Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
alsamixer: cannot open mixer: No such file or directory
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
acidunit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2018
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2018 11:07 pm    Post subject: alsamixer: cannot open mixer: No such file or directory Reply with quote

ls /dev | grep mixer returns nothing. ls /dev/snd/control* returns nothing. cat /proc/asound/cards returns "--- no soundcards ---". My user is a part of the audio group. It doesn't work as root.

I've been trying to fix this for over an hour now, can anyone help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7470

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2018 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fixing sound is generally easy, but do takes times as we will drive you and wait for your answers. This to say, because it really sucks to not have sound, you may wish ask help in irc, you'll get a more living question/answer and quicker solve.

in case you could wait, here's the things to check.

infos from dmesg
Code:
dmesg | grep "snd\|sound" -i


identify the card module (if your kernel cannot output this, use a livecd), should be snd_hda_intel, but you might have other too.
Code:
lspci -k | grep Audio -A4


identify the card codec
Code:
head -1 /proc/asound/card*/codec*


verify kernel (because nearly everyone own a card that use SND_HDA), correct answer is mostly everything set as module or buildin
Code:
grep SND_HDA /usr/src/linux/.config

please make sure the right kernel parameters are set, lacking them is the logical result of your "no soundcards"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acidunit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2018
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

krinn wrote:
fixing sound is generally easy, but do takes times as we will drive you and wait for your answers. This to say, because it really sucks to not have sound, you may wish ask help in irc, you'll get a more living question/answer and quicker solve.

in case you could wait, here's the things to check.

infos from dmesg
Code:
dmesg | grep "snd\|sound" -i


identify the card module (if your kernel cannot output this, use a livecd), should be snd_hda_intel, but you might have other too.
Code:
lspci -k | grep Audio -A4


identify the card codec
Code:
head -1 /proc/asound/card*/codec*


verify kernel (because nearly everyone own a card that use SND_HDA), correct answer is mostly everything set as module or buildin
Code:
grep SND_HDA /usr/src/linux/.config

please make sure the right kernel parameters are set, lacking them is the logical result of your "no soundcards"


"dmesg | grep "snd\|sound" -i" returns "No soundcards found" after the ALSA driver initializes.

"lspci -k | grep Audio -A4" returns a valid audio device.

"head -1 /proc/asound/card*/codec*" returns "cannot open '/proc/asound/card*/codec*' for reading: No such file or directory"

"grep SND_HDA /usr/src/linux/.config" retrns CONFIG_SND_HDA=y.

I'm not sure how to check the kernel parameters, as the Archwiki guide does not work for me on all installations of GRUB I have used :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need correct driver enabled in kernel, then the device nodes will appear in /dev/.
My conf as an example, I have Realtek sound chip and also I want HDMI sound.
Code:
CONFIG_SND_HDA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054 is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=512

_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acidunit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2018
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
You need correct driver enabled in kernel, then the device nodes will appear in /dev/.
My conf as an example, I have Realtek sound chip and also I want HDMI sound.
Code:
CONFIG_SND_HDA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132 is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054 is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CORE=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_I915=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=512


How do I enable HDMI in the menuconfig? What options are it under?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ali3nx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 722
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's four screenshots displaying the proper and correctly configured modular menuconfig setup for alsa. adjust your HD audio chipset driver as required. HDMI/Displayport support is also enabled.

Also note the pre-allocated HD audio buffer size is configured as recommended to 2 MB

https://i.imgur.com/9A3KECC.png
https://i.imgur.com/e6gO2Tw.png
https://i.imgur.com/9H9TocU.png
https://i.imgur.com/xZV7q5r.png

It's important and beneficial with alsa to use a modular kernel config as more often than not if you compile the entire alsa subsystem into the kernel binary alsa will not function properly.
_________________
Compiling Gentoo since version 1.4
Thousands of Gentoo Installs Completed
Emerged on every continent but Antarctica
Compile long and Prosper!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acidunit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2018
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ali3nx wrote:
Here's four screenshots displaying the proper and correctly configured modular menuconfig setup for alsa. adjust your HD audio chipset driver as required. HDMI/Displayport support is also enabled.

Also note the pre-allocated HD audio buffer size is configured as recommended to 2 MB

https://i.imgur.com/9A3KECC.png
https://i.imgur.com/e6gO2Tw.png
https://i.imgur.com/9H9TocU.png
https://i.imgur.com/xZV7q5r.png

It's important and beneficial with alsa to use a modular kernel config as more often than not if you compile the entire alsa subsystem into the kernel binary alsa will not function properly.


Thanks, I'll try this now and see if it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acidunit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2018
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ali3nx wrote:
Here's four screenshots displaying the proper and correctly configured modular menuconfig setup for alsa. adjust your HD audio chipset driver as required. HDMI/Displayport support is also enabled.

Also note the pre-allocated HD audio buffer size is configured as recommended to 2 MB

https://i.imgur.com/9A3KECC.png
https://i.imgur.com/e6gO2Tw.png
https://i.imgur.com/9H9TocU.png
https://i.imgur.com/xZV7q5r.png

It's important and beneficial with alsa to use a modular kernel config as more often than not if you compile the entire alsa subsystem into the kernel binary alsa will not function properly.


It worked! Thank you, you absolute genius!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ali3nx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 722
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

acidunit wrote:
ali3nx wrote:
Here's four screenshots displaying the proper and correctly configured modular menuconfig setup for alsa. adjust your HD audio chipset driver as required. HDMI/Displayport support is also enabled.

Also note the pre-allocated HD audio buffer size is configured as recommended to 2 MB

https://i.imgur.com/9A3KECC.png
https://i.imgur.com/e6gO2Tw.png
https://i.imgur.com/9H9TocU.png
https://i.imgur.com/xZV7q5r.png

It's important and beneficial with alsa to use a modular kernel config as more often than not if you compile the entire alsa subsystem into the kernel binary alsa will not function properly.


It worked! Thank you, you absolute genius!


Your welcome :)
_________________
Compiling Gentoo since version 1.4
Thousands of Gentoo Installs Completed
Emerged on every continent but Antarctica
Compile long and Prosper!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum