Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Cannot proceed with installation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
The_Document
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Feb 2018
Posts: 275

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2018 3:43 am    Post subject: [Solved] Cannot proceed with installation Reply with quote

Doing new install and I cannot proceed since every time I emerge @world it gives me this load:
http://dpaste.com/0NR1MYG

which makes no sense because the world file is empty

emerge --info
http://dpaste.com/2V6W86D

Code:
echo $prefix
or
Code:
portageq envvar PREFIX
returns nothing but a blank line. Profile is set to 19 kde plasma stable. I had the same issue twice, after struggling with it the first time I just wiped root partition and started over from stage 3 agian but the issue persists.

Last edited by The_Document on Tue May 22, 2018 10:30 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54209
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2018 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Document,

Your world file may be empty but the world set implicitly includes the system set.
The system set is those packages which are always assumed to be installed.
This breaks lots of circular dependencies and saves ebuilds listing system set things in their DEPENDS.

Lots of system set packages have optional dependencies controlled by USE flags. Many of these options are off is the stage3 tarball.
Selecting the default/linux/amd64/17.0/desktop/plasma profile flips a lot of USE flags.

As your world file is empty, what you are seeing is the updates due to the system set having moved on and the effect that all the changed USE flags are having because of your profile.

That's the why/how.

Code:
>>> Running pre-merge checks for sys-libs/libomp-5.0.1
 * ERROR: sys-libs/libomp-5.0.1::gentoo failed (pretend phase):
 *   ${PREFIX} has been removed and is a no-op now

Says that ${PREFIX} is being set in the environment somewhere. I'll guess its something left over from the stage build process.
Check /etc/portage/* and check the environment set by your profile.

Search bugs.gentoo.org. If its a profile problem, emerge --sync may fix it.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The_Document
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Feb 2018
Posts: 275

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2018 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Somehow I missed the variable, it was set to /usr, I unset it and everything works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21586

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

$prefix and $PREFIX are not the same. This is not Windows.
Code:
$ (foo=1; FOO=2; echo $foo; echo $FOO)
1
2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum