Questions about busybox custom initramfs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
psicopompo
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 9:57 pm    Post subject: Questions about busybox custom initramfs Reply with quote

I'm thinking in make an custom initramfs to divide /usr partition from the / partition, but i have some question:

Have i to mount all the file systems before switch root and /sbin/init?

How to can i load module options from modprobe.d in the initramfs? (i really don't know if this question make sense)

Do you know where i can find more examples of the init script?

I'm a newbie with initramfs, any advice or proposition (i don't know if this is an stupid work and could be make more easily) will be nice.
frostschutz
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 10:37 pm    Post subject: Re: Questions about busybox custom initramfs Reply with quote

psicopompo wrote:
I'm thinking in make an custom initramfs to divide /usr partition from the / partition

Some special use cases aside, there is really no point in separating /usr. If you have a partition for everything, / will be an empty filesystem, so might as well stick it together with /usr in the first place.

So unless you have a very good reason (like, I don't know, sharing a single /usr with multiple network clients) it's best to not split them up. It's just asking for unnecessary problems with no benefits at all.

psicopompo wrote:
Have i to mount all the file systems before switch root and /sbin/init?

You have to mount both / and /usr because / by itself is utterly useless: you need /usr to make anything work.

psicopompo wrote:
How to can i load module options from modprobe.d in the initramfs? (i really don't know if this question make sense)