Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
xfce4 - seperate workspaces for each display [SOLVED kindof]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zucca
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 1560
Location: KUUSANKOSKI, Finland

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 10:52 am    Post subject: xfce4 - seperate workspaces for each display [SOLVED kindof] Reply with quote

I have been using i3 for quite a long time but also I've been using most of the xfce stuff. Lately I fully switched to xfce4.
The problem I'm having is when I change the workspace it changes on all displays. This wasn't the case with i3 (on default configs at least. Does xfwm4 have this capability?
Yes. I could tweak the configs and use i3 as my xfce4 window manager, which is an option I consider. But now I want just to see how well xfwm4 can fill my needs.
It almost fills every part... Being unable to tile windows horizontaly (top, bottom) is one minor complaint. But this workspace behaviour is a major one. I've tried to cope with it, but I was slowly becomming crazy. Now I'm using only one display output.

tl;dr;: I want to have seperate workspaces for each display output, so that when switching a workspace on one display doesn't cause workspace swithing to happen on other displays.
_________________
..: Zucca :..

Code:
ERROR: '--failure' is not an option. Aborting...


Last edited by Zucca on Fri Jun 22, 2018 12:54 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 22326
Location: here

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

With xfwm isn't possible -> https://bugzilla.xfce.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13634 .

https://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?id=9319
https://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?id=11719
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zucca
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 1560
Location: KUUSANKOSKI, Finland

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the fast reply.
I guess I then start on tweaking i3 to work with xfce. ;)
_________________
..: Zucca :..

Code:
ERROR: '--failure' is not an option. Aborting...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zucca
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 1560
Location: KUUSANKOSKI, Finland

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm now back with tinkering with this xfce+i3 setup.
I have succesfully managed to replace xfwm4 with i3. Now the problem is xfdesktop being shown as a window in i3.

Whatever I try to do to close xfdesktop ... the whole session goes with it.
I wouldn't like to tell i3 just to hide xfdesktop window, since it kind of circumvents the problem.
Anyone have experience replaceing xfwm with some other wm?
_________________
..: Zucca :..

Code:
ERROR: '--failure' is not an option. Aborting...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum