Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] SDDM, keyboard not working. Plasma not running.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gangstervano
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 11:22 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] SDDM, keyboard not working. Plasma not running. Reply with quote

Hi,

For a week now I've been trying to launch Plasma.

SDDM was first started. The mouse and keyboard worked, but Plasma did not running.
You input the password and everything freezes, for a few seconds.
Then it becomes unfreezes, but Plasma did not running.
If you enter an incorrect password, SDDM says "login failed".

After that I to switch to lightDM, but at startup the keyboard and mouse did not working.
Returned back to SDDM, but the keyboard and mouse also does not work.


.config
make.conf
world
Xorg.0.log
/etc/conf.d/xdm

I'm using the AMDGPU driver.

I do not know what to do anymore :(


Last edited by gangstervano on Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 42822
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gangstervano,

Lets fix your Xorg first.
Code:
[   270.761] (--) PCI:*(0:1:0:0) 1002:6819:1043:042c rev 0, Mem @ 0xe0000000/268435456, 0xf7e00000/262144, I/O @ 0x0000e000/256, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072
says you have a Radeon HD 7850 / R7 265 / R9 270 1024SP card.

Xorg shows that the preferred drivers are
Code:
[   270.783] (==) Matched radeon as autoconfigured driver 0
[   270.783] (==) Matched ati as autoconfigured driver 1
[   270.783] (==) Matched ati as autoconfigured driver 2
[   270.783] (==) Matched modesetting as autoconfigured driver 3
[   270.783] (==) Matched fbdev as autoconfigured driver 4
[   270.783] (==) Matched vesa as autoconfigured driver 5

but it does not exist
Code:
[   270.783] (II) LoadModule: "radeon"
[   270.793] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module radeon
[   270.793] (II) UnloadModule: "radeon"
[   270.793] (II) Unloading radeon
[   270.793] (EE) Failed to load module "radeon" (module does not exist, 0)

Xorg falls back to the modesetting driver which has no graphics acceleration at all. Some shiny desktops require 3D acceleration.

In make.conf you have
Code:
VIDEO_CARDS="amdgpu radeonsi"
but not radeon, which is what Xorg wants to use.
You did have
Code:
#VIDEO_CARDS="radeon"
but its commented out.

Code:
FEATURES="ccache"
is only useful on packages where its known to work and that you are developing.
It leads to a lot of hard to find problems.

It looks like you have that hard bit right. Thats
Code:
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="radeon/pitcairn_ce.bin radeon/pitcairn_mc.bin radeon/pitcairn_me.bin radeon/pitcairn_pfp.bin radeon/pitcairn_rlc.bin radeon/pitcairn_smc.bin radeon/pitcairn_k_smc.bin radeon/TAHITI_uvd.bin radeon/TAHITI_vce.bin"
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware"


Fix your VIDEO_CARDS, just add in radeon and rebuild everything that affects.
When Xorg is using the radeon driver, we can look at the next problem, if there is one.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gangstervano
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem with the disabled mouse and keyboard was solved by reinstalling the drivers:
Code:
emerge -av $(qlist -IC x11-drivers)



The problem with starting the plasma was in access rights, namely there was an error in Xorg.0.log:
Code:
[21:33:59.345] (WW) HELPER: Could not open stderr to "/home/<user>/.local/share/sddm/xorg-session.log"


In /home/<user>/.local/share/sddm/xorg-session.log

Code:
mkdir: невозможно создать каталог «/home/<user>/.config»: Permission denied
/usr/bin/startplasmacompositor: строка 29: /home/<user>/.config/startupconfigkeys: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/startplasmacompositor: строка 40: /home/<user>/.config/plasma-localerc: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/startplasmacompositor: строка 56: /home/<user>/.config/kdeglobals: No such file or directory
QFSFileEngine::open: No file name specified
/usr/bin/startplasmacompositor: строка 126: test: : ожидается целочисленное выражение
startplasmacompositor: Starting up...
This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platform plugin "wayland-org.kde.kwin.qpa"
in "".


Removed the user and created a new one. Plasma began running.

Now I'm writing from Plasma.

Thanks to all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum