA20 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DARLA24 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_GINA24 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_LAYLA24 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MONA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ASIHPI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ATIIXP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ATIIXP_MODEM is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AU8810 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AU8820 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AU8830 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AW2 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_AZT3328 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_BT87X is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CA0106 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CMIPCI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_OXYGEN is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CS4281 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CS46XX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_CTXFI is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DARLA20 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_GINA20 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_LAYLA20 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_DARLA24 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_GINA24 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_LAYLA24 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MONA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MIA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ECHO3G is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGOIO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGODJ is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGOIOX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGODJX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_EMU10K1 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_EMU10K1_SEQ is not set
# CONFIG_SND_EMU10K1X is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ENS1370 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ENS1371 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ES1938 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ES1968 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_FM801 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDSP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDSPM is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ICE1712 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ICE1724 is not set
CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0=y
CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0M=y
# CONFIG_SND_KORG1212 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MIA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ECHO3G is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGOIO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGODJ is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGOIOX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_INDIGODJX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_EMU10K1 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_EMU10K1_SEQ is not set
# CONFIG_SND_EMU10K1X is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ENS1370 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ENS1371 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ES1938 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ES1968 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_FM801 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDSP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDSPM is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ICE1712 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_ICE1724 is not set
CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0=y
CONFIG_SND_INTEL8X0M=y
# CONFIG_SND_KORG1212 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_LOLA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_LX6464ES is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MAESTRO3 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_MIXART is not set
# CONFIG_SND_NM256 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_PCXHR is not set
# CONFIG_SND_RIPTIDE is not set
# CONFIG_SND_RME32 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_RME96 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_RME9652 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SE6X is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SONICVIBES is not set
# CONFIG_SND_TRIDENT is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VIA82XX is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VIA82XX_MODEM is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VIRTUOSO is not set
# CONFIG_SND_VX222 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_YMFPCI is not set

#
# HD-Audio
#
CONFIG_SND_HDA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132 is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=64
#
CONFIG_SND_HDA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132 is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=64
# CONFIG_SND_USB is not set
CONFIG_SND_PCMCIA=y
# CONFIG_SND_VXPOCKET is not set
# CONFIG_SND_PDAUDIOCF is not set
# CONFIG_SND_SOC is not set
CONFIG_SND_X86=y
CONFIG_AC97_BUS=y



Anon-E-moose wrote:
As far as which kernel is running, what does "uname -a" show?

Linux gentoo 4.14.65-gentoo-shiru #1 SMP Mon Sep 10 06:40:43 JST 2018 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

Anon-E-moose wrote:
When you rebuild the kernel, including modules, it should not leave the old ones around (for the same kernel version).

Thank you, i did it and reboot bu no change apparently.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 3208
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're still running the very first kernel you built.
Quote:
Linux gentoo 4.14.65-gentoo-shiru #1 SMP

probably why changes aren't showing.

How did you install it after you built it, and if using initrd did you rebuild it?

Edit to add: by way of explanation, every time you rebuild the kernel (for each version, that # number will increase)
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau & radeon, oss4
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
4.14.62 kernel, profile 17.0 (no-pie) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 4.9.4 & 7.3.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shiru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Oct 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose, thank you a lot for your advices and taking the time to help me. I finally get sound !
Before replying to your last message i wanted to check lots of things because i was lacking lots of basic information. Then, i finally understood : lots of kernel but just the first one was used so no effect like you said before.
But thanks to this mistake i understand how kernel works so i am glad (but i had a headache for 3 days now !).
Anyway, thanks again and sorry for my lack of knowledge and my bad english.
Sincerely from Japan.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 3208
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad you got it solved. :D
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau & radeon, oss4
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
4.14.62 kernel, profile 17.0 (no-pie) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 4.9.4 & 7.3.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum