Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Migratin to python3_6, sci-libs/scipy will not build[solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jserink
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 898

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 7:28 am    Post subject: Migratin to python3_6, sci-libs/scipy will not build[solved] Reply with quote

Hi All:

After reading the news item on the upcoming move to python 3_6 I decided to move over in advance since I'd already been building python 3_6 as a fallback for some months.
The only thing that broke was scipy. To get it to build I had to do this in the package.use file:
Code:
dev-python/pillow jpeg2k tk webp python_targets_python3_5
>=dev-python/certifi-2017.4.17 python_targets_python3_5
dev-python/setuptools python_targets_python3_5
>=sci-libs/scipy-0.16.1 sparse python_targets_python3_5
>=dev-python/numpy-1.10.4 lapack python_targets_python3_5
>=dev-python/cython-0.25.2 python_targets_python3_5
dev-python/bottleneck python_targets_python3_5


So until scipy is sorted, I can't dump python 3.5. Not that big a deal but this tip might save others some time and frustration.

Cheers,
John

[Moderator edit: added [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
figueroa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Aug 2005
Posts: 354
Location: GA-USA

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Regarding the 5/22 news item "Python 3.6 to become the default target"

I found that to be a sufficiently cryptic news item. I have no python targets set, preferring to let portage sort it out. At one time that was a recommendation somewhere and my systems are stable and everything seems to work just fine.

When I enter eselect python list I get:
Code:
Available Python interpreters, in order of preference:
  [1]   python3.4
  [2]   python3.6 (fallback)
  [3]   python3.5 (fallback)
  [4]   python2.7 (fallback)


Is that sane? SHOULD I do anything? Will portage continue to sorting this out for me?

[Moderator edit: changed [quote] tags to [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu]
_________________
Andy Figueroa
andy@andyfigueroa.net Working with Unix since 1983.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Faraclas
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Dec 2014
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same issue. It doesn't seem like this is actually solved until scipy can build with the python 3.6 use flag.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6506
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2018 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's a wrong assumption, unless scipy really fails to build. If it just lacks python3_6 compatibility, then this will be compensated by a python3_5 entry in the default profile so that scipy's (and others' deps) are being fulfilled.

EDIT: I see that sci-libs/scipy does list python3_6 in available PYTHON_TARGETS. Please check if you hit one of the several existing bugs: https://bugs.gentoo.org/buglist.cgi?quicksearch=sci-libs%2Fscipy&list_id=3943374
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slackline
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 1403
Location: /uk/sheffield

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Faraclas wrote:
I'm having the same issue. It doesn't seem like this is actually solved until scipy can build with the python 3.6 use flag.


On the back of @figueroa's post I decided to try explicitly setting python3.6 with eselect python in the hope that it would resolve a similar problem with dev-python/bottleneck (see #650688). It worked for me so perhaps something to try...

Code:

eselect python set <whatever number python3.6 is listed as>

_________________
"Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer.  Art is everything else we do." - Donald Knuth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5444
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

$ py
Python 3.6.5 (default, Apr 28 2018, 09:55:33)
[GCC 7.3.0] on linux
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> import scipy
>>> dir(scipy)
['ALLOW_THREADS', 'AxisError', 'BUFSIZE', 'CLIP', 'ComplexWarning', 'DataSource', 'ERR_CALL', 'ERR_DEFAULT', 'ERR_IGNORE', 'ERR_LOG', 'ERR_PRINT', 'ERR_RAISE', 'ERR_WARN', 'FLOATING_POINT_SUPPORT', 'FPE_DIVIDEBYZERO', 'FPE_INVALID', 'FPE_OVERFLOW', 'FPE_UNDERFLOW', 'False_', 'I


so scipy does build against py36 so the question then is ...why doesn't it for you.

can you post the output when it fails as you have only posted the masking not the failure
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum