Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
"subpixel rendering broken in electron with freetype >2.8"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
papu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 584
Location: Sota algun pi o alzina...

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 12:49 am    Post subject: "subpixel rendering broken in electron with freetype &g Reply with quote

hi all, i not undesntand what thing happen whith fonts on de editor's part of this program in my plasma gentoo
on antergos fonts are ok.
any ideas?

https://i.imgur.com/8tNUmCD.png

https://i.imgur.com/SeNWRnh.png

Code:
 ~ $ eselect fontconfig list
Available fontconfig .conf files (* is enabled):
  [1]   10-autohint.conf
  [2]   10-hinting-full.conf
  [3]   10-hinting-medium.conf
  [4]   10-hinting-none.conf
  [5]   10-hinting-slight.conf
  [6]   10-no-sub-pixel.conf
  [7]   10-scale-bitmap-fonts.conf
  [8]   10-sub-pixel-bgr.conf
  [9]   10-sub-pixel-rgb.conf *
  [10]  10-sub-pixel-vbgr.conf
  [11]  10-sub-pixel-vrgb.conf
  [12]  10-unhinted.conf
  [13]  11-lcdfilter-default.conf *
  [14]  11-lcdfilter-legacy.conf
  [15]  11-lcdfilter-light.conf
  [16]  20-unhint-small-dejavu-sans.conf *
  [17]  20-unhint-small-dejavu-sans-mono.conf *
  [18]  20-unhint-small-dejavu-serif.conf *
  [19]  20-unhint-small-vera.conf *
  [20]  25-unhint-nonlatin.conf
  [21]  30-metric-aliases.conf *
  [22]  40-nonlatin.conf *
  [23]  45-generic.conf *
  [24]  45-latin.conf *
  [25]  49-sansserif.conf *
  [26]  50-user.conf *
  [27]  51-local.conf *
  [28]  57-dejavu-sans.conf *
  [29]  57-dejavu-sans-mono.conf *
  [30]  57-dejavu-serif.conf *
  [31]  59-google-droid-sans.conf *
  [32]  59-google-droid-sans-mono.conf *
  [33]  59-google-droid-serif.conf *
  [34]  60-generic.conf *
  [35]  60-latin.conf *
  [36]  60-liberation.conf *
  [37]  62-croscore-arimo.conf *
  [38]  62-croscore-cousine.conf *
  [39]  62-croscore-symbolneu.conf *
  [40]  62-croscore-tinos.conf *
  [41]  65-fonts-persian.conf *
  [42]  65-khmer.conf
  [43]  65-nonlatin.conf *
  [44]  69-unifont.conf *
  [45]  70-no-bitmaps.conf *
  [46]  70-yes-bitmaps.conf
  [47]  80-delicious.conf *
  [48]  90-roboto-regular.conf *
  [49]  90-synthetic.conf *

_________________
--Intel i5 6600 --GA-Z170-HD3P --Ripjaws V 2x8 2400 --Radeon RX 470 G1 4G --Gentoo & Windows


Last edited by papu on Sun Apr 08, 2018 10:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5086

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's because it's an outdated electron app, using a broken bundled copy of chromium that doesn't work correctly with newer versions of freetype.

bug 631502
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 584
Location: Sota algun pi o alzina...

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
It's because it's an outdated electron app, using a broken bundled copy of chromium that doesn't work correctly with newer versions of freetype.

bug 631502


ah ok that is the problem hehe.

does electron app use chromium? i had no idea about this.

thanks :o
_________________
--Intel i5 6600 --GA-Z170-HD3P --Ripjaws V 2x8 2400 --Radeon RX 470 G1 4G --Gentoo & Windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 5086

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They all do, that's what electron is - just a web browser with the controls removed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 1529
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Portage & Programming to Unsupported Software.

Since 'Visual Studio Code' can't be found in Portage, this fits better here.
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1056
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The title is misleading. This isn't a problem with "Visual Studio Code," but rather a bug in electron. The electron issue page is here (note that there doesn't seem to have been any activity on this since January).

I'd suggest OP change the title so others (myself included) can find this better. On my system, this affects the app version of Discord, and also the atom text editor.

That issue page suggests a patch is upstream; is there any way to move that patch into portage? Or manually patch the relevant ebuild?

Cheers,

EE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 584
Location: Sota algun pi o alzina...

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i am moved to sublime text :) sorry for the tittle i am not fluence in english.
_________________
--Intel i5 6600 --GA-Z170-HD3P --Ripjaws V 2x8 2400 --Radeon RX 470 G1 4G --Gentoo & Windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1056
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what I mean is to change the title to something like "subpixel rendering broken in electron with freetype >2.8", since that's what the actual problem is. Visual Studio is just an innocent bystander.

I'm installing electron from the atom layman overlay; hopefully that will fix the issue for me. I'll report back in a bit.

Cheers,

EE
update: the overlay sorta fixed freetype rendering, but not really. More problematic, though, is that atom is busted. I'll post to the github page for that, though, and not hijack this thread.
update2: check that, atom's fine, and text rendering there is much nicer looking. so the atom overlay, with newer electron than portage main, might help you as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum