Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
switchable graphics on lenovo g505s
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bn1knb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 13
Location: Belarus

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 9:35 pm    Post subject: switchable graphics on lenovo g505s Reply with quote

hey there
actually im sorry for my english because its not my native language
im using Lenovo g505s
i use kde with radeon and radeonsi video drivers
videos are tearing and i just want my laptop to do his best
i followed this guid but lspci tells that there's no agp.... or i miss smth https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Xorg/Hardware_3D_acceleration_guide/

glxinfo | grep rendering gives me
Code:
direct rendering: Yes


but glxgears give me 59-60 fps

in bios theres an optiont [switchable graphics] turned on instead of [UMA]

is there any way to make switchable graphics work properly?
thank u for help

my lspci:

Code:
r2d2 /home/bn1knb # lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Root Complex
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]
00:01.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Trinity HDMI Audio Controller
00:02.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Root Port
00:04.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Root Port
00:05.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Root Port
00:10.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB XHCI Controller (rev 09)
00:11.0 SATA controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SATA Controller [IDE mode] (rev 40)
00:12.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB OHCI Controller (rev 11)
00:12.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB EHCI Controller (rev 11)
00:13.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB OHCI Controller (rev 11)
00:13.2 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH USB EHCI Controller (rev 11)
00:14.0 SMBus: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SMBus Controller (rev 16)
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller (rev 01)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH LPC Bridge (rev 11)
00:14.4 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH PCI Bridge (rev 40)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 0
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 1
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 2
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 3
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 4
00:18.5 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 5
01:00.0 Display controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Sun PRO [Radeon HD 8570A/8570M] (rev ff)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Qualcomm Atheros QCA8172 Fast Ethernet (rev 10)
03:00.0 Network controller: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)




my make.conf
Code:

CFLAGS="-O2 -march=bdver2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
#### 
MAKEOPTS="-j5"
#elogind -consolekit
USE="mtp elogind dbus policykit udev udisks kde  glamor X bindist mmx sse sse2 -systemd -consolekit"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
DISTDIR="${PORTDIR}/distfiles"
PKGDIR="${PORTDIR}/packages"
VIDEO_CARDS="radeon radeonsi"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://ftp.vectranet.pl/gentoo/ http://mirror.yandex.ru/gentoo-distfiles/"


my glx info:
Code:

r2d2 /home/bn1knb # glxgears -info
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh.  The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
GL_RENDERER   = AMD ARUBA (DRM 2.49.0 / 4.9.76-gentoo-r1, LLVM 5.0.1)
GL_VERSION    = 2.1 Mesa 17.2.8
GL_VENDOR     = X.Org
GL_EXTENSIONS = GL_ARB_multisample GL_EXT_abgr GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_blend_color GL_EXT_blend_minmax GL_EXT_blend_subtract GL_EXT_copy_texture GL_EXT_polygon_offset GL_EXT_subtexture GL_EXT_texture_object GL_EXT_vertex_array GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array GL_EXT_texture GL_EXT_texture3D GL_IBM_rasterpos_clip GL_ARB_point_parameters GL_EXT_draw_range_elements GL_EXT_packed_pixels GL_EXT_point_parameters GL_EXT_rescale_normal GL_EXT_separate_specular_color GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap GL_SGIS_texture_border_clamp GL_SGIS_texture_edge_clamp GL_SGIS_texture_lod GL_ARB_framebuffer_sRGB GL_ARB_multitexture GL_EXT_framebuffer_sRGB GL_IBM_multimode_draw_arrays GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_ARB_texture_cube_map GL_ARB_texture_env_add GL_ARB_transpose_matrix GL_EXT_blend_func_separate GL_EXT_fog_coord GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays GL_EXT_secondary_color GL_EXT_texture_env_add GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias GL_INGR_blend_func_separate GL_NV_blend_square GL_NV_light_max_exponent GL_NV_texgen_reflection GL_NV_texture_env_combine4 GL_S3_s3tc GL_SUN_multi_draw_arrays GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp GL_ARB_texture_compression GL_EXT_framebuffer_object GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc GL_EXT_texture_env_combine GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3 GL_MESA_window_pos GL_NV_packed_depth_stencil GL_NV_texture_rectangle GL_ARB_depth_texture GL_ARB_occlusion_query GL_ARB_shadow GL_ARB_texture_env_combine GL_ARB_texture_env_crossbar GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_ARB_window_pos GL_ATI_fragment_shader GL_EXT_stencil_two_side GL_EXT_texture_cube_map GL_NV_depth_clamp GL_NV_fog_distance GL_APPLE_packed_pixels GL_ARB_draw_buffers GL_ARB_fragment_program GL_ARB_fragment_shader GL_ARB_shader_objects GL_ARB_vertex_program GL_ARB_vertex_shader GL_ATI_draw_buffers GL_ATI_texture_env_combine3 GL_EXT_shadow_funcs GL_EXT_stencil_wrap GL_MESA_pack_invert GL_NV_primitive_restart GL_ARB_depth_clamp GL_ARB_fragment_program_shadow GL_ARB_half_float_pixel GL_ARB_occlusion_query2 GL_ARB_point_sprite GL_ARB_shading_language_100 GL_ARB_sync GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object GL_ATI_blend_equation_separate GL_EXT_blend_equation_separate GL_OES_read_format GL_ARB_color_buffer_float GL_ARB_pixel_buffer_object GL_ARB_texture_compression_rgtc GL_ARB_texture_rectangle GL_ATI_texture_compression_3dc GL_EXT_packed_float GL_EXT_pixel_buffer_object GL_EXT_texture_compression_dxt1 GL_EXT_texture_compression_rgtc GL_EXT_texture_mirror_clamp GL_EXT_texture_rectangle GL_EXT_texture_sRGB GL_EXT_texture_shared_exponent GL_ARB_framebuffer_object GL_EXT_framebuffer_blit GL_EXT_framebuffer_multisample GL_EXT_packed_depth_stencil GL_ARB_vertex_array_object GL_ATI_separate_stencil GL_ATI_texture_mirror_once GL_EXT_draw_buffers2 GL_EXT_draw_instanced GL_EXT_gpu_program_parameters GL_EXT_texture_array GL_EXT_texture_compression_latc GL_EXT_texture_integer GL_EXT_texture_sRGB_decode GL_EXT_timer_query GL_OES_EGL_image GL_AMD_performance_monitor GL_ARB_copy_buffer GL_ARB_depth_buffer_float GL_ARB_draw_instanced GL_ARB_half_float_vertex GL_ARB_instanced_arrays GL_ARB_map_buffer_range GL_ARB_texture_rg GL_ARB_texture_swizzle GL_ARB_vertex_array_bgra GL_EXT_texture_swizzle GL_EXT_vertex_array_bgra GL_NV_conditional_render GL_AMD_conservative_depth GL_AMD_draw_buffers_blend GL_AMD_seamless_cubemap_per_texture GL_AMD_shader_stencil_export GL_ARB_ES2_compatibility GL_ARB_blend_func_extended GL_ARB_debug_output GL_ARB_draw_buffers_blend GL_ARB_draw_elements_base_vertex GL_ARB_explicit_attrib_location GL_ARB_fragment_coord_conventions GL_ARB_provoking_vertex GL_ARB_sample_shading GL_ARB_sampler_objects GL_ARB_seamless_cube_map GL_ARB_shader_stencil_export GL_ARB_shader_texture_lod GL_ARB_texture_cube_map_array GL_ARB_texture_gather GL_ARB_texture_multisample GL_ARB_texture_query_lod GL_ARB_texture_rgb10_a2ui GL_ARB_uniform_buffer_object GL_ARB_vertex_type_2_10_10_10_rev GL_ATI_meminfo GL_EXT_provoking_vertex GL_EXT_texture_snorm GL_MESA_texture_signed_rgba GL_NV_texture_barrier GL_ARB_get_program_binary GL_ARB_robustness GL_ARB_separate_shader_objects GL_ARB_shader_bit_encoding GL_ARB_shader_precision GL_ARB_texture_compression_bptc GL_ARB_timer_query GL_ARB_transform_feedback2 GL_ARB_transform_feedback3 GL_ANGLE_texture_compression_dxt3 GL_ANGLE_texture_compression_dxt5 GL_ARB_base_instance GL_ARB_compressed_texture_pixel_storage GL_ARB_conservative_depth GL_ARB_internalformat_query GL_ARB_map_buffer_alignment GL_ARB_shading_language_420pack GL_ARB_shading_language_packing GL_ARB_texture_storage GL_ARB_transform_feedback_instanced GL_EXT_framebuffer_multisample_blit_scaled GL_EXT_transform_feedback GL_AMD_shader_trinary_minmax GL_ARB_ES3_compatibility GL_ARB_arrays_of_arrays GL_ARB_clear_buffer_object GL_ARB_copy_image GL_ARB_explicit_uniform_location GL_ARB_framebuffer_no_attachments GL_ARB_invalidate_subdata GL_ARB_program_interface_query GL_ARB_stencil_texturing GL_ARB_texture_query_levels GL_ARB_texture_storage_multisample GL_ARB_texture_view GL_ARB_vertex_attrib_binding GL_KHR_debug GL_AMD_pinned_memory GL_ARB_buffer_storage GL_ARB_clear_texture GL_ARB_internalformat_query2 GL_ARB_multi_bind GL_ARB_seamless_cubemap_per_texture GL_ARB_texture_mirror_clamp_to_edge GL_ARB_texture_stencil8 GL_ARB_vertex_type_10f_11f_11f_rev GL_EXT_shader_integer_mix GL_NVX_gpu_memory_info GL_ARB_clip_control GL_ARB_conditional_render_inverted GL_ARB_derivative_control GL_ARB_get_texture_sub_image GL_ARB_pipeline_statistics_query GL_ARB_shader_texture_image_samples GL_ARB_texture_barrier GL_EXT_polygon_offset_clamp GL_KHR_context_flush_control GL_KHR_no_error GL_MESA_shader_integer_functions
VisualID 771, 0x303
298 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.516 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.000 FPS


kernel were configured with config from liveusb
config:
https://pastebin.com/77GEEHrL
_________________
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.

Arthur C. Clarke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 40807
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bn1knb,

Welcome to Gentoo.

Please use wgetpaste to put the output of dmesg and the content of /var/log/Xorg.0.log onto a pastebin. Site and post the links.
Neither will fit into a post.

dmesg will tell if there are any general startup errors.
/var/log/Xorg.0.log will tell what Xorg did when it started.

glxgears giving 59-60 fps is expected.
Code:
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh.  The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate


What you want is
Code:
vblank_mode=0 glxgears

Keep in mind that glxgears is not a benchmark.

Is your normal user in the video group?
What does groups show?
That's needed to actually use hardware rendering, even when glxinfo says its available.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bn1knb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 13
Location: Belarus

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your help

that is the dmsg output : https://pastebin.com/SkTg6a2D
and X log : https://pastebin.com/tsriUQGz

and the groups output is : root bin sys adm disk wheel floppy console audio sshd video usb users plugdev postmaster portage bn1knb
_________________
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.

Arthur C. Clarke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 40807
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bn1knb,

You have the firmware, there are no video related problems indicated in dmesg and the Xorg log looks good too.
It shows your two video cards.
Code:
[    32.676] (--) PCI:*(0:0:1:0) 1002:9903:17aa:3804 rev 0, Mem @ 0xd0000000/268435456, 0xf0300000/262144, I/O @ 0x00004000/256, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072
[    32.676] (--) PCI: (0:1:0:0) 1002:6663:17aa:3804 rev 0, Mem @ 0xe0000000/268435456, 0xf0200000/262144, I/O @ 0x00003000/256, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072


Order is important here. The first on in PCI bus order is a Radeon HD7640. That's the one Xorg will use by default.
The second one is a Radeon HD 8570

As this is a laptop, there are two different ways this can be implemented in your hardware. The oldest way is that you have two completely separate graphics systems with a device called a multiplexer at the output, so both outputs appear in the same place. Multiplexers are expensive power hungry chips.
The next generation designed them out by having the low power GPU always drive the display surface and arranging for either GPU to draw into the pixel buffer.

I can't find any definitive information on the web. If we get it wrong, you will get a blank screen when Xorg starts.
In your BIOS, you have a UMA option and another option for display setup.
UMA means Unified Memory Access. That option selects the integrated graphics. Choose the other option.

Boot as far as the console. Do not allow Xorg to run, it might not. Run lspci.
If you are lucky only the
Code:
01:00.0 Display controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Sun PRO [Radeon HD 8570A/8570M] (rev ff)
video card will be listed.

If they are both there still, Xorg needs an extra configuration step to tell it to use the second card. That involves creating a mini xorg.conf that contains a Section "Device" to tell Xorg about the second card.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bn1knb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 13
Location: Belarus

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok if i got you correct then i need to boot up with the switchable graphic option (not UMA)
but i'v already did
and it shows
Code:
01:00.0 Display controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Sun PRO [Radeon HD 8570A/8570M] (rev ff)

Code:
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]


or i need to boot exactly without X?
_________________
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.

Arthur C. Clarke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 40807
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bn1knb,

You need to tell Xorg to use the second graphics card.

Code:
Section "Device"
   Identifier "Radeon HD 8570"
#  Tell the driver where the graphics card is
   BusID      "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

That should be enough to tell Xorg to use the graphics card at PCI address 1:0:0.

Put that in /etc/X11/xorg.conf or in a random file under /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/
Both ways work. My /etc/X11/xorg.conf started life in 1999, so I'm still using the old way.

That xorg.conf snippet will make Xorg draw on the Radeon HD 8570. That's not to say you will see anything.
Something has to do the switching. If its not your BIOS, you will not see the Xorg output as the screen will be displaying the output from the wrong card.
You may lose control of the laptop and need to force power off to regain control.

Some reviews for your laptop mention an ATI Crossfire setup, which is a way to have both GPUs working on the same image.
The bad news is that CrossFire (multi-card) is not supported by the open source driver and the fglrx binary blob is no longer maintained.
Its also incompatible with current kernels.

We could really do with some more information about your graphics system.

We still don't know how your two graphics chips work together. It might be crossfire, in might be switched.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bn1knb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 13
Location: Belarus

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK I'll put this config in xorg.conf when come home
Could you please tell me what information you need about my system? (about crossfire or what did u mentioned)
Or It will just 'work with xorg.conf or not'?

Thank you for patience
_________________
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.

Arthur C. Clarke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 40807
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bn1knb,

There are several ways that two graphics systems can be configured in a laptop.
    switched - use one or the other.
    shared pixel buffer. The low power one always drives the display but either can draw the image.
    crossfire (for ATI). Both work on different parts of the same image.


Its not clear which one you have.

It matters for setting up Xorg.
Crossfire has never been supported by the open source drivers.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bn1knb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 13
Location: Belarus

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I put this config into xorg.conf.d and now I got blank screen on boot after driver loading
_________________
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.

Arthur C. Clarke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbgermany
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 1763
Location: Oranienburg/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

remove the file from xorg.conf.d and have a look here afterwards: https://cubethethird.wordpress.com/2016/06/14/eliminate-screen-tearing-with-amd-gpu-on-ubuntu/

Tearing on amd cards seem to be "normal" without some options ;)

greets, bb
_________________
1st: i5-4440, 16GB, 1.75TB
2nd: i5-3470T, 8GB, 620GB
3rd: i5-3450, 12GB, 64GB USB+ 6.25TB
4th: Asus N61VN, 8GB, 120GB
5th: Cubietruck, 2GB, 160GB + NFS
6th: C2D T7200, 2GB, 16GB USB + NFS
7th: RPi3 1GB, 64GB USB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bn1knb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 13
Location: Belarus

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your answer but how can I boot into text mode to delete this file (to make x work) from grub prompt or grub command line (I don't have any liveusb or CD to boot from)
_________________
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.

Arthur C. Clarke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 40807
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bbgermany,

That's supposed to be the default settings but it won't do any harm to check.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bn1knb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 13
Location: Belarus

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Deleting 'load_video' or adding '1' or 'text' after the "ro" in grub prompt doesn't work
_________________
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.

Arthur C. Clarke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 40807
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bn1knb,

Try nox or single.

If all else fails ... add init=/bin/bash
You don't get any environment, no $PATH, it just you and bash and the kernel.
Root will still be ro.
Code:
mount -o remount,rw /
will fix that.
Make your edit, use the full path to nano
Code:
/bin/nano
then run
Code:
/sbin/shutdown -h now


If you use an initrd, this will fail. Use init=/bin/busybox to run busybox in the initrd.
Root will not be mounted. You need to do that before you can follow the steps above.
The initrd root is the kernels root, you will need to mount your real root inside the initrd.
mount /dev/sd.. /mnt/root or something like that.
nano wont work as glibc won't load but busybox has an editor.
Code:
busybox vi /mnt/root/....


dmesg:
[    1.809001] Trying to unpack rootfs image as initramfs...
[    2.252909] Freeing initrd memory: 3204K

That means you do use an initrd.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bn1knb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 13
Location: Belarus

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Thank you
That worked
So could it be that blank screen was shown because of firmware installed in kernel for the integrated video card and not for that one we set X to use?
_________________
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.

Arthur C. Clarke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 40807
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bn1knb,

I suspect that your hardware was showing the output of one GPU while Xorg was drawing with the other.
Everything was working, you just couldn't see it.

If your GPUs are switchable, we don't know that, then telling Xorg to use the discrete GPU is required but not sufficient.
The switch has to be operated too. That's not Xorgs job.
I was hoping that the BIOS would do it.

If you have Crossfire, the discrete GPU works as helper for the integrated GPU.
That's not supported with any current software.

Do you have another system you can use to ssh into your laptop?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bn1knb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 13
Location: Belarus

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

nope i don't have one and ssh doesn't configured
_________________
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.

Arthur C. Clarke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 40807
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bn1knb,

This is probably the end of getting the discrete GPU to work then.
The next step is to get some logs out of the system while it has a blank screen.

Is /var/log/Xorg.0.log.old still the black screen startup?
The current log is /var/log/Xorg.0.log, /var/log/Xorg.0.log.old is the previous log.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bn1knb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 13
Location: Belarus

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Well that's some trouble here..)
the Xorg.0.log.old is actually blank
what an irony
_________________
Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.

Arthur C. Clarke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 40807
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bn1knb,

That tells that Xorg tried to start, opened the file then something went wrong before it wrote anything.
That's useful information. Even the preamble is missing.

Information missing in a log tells its own story but its harder to spot.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum