Network Interface difficulty - Minimal CD vs After Install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Zanox
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 1:59 am    Post subject: Network Interface difficulty - Minimal CD vs After Install Reply with quote

Hello Gentoo users,

I'm having a bit of difficulty with my network card working after an install of Gentoo. It works great on the Minimal Install CD, as in it works without problem booting and installing Gentoo. Yet I cannot get it to work once installed and booted in the fresh install. I'm not a novice at Gentoo, yet I am, sadly, stumped.

I have a Asus P7P55D-E, which uses the Realtek 8112L chip. What module is being used by the boot CD that makes the interface work? I've built modules for just about EVERYTHING Realtek in the kernel and none have worked.

I will let you guys ask for anything you need. This is the best part of Open Souce...the community.
The Doctor

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 2:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Install the linux-firmware package as Realtek love their firmware. You will probably need to do this from the live CD to keep it simple.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Zanox
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 3:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed the Linux-Firmware, as it was suggested in the https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/Kernel last step for that page.

Thus I'm stumped :D However, I have noticed that the step above installing firmware, asks you to find modules in the /lib/modules/<kernel version>/ and I do NOT have a /lib/modules on this x86_64 (AMD64) install. In case this helps in some way.

There is something on the CD, that loads some generic driver that makes the interface work. I can't find which module it is :/