[SOlVED] How would be a minimal setup for a vm webserver
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
vcmota
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:31 pm    Post subject: [SOlVED] How would be a minimal setup for a vm webserver Reply with quote

I wanna setup a virtual machine inside one of my physical machines to be a server for my personal website. I have never done that before, but I have been reading a lot about it for some time. Since this is all new to me, my major concern is securiy, and this is why I want to do it inside a virtual machine first and use the minimal possible setup. I wonder if I really figured out how this minimal setup should be. I plan to setup the vm with the following capabilities: nginx (server, enabling only the necessary tools), ddclient (I dont have static IP, so I will need to use a DNS service) and iptables (I want to block any access which is not exclusively to read the contents of the website). Is this all I need? For now the website wont run nor client neither sever side codes, for the near future it will work solely to display some public information about my job and research. I know there are hundreds of hosting services out there, but in the future (not so distant) I plan to use the website to run demonstrantions of simulation that I build, and this must be interactive with input obtained from the client side. Since the codes to be run in the server where written by myself in both fortran and C, and I need to control all the process in order to identify eventual bugs in the codes, a host service probably wont do the job.

Last edited by vcmota on Sat Mar 24, 2018 1:59 am; edited 1 time in total
ct85711
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote