To go 64 or not?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
taveren
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2004 7:04 pm    Post subject: To go 64 or not? Reply with quote

Its high time I upgraded my aged TBird 1.33Ghz machine. I'm seriously considering a AMD64 3000+ but I"m a little worried/curious about what I actually get for my money. I've read through some of the forums here and noticed some apps don't compile, and there are a handful of hoops here and there. What if I compile everything in 32bit, do I still get great performance? Can I mix 64 and 32 on the same install? How is 64bit support coming along? Would an XP processor be a better investment, or perhaps an HT enabled P4?

I'm not a developer, more of a power user. Games, MP3/movie encoding, lots and lots of compiling are my normal uses.
ballyn
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2004 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I personally opted for the amd64 3000+. The XP at the same price point has similar, if a little worse, performance marks in a pure 32-bit env. so I see it as buying for the future. Plus, you get to beta test all that great 64-bit stuff if that's your thing.

You can safely run a normal 32-bit OS on this hardware. WinXP-32 runs fine and is faster in most benchmarks than a similarly clocked AthlonXP. If you want to go 64-bit, you've got Gentoo on amd64 and beta versions of Server2003 and XP--but I wouldn't suggest any of these for a production environment. I currently boot Gentoo-64 as my primary desktop OS, and use a few 32-bit applications (openoffice-bin, e.g.) without any problems. I also have WinXP-32 on another partition (mostly for gaming and benchmarking).