Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Laptop sometimes freezes completly after plasma start
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AndrewAmmerlaan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 137
Location: Lent

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:10 am    Post subject: Laptop sometimes freezes completly after plasma start Reply with quote

For a while now I have been having this issue where after the plasma loading screen is gone, the screen completely turns black. No cursor, no switching to a tty.
The strange thing is this only happens *sometimes*, if I hold down the power button and try again odds are that it will work just fine. Looking at /var/log/messages, this caught my eye:
Code:

Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0: ring 0 stalled for more than 10160msec
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0: GPU lockup (current fence id 0x0000000000001ee0 last fence id 0x000000000000204f on ring 0)
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0: failed to get a new IB (-35)
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to get ib !
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0: Saved 11831 dwords of commands on ring 0.
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0: GPU softreset: 0x0000001D
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS               = 0xE5703CA0
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS_SE0           = 0xFC000007
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS_SE1           = 0x00000007
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   SRBM_STATUS               = 0x200006C0
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   SRBM_STATUS2              = 0x00000000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_008674_CP_STALLED_STAT1 = 0x01000000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_008678_CP_STALLED_STAT2 = 0x00011000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_00867C_CP_BUSY_STAT     = 0x00068402
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_008680_CP_STAT          = 0x80870243
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_00D034_DMA_STATUS_REG   = 0x44A24206
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0: GRBM_SOFT_RESET=0x00007F6B
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0: SRBM_SOFT_RESET=0x00100100
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS               = 0x00003828
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS_SE0           = 0x00000007
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS_SE1           = 0x00000007
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   SRBM_STATUS               = 0x200080C0
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   SRBM_STATUS2              = 0x00000000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_008674_CP_STALLED_STAT1 = 0x00000000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_008678_CP_STALLED_STAT2 = 0x00000000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_00867C_CP_BUSY_STAT     = 0x00000000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_008680_CP_STAT          = 0x00000000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_00D034_DMA_STATUS_REG   = 0x44C83D57
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0: GPU reset succeeded, trying to resume
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0: GPU softreset: 0x00000040
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS               = 0x00003828
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS_SE0           = 0x00000007
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS_SE1           = 0x00000007
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   SRBM_STATUS               = 0x200080C0
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   SRBM_STATUS2              = 0x00000000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_008674_CP_STALLED_STAT1 = 0x00000000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_008678_CP_STALLED_STAT2 = 0x00000000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_00867C_CP_BUSY_STAT     = 0x00000000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_008680_CP_STAT          = 0x00000000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_00D034_DMA_STATUS_REG   = 0x44C83D57
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0: SRBM_SOFT_RESET=0x00002000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS               = 0x00003828
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS_SE0           = 0x00000007
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   GRBM_STATUS_SE1           = 0x00000007
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   SRBM_STATUS               = 0x200000C0
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   SRBM_STATUS2              = 0x00000000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_008674_CP_STALLED_STAT1 = 0x00000000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_008678_CP_STALLED_STAT2 = 0x00000000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_00867C_CP_BUSY_STAT     = 0x00000000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_008680_CP_STAT          = 0x00000000
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_00D034_DMA_STATUS_REG   = 0x44C83D57
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: [drm] enabling PCIE gen 2 link speeds, disable with radeon.pcie_gen2=0
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: [drm] PCIE GART of 1024M enabled (table at 0x0000000000162000).
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0: WB enabled
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 0 use gpu addr 0x0000000080000c00 and cpu addr 0x00000000f62cb83f
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 3 use gpu addr 0x0000000080000c0c and cpu addr 0x000000000ab9c208
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0: fence driver on ring 5 use gpu addr 0x0000000000072118 and cpu addr 0x000000007d0484ac
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: [drm] ring test on 0 succeeded in 1 usecs
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: [drm] ring test on 3 succeeded in 4 usecs
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: [drm] ring test on 5 succeeded in 2 usecs
Jul 19 08:41:20 Andrew-Gentoo kernel: [drm] UVD initialized successfully.

This does not seem to happen in sessions where everything works, so I thought maybe this was related somehow. Is this a bug, or is my gpu failing? Any ideas where I might look for a solution?
_________________
OS: Gentoo KDE x86_64 (~amd64, 4.17.11-gentoo)
MB: MSI Z370-A PRO
CPU: Intel Core i7-8700K
GPU: NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB
SSD: Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
RAM: Crucial Ballistix 32GB DDR4-2400
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blind_Sniper
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The same here, tho I using Nvidia card. It appeared for first time a couple of weeks ago. I think it's related to one of the last updates.
BTW other 3 systems works properly, so I doubt it's a hardware problem (at least for me)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndrewAmmerlaan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 137
Location: Lent

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blind_Sniper wrote:
The same here, tho I using Nvidia card. It appeared for first time a couple of weeks ago. I think it's related to one of the last updates.
BTW other 3 systems works properly, so I doubt it's a hardware problem (at least for me)


Well at least it's good to know that it isn't a hardware problem, what mesa version are you using? I'm on 18.1.4, I've heard that the 18.x versions have some problems.
18.0.0 didn't work for me at all (black screen), then 18.0.x worked just fine I wouldn't be surprised if the problem is in the 18.1.x versions.

Code:

media-libs/mesa-18.1.4::gentoo was built with the following:
USE="classic dri3 egl gallium gbm llvm nptl vaapi vdpau wayland xa -bindist -d3d9 -debug -gles1 -gles2 -opencl -openmax -osmesa -pax_kernel -pic (-selinux) -unwind -valgrind -vulkan -xvmc" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" VIDEO_CARDS="r600 radeon (-freedreno) -i915 -i965 (-imx) -intel -nouveau -r100 -r200 -r300 -radeonsi (-vc4) -virgl (-vivante) -vmware"

_________________
OS: Gentoo KDE x86_64 (~amd64, 4.17.11-gentoo)
MB: MSI Z370-A PRO
CPU: Intel Core i7-8700K
GPU: NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB
SSD: Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
RAM: Crucial Ballistix 32GB DDR4-2400
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blind_Sniper
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
media-libs/mesa-17.3.9::gentoo was built with the following:
USE="classic dri3 egl gbm wayland -bindist -d3d9 -debug -gallium -gles1 -gles2 -llvm -nptl -opencl -openmax -osmesa -pax_kernel -pic (-selinux) -unwind -vaapi -valgrind -vdpau -vulkan -xa -xvmc" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" VIDEO_CARDS="(-freedreno) -i915 -i965 (-imx) -intel -nouveau -r100 -r200 -r300 -r600 -radeon -radeonsi (-vc4) -virgl (-vivante) -vmware"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndrewAmmerlaan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 137
Location: Lent

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright so it's not mesa then, how about these:

Code:

x11-base/xorg-server-1.20.0::gentoo was built with the following:
USE="glamor ipv6 udev xorg -debug -dmx -doc -kdrive -libressl -minimal (-selinux) -static-libs -systemd -unwind -wayland -xcsecurity -xephyr -xnest -xvfb" ABI_X86="(64)"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed -Wl,-z,lazy"

kde-plasma/plasma-meta-5.13.3::gentoo was built with the following:
USE="bluetooth browser-integration crypt display-manager grub gtk handbook legacy-systray networkmanager pam pulseaudio sddm wallpapers -plymouth -sdk" ABI_X86="(64)"

kde-plasma/plasma-desktop-5.13.3::gentoo was built with the following:
USE="fontconfig handbook mouse pulseaudio semantic-desktop touchpad -appstream -debug -ibus -scim -test" ABI_X86="(64)"

x11-libs/libdrm-2.4.92::gentoo was built with the following:
USE="libkms -valgrind" ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" VIDEO_CARDS="radeon -amdgpu (-exynos) (-freedreno) -intel -nouveau (-omap) (-tegra) (-vc4) (-vivante) -vmware"


If we can figure out what is identical between our two systems we might get a clue as to where the problem is.

Also are you on a laptop or pc? Because this seems to happen every time I plug in the charger sometime during boot. Then It turns black after the plasma boot screen, and then I press the power button to try again. The one difference with the second time I boot is that the charger is always already in, and then it works.
I'll try to put the charger in first, before I boot up my system tomorrow and see what happens.
_________________
OS: Gentoo KDE x86_64 (~amd64, 4.17.11-gentoo)
MB: MSI Z370-A PRO
CPU: Intel Core i7-8700K
GPU: NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB
SSD: Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
RAM: Crucial Ballistix 32GB DDR4-2400
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2519
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get the same thing, but I'm using intel video on a thinkpad x1

I don't get a completely black screen, but a single tiny white dash
or underline in the upper left of the screen (like a non-blinking cursor).

It happens maybe 5-10% of boots and I can see no pattern in when it happens.
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blind_Sniper
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Apr 2018
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xorg-server differs too:
Code:
11-base/xorg-server-1.19.5-r2::gentoo


Yesterday and today I did see any freeze. May be recent update fixed an issue? I installed last QT 5.9.6 packages yesterday
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndrewAmmerlaan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 137
Location: Lent

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think it's qt related, I am currently on 5.11.1. And I'm pretty sure I was using 5.9.6 before this problem first appeared. I'll update asap and see if the problem goes away for me as well.
_________________
OS: Gentoo KDE x86_64 (~amd64, 4.17.11-gentoo)
MB: MSI Z370-A PRO
CPU: Intel Core i7-8700K
GPU: NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB
SSD: Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
RAM: Crucial Ballistix 32GB DDR4-2400
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndrewAmmerlaan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 137
Location: Lent

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I found out what the problem is exactly: So I have this secondary monitor which I sometimes use. When I'm done using it I disconnect it, but when I then reboot the system I get this black screen issue. However if I run xrandr after I disconnect the monitor it updates the current monitor settings to only use my laptop screen. If I do this before a restart I don't get a black screen.

Here's my hypothesis, If a monitor was connected before restart, and that monitor is no longer connected after the restart. Plasma/KDE tries to restore the windows that were on the second monitor, but then it gets confused as that monitor is no longer there which somehow causes the whole thing to stop and give a black screen.
Possible workarounds:
Make sure the monitor configuration does not change over reboots
Always disconnect all monitors before restart and update configuration accordingly (either run xrandr, or go to kde systemsettings subsection displays)
Disable session restore (haven't tried this yet, but it might work as well EDIT: nope, doesn't work)

Does this solve your problems too?

I'll do some more experimenting, and if all findings are consistent with the above I'll file a bugreport.
_________________
OS: Gentoo KDE x86_64 (~amd64, 4.17.11-gentoo)
MB: MSI Z370-A PRO
CPU: Intel Core i7-8700K
GPU: NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB
SSD: Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
RAM: Crucial Ballistix 32GB DDR4-2400
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
houtworm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 352
Location: Den Haag, Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had this problem too. It started a few months ago that i had a black screen in kde, so I installed lxde
And today I realized that perhaps the external monitor worked and it did!
And now there are some keys on my laptop keyboard: fn -> f4
..to switch monitors. On the screen appeared a selection, only the laptop screen, only the external screen, both screens,..
That did the trick, problem solved :-)
_________________
niemand is onbekwamer, dan een timmerman zonder hamer

Kees
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndrewAmmerlaan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 137
Location: Lent

PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So turns out it was the hardware after all. Last week (sunday) it decided to quit working completely (the screen froze). And ever since it will sometimes work for ~7 minutes (or not at all) and then the screen would (turn black)/freeze/(get corrupted) (or sometimes all three).
It works just fine, as long as I don't startx. Therefore I'm pretty sure the problem is with the GPU. And since the GPU is not easily removable from the motherboard I can't fix it. Toshiba was no help at all, their customer service might as well be non-existent :x So I decided to get a new machine instead (an upgrade was due anyway), and salvage as many working comments as I can. I'm currently re-installing gentoo on my new pc, second time is a lot easier then the first :)
_________________
OS: Gentoo KDE x86_64 (~amd64, 4.17.11-gentoo)
MB: MSI Z370-A PRO
CPU: Intel Core i7-8700K
GPU: NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB
SSD: Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
RAM: Crucial Ballistix 32GB DDR4-2400
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum