Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
World Of Warcraft Support UPDATED 2016 Edition
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 6814

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had to change from XP to Win8.1 (didn't test anything else) else the game was keep saying "a new version of wow is there, use battle.net to update" while it was update.
I also have the two crash popup info when loading battle.net (but it seems to not care)
And i think battle.net is real slow to update its content, but i don't care about its content so it's all good :)
Also notice 32bits is gone, but could be it only install 64bits on 64bits wine maybe, the launcher is still 32bits itself (so if 32bits wow is gone, that's a dirty mix of 32 and 64 bits exe)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6737
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2018 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, welcome to the Battle for Azeroth 8.0 proper opening night.
Looks like a whole mess of minipatches being released. Once again it's get it right eventually, not get it right the first time.
Game appears to be running with the usual battle.net client problems with its "internal" web browser...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mega_flow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jun 2016
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r
Use "Battle.net.exe" instead of "Battle.net Launcher.exe"
battle.net work better this way, or start Wow without the launcher

I do get a black screen when starting Wow with the launcher. But i suspects dxvk for causing this
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6737
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2018 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Battle.net.exe and the launcher both have the same problem: neither appear to load the HTML patch notes. They both will let you press the [PLAY] button and launch the game fine.

Launcher has another problem: AFAICT system survey crashes but as it's its own thread, just that thread dies.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Page 4 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum