Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
GTK3: Why would icons, uniformly sized, appear smaller?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
VinzC
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:53 am    Post subject: GTK3: Why would icons, uniformly sized, appear smaller? Reply with quote

Hi all.

I've been noticing this weird "thing" for a couple of years now. My favourite icon theme, aka LaGaDesk-BlackWhite-III (base link provided for it's heavily tweaked now, i.e. I have added numerous icon images) is composed of 128x128 icons in the "scalable" directory. However some of them appear smaller*, especially in the application menu (Whisker here). It's not limited to the Whisker menu however. Note that I did not enable icon caching for that theme.

I've tried to understand what would cause this weirdness. In vain. Hence my question.

Probably also related: in GTK3 applications column headers or toolbars sometimes have a huge height and it's due to the icon theme. Typically "distorted" apps are transmission-remote-gtk and catfish. Note that this icon theme is GTK-2 only so in this case I'm curious to know the "fix".

Any help/hint/suggestion appreciated so thanks a bunch in advance 8) .

* The icon shown here is that of Hardware Lister, which I changed from the desktop application, so as to make it point to a [new] picture I added to the "scalable" directory of the theme.
mike155
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would use strace to find the icon files that are used. Maybe the smaller icons are smaller, because they are from a different icon theme or from a different subdirectory, which contains smaller icons?
VinzC
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote