Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't chroot during installation no /bin/bash
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wildpjah
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Aug 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:18 pm    Post subject: Can't chroot during installation no /bin/bash Reply with quote

The exact message is "chroot: failed to run command '/bin/bash': no such file or directory"

while I'm still learning a lot, I'm sure I've followed the handbook perfectly and using ls I can see /mnt/gentoo/bin/bash exists and from searching I've found that the issue might be with lib64, which is also in /mnt/gentoo so at this point I'm completely lost.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skellr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 975
Location: The Village, Portmeirion

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd try checking the file permissions
Code:
ls -l  /mnt/gentoo/bin/bash

-rwxr-xr-x
And check for corruption
Code:
file /mnt/gentoo/bin/bash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wildpjah
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Aug 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

skellr wrote:
I'd try checking the file permissions
Code:
ls -l  /mnt/gentoo/bin/bash

-rwxr-xr-x
And check for corruption
Code:
file /mnt/gentoo/bin/bash

nothing wrong with the permissions and I'm not exactly sure what I'm looking for with the results of the file command but nothing seems out of the ordinary
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54237
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wildpjah,

Is there anything in /mnt/gentoo/dev and/or /mnt/gentoo/proc
They should both be populated.

-- edit --
bash needs
Code:
$ lddtree /bin/bash
/bin/bash (interpreter => /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2)
    libreadline.so.7 => /lib64/libreadline.so.7
        libncurses.so.6 => /lib64/libncurses.so.6
            libdl.so.2 => /lib64/libdl.so.2
    libc.so.6 => /lib64/libc.so.6
as its dynamically linked. They all need to be in the chroot.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wildpjah
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Aug 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

both directories are full of files and my bash is almost exactly the dame. The only difference is the first line also says "/usr/bin/lddtree: line 163: strings:command not found"
if that's relevant
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The exact chroot command you are executing, please.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wildpjah
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Aug 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
The exact chroot command you are executing, please.


just like in the handbook:
Code:
 chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And the relevant line from mount command output, look at it, is your Gentoo partition properly mounted at /mnt/gentoo?
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wildpjah
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Aug 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
And the relevant line from mount command output, look at it, is your Gentoo partition properly mounted at /mnt/gentoo?


yes I've double and tripple checked I followed the handbook perfectly when mounting.

Code:
 mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/gentoo


and /dev/sda4 is my root partition
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you execute /mnt/gentoo/bin/bash?
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21633

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

skellr wrote:
I'd try checking the file permissions
Permissions would not cause that error message.

wildpjah: what is the full output of ldd /bin/bash /mnt/gentoo/bin/bash ; cd /mnt/gentoo && ls -l bin/bash lib64/libreadline.so.* lib64/libc.so.* lib64/libncurses.so.* lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.*?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skellr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 975
Location: The Village, Portmeirion

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
skellr wrote:
I'd try checking the file permissions
Permissions would not cause that error message.

wildpjah: what is the full output of ldd /bin/bash /mnt/gentoo/bin/bash ; cd /mnt/gentoo && ls -l bin/bash lib64/libreadline.so.* lib64/libc.so.* lib64/libncurses.so.* lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.*?

Yes, you're right. it would give a more descriptive error at least. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skellr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 975
Location: The Village, Portmeirion

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wildpjah wrote:
Jaglover wrote:
And the relevant line from mount command output, look at it, is your Gentoo partition properly mounted at /mnt/gentoo?


yes I've double and tripple checked I followed the handbook perfectly when mounting.

Code:
 mount /dev/sda4 /mnt/gentoo


and /dev/sda4 is my root partition


Now that you've had a break. Try remounting and chroot again, everything will still be there and you can pick up where you left off. Don't give up yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum