[SOLVED] USE Flags question
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
johngalt
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 8:49 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] USE Flags question Reply with quote

A little background:

My last foray into Gentoo was back in 2006, migrating from a 'standard' stage 1/3 install of Gentoo on my (then old) Pentium 200 box to a project here called Jackass (no joke - see https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-378425-highlight-.html )

Since then, I started playing with windows again, and only kept a basic *nix distro running via VMs, first VirtualBox, then with WinX using Hyper-V.

I'm now building a complete Gentoo install on an old laptop I haven't used in quite some time, recycling it for my father (75+) to use daily.

I've been doing a lot of reading in the last couple of weeks to work on this, and started posting back here in the forums a week ago, but with only basic things - mostly it's been going well.

But USE flags - yeah, the bane of my existence. I can compile kernels all I want (it's all relatively straight forward), but USE flags get me.

My understanding is that, from previous experience, memory and what I've read in all the different pages I've researched on them (including the wiki pages here, the handbook, and other pages here and elsewhere, that the ones listed in /etc/portage/make.conf are to be the bare minimum flags necessary to have a working system, correct?

Since I want a graphical system at all times, I need X. In order to use sound on the laptop, I need alsa. For printing, CUPS should suffice. Maybe a few others from the list @ https://www.gentoo.org/support/use-flags/#globalthat I need based upon the X page @ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xorg/Guide#make.conf and XFCE pages @ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xfce/Guide and https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xfce#Installation.