Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Reccos for new wireless bridge with eth ports
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6271
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reccos for new wireless bridge with eth ports Reply with quote

I need to replace an old Linksys I've been using as a wireless bridge to my cable modem/router to connect other computers via ethernet. I need all four ports on the Linksys and some of them are dead now.

I'm looking for recommendations on an inexpensive replacement. I just need to wirelessly bridge to my cable modem/router and use the bridge's ethernet ports.

If I can bridge using my cable modem/router's 5G, that would be great, but it's not a deal-breaker.

EDIT:

My local Best Buy has an AC1900 in stock. The online manual for it details using it for exactly this purpose. Any comments on this model?
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1606
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to clarify what you're trying to do. If I can't understand it, there are probably others who can't either. What you've described is connecting two wired networks via WiFi. Since that's an unlikely need, I am assuming I misunderstand. Since I misunderstand, I suggest you clarify.
_________________
patrix_neo wrote:
The human thought: I cannot win.
The ratbrain in me : I can only go forward and that's it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marcih
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Feb 2018
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2018 6:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bones McCracker wrote:
You need to clarify what you're trying to do. If I can't understand it, there are probably others who can't either. What you've described is connecting two wired networks via WiFi. Since that's an unlikely need, I am assuming I misunderstand. Since I misunderstand, I suggest you clarify.

I think you understood correctly. Think something like this but a dedicated router to do the job because he needs to have wired network ports on it. In which case I'd probably recommend getting a network switch and connecting it to one of the still-working ports on your LinkSys. If you're happy with it then try to get as much out of it as you can; I always found anything to do with the magic Wi of the Fi to be very much hit&miss whereas switches are cheap and even the low-end stuff tends to be fairly reliable.
_________________
Bones McCracker wrote:
It wouldn't be so bad, if it didn't suck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erm67
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 238
Location: Where the black men cannot enter

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2018 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Buy a nice, regular managed switch with jumbo frames and all whistle and bells than buy an ubiquity AP and and set it up as wireless uplink, the best possible setup.

https://help.ubnt.com/hc/en-us/articles/115002262328-UniFi-Feature-Guide-Wireless-Uplink
_________________
True ignorance is not the absence of knowledge, but the refusal to acquire it.
A posse ad esse non valet consequentia
Πάντα ῥεῖ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
R0b0t1
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jun 2008
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://www.pcengines.ch/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6271
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the replies. I went with a Netgear AC1750. It has a built-in wireless bridge mode, which connects to my primary modem/router via 5G. I can then use the 1750's eth ports to plug into my home network's wired network. This connects my computers upstairs and downstairs without the need for a mega-long cable going from my primary router to the wireless bridge. (I hate doing that.)
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum