Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo won't boot on Dell Inspiron 3000
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MajorPilgrimm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Posts: 2
Location: Washington

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 1:07 am    Post subject: Gentoo won't boot on Dell Inspiron 3000 Reply with quote

First off, hi folks!
I've been using Arch for about a month and I decided to make the jump to Gentoo (which is what I was originally planning on going for, but it seemed daunting). I installed it on an old i686 machine and found myself loving the complexity of how it's installed, so I decided to install it on my laptop and replace Arch altogether.

Everything seemed to go well but upon bootup via GRUB, I'm able to select it, OpenRC boots and seems to be fine, but video output just starts hanging after a certain period of time. Usually it hangs around the point where it clears the /tmp directory; anyone know what's going on? I don't know if it's a kernel issue (I used genkernel if that's important); if anyone has the solution I'd love to hear it. I'm using a Dell Inspiron 3000 with an AMD A6 processor.
Thanks, great to be here!! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
russK
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jun 2006
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You say, "video output just starts hanging", was it trying to start graphical environment? (i.e., if you installed gnome or plasma or whatever)
I'm guessing the laptop has an Intel based graphics? Did you see this wiki page?: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Intel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MajorPilgrimm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Posts: 2
Location: Washington

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

russK wrote:
You say, "video output just starts hanging", was it trying to start graphical environment? (i.e., if you installed gnome or plasma or whatever)
I'm guessing the laptop has an Intel based graphics? Did you see this wiki page?: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Intel

I haven't been able to boot into Gentoo at all; OpenRC hangs as it's trying to boot. In order to access the system itself I have to chroot into it via installation media.

I managed to do some sysrq combinations at the right time and I got a more verbose output from the kernel.
/var/log/syslog:
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.330792] [drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.330861] checking generic (c0000000 420000) vs hw (c0000000 10000000)
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.330862] fb: switching to radeondrmfb from EFI VGA
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.330985] Console: switching to colour dummy device 80x25
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.331610] [drm] initializing kernel modesetting (MULLINS 0x1002:0x9851 0x1028:0x0657 0x00).
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.331639] [drm] register mmio base: 0xFE700000
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.331641] [drm] register mmio size: 262144
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.331646] [drm] doorbell mmio base: 0xD0000000
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.331647] [drm] doorbell mmio size: 8388608
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.331724] ATOM BIOS: AMD
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.331841] radeon 0000:00:01.0: VRAM: 1024M 0x0000000000000000 - 0x000000003FFFFFFF (1024M used)
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.331844] radeon 0000:00:01.0: GTT: 2048M 0x0000000040000000 - 0x00000000BFFFFFFF
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.331849] [drm] Detected VRAM RAM=1024M, BAR=256M
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.331850] [drm] RAM width 128bits DDR
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.331957] [TTM] Zone  kernel: Available graphics memory: 3530424 kiB
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.331958] [TTM] Zone   dma32: Available graphics memory: 2097152 kiB
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.331959] [TTM] Initializing pool allocator
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.331966] [TTM] Initializing DMA pool allocator
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.332004] [drm] radeon: 1024M of VRAM memory ready
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.332005] [drm] radeon: 2048M of GTT memory ready.
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.332025] [drm] Loading mullins Microcode
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.363070] radeon 0000:00:01.0: Direct firmware load for radeon/mullins_pfp.bin failed with erro$
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.363096] radeon 0000:00:01.0: Direct firmware load for radeon/MULLINS_pfp.bin failed with erro$
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.363098] cik_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/MULLINS_pfp.bin"
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.363163] [drm:cik_init [radeon]] *ERROR* Failed to load firmware!
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.363166] radeon 0000:00:01.0: Fatal error during GPU init
Jun 13 10:39:19 localhost kernel: [   23.363170] [drm] radeon: finishing device.


It freezes around "fb: switching to radeondrmfb from EFI VGA", so it's got to be a Radeon issue, yeah?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
russK
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jun 2006
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right, OK not Intel, it's Radeon. I don't have one of those so my experience with Radeon pretty thin.

Did you determine which firmware? Or is it picking one automatically?

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon

HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum