Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Stuck at «Loading Linux» right after grub.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Hiklo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 4:56 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Stuck at «Loading Linux» right after grub. Reply with quote

Hi!
I have installed gentoo on my other machine and it worked flawlessly, but on this machine when i try to boot from grub, I only get the message: «Loading Linux 4.9.76-gentoo-r1 ...»

I have a relatively new laptop with a Nvidia 970m

The cursor is not blinking, leading me to believe it to be a GPU problem, but I dont know.

I have tried chrooting in and recompiled the kernel with nouveau driver, but to no avail.

Also setting «nomodeset» as a kernel boot parameter, changes nothing (the cursor isn’t even blinking)

I couldn’t find any other person having a similar problem, so you guys are my last hope :(

Thanks in advance!


Last edited by Hiklo on Sun Feb 18, 2018 10:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54098
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hiklo,

Welcome to Gentoo.

Code:
Loading Linux 4.9.76-gentoo-r1
is a message from grub.
The first message from the kernel is Decompressing Linux ...

Either everything is working normally but you don't have a console output, or its going wrong very early in the boot process.

We need some more information.
    Post your lspci output, so we can see your hardware.
    Use wgetpaste to put your kernel .config file onto a pastebin site and post a link.
    Tell how you compile and install your kernel.
    Which graphics driver do you expect to use.

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hiklo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Hiklo,

Welcome to Gentoo.

Code:
Loading Linux 4.9.76-gentoo-r1
is a message from grub.
The first message from the kernel is Decompressing Linux ...

Either everything is working normally but you don't have a console output, or its going wrong very early in the boot process.

We need some more information.
    Post your lspci output, so we can see your hardware.
    Use wgetpaste to put your kernel .config file onto a pastebin site and post a link.
    Tell how you compile and install your kernel.
    Which graphics driver do you expect to use.


Thanks for the quick response!! :D

Here is my lspci output:
http://bpaste.net/show/bb357ac55992
And here is my kernel .config:
http://bpaste.net/show/fdb71b7bd799

When I compile kernel i do:
make clean
make menuconfig
make
make modules_install
make install
grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

I would prefer to use the proprietary Nvidia drivers for the better performance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spidey
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Sep 2006
Posts: 269

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same problem when compiling a monolithic kernel, the only way I could boot was using genkernel. I did remove options agressively from the kernel configuration, so I'm starting to think I've removed the VGA terminal from the config.

Sorry for hijacking the topic, but I'll post my .config here as well after booting to a liveCD (even with genkernel I still have an incomplete install, I don't have Wi-Fi yet).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54098
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hiklo,

You will need
Code:
# CONFIG_INTEL_MEI is not set
for your
Code:
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)

or your SATA controller won't work.
You may need one or both
Code:
# CONFIG_INTEL_MEI_ME is not set
# CONFIG_INTEL_MEI_TXE is not set
too.

Your kernel does not have a console configured that you can use. EFI framebuffer might get you started.
The Intel DRM driver is configured but your lspci does not show any Intel Graphics chip, so its either disabled or you don't have one at all.

As you want the binary blob nvidia-drivers, you should use the 80x25 VGA text console.
Its under the
Code:
Graphics support
 --> Console display driver support
menu. My setup is
Code:
  ┌────────────────────── Console display driver support ───────────────────────┐
  │  Arrow keys navigate the menu.  <Enter> selects submenus ---> (or empty     │ 
  │  submenus ----).  Highlighted letters are hotkeys.  Pressing <Y> includes,  │ 
  │  <N> excludes, <M> modularizes features.  Press <Esc><Esc> to exit, <?> for │ 
  │  Help, </> for Search.  Legend: [*] built-in  [ ] excluded  <M> module  < > │ 
  │ ┌─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┐ │ 
  │ │    [*] VGA text console                                                 │ │ 
  │ │    [*]   Enable Scrollback Buffer in System RAM                         │ │ 
  │ │    (128)   Scrollback Buffer Size (in KB)                               │ │ 
  │ │    [ ]     Persistent Scrollback History for each console by default    │ │ 
  │ │    (80) Initial number of console screen columns                        │ │ 
  │ │    (25) Initial number of console screen rows                           │ │ 
  │ │    [*] Framebuffer Console support                                      │ │ 
  │ │    -*-   Map the console to the primary display device                  │ │ 
  │ │    [ ]   Framebuffer Console Rotation
I don't use it any more as my nVidia card is 9 years old.

This may not be the fix but it might get some debug messages.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5934

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
You will need
Code:
# CONFIG_INTEL_MEI is not set
for your
Code:
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)

or your SATA controller won't work.


You sure about that neddy? Up until late 2017 early 2018 I always left the IME modules turned off, and I never had problems with SATA. Did you perhaps mean CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SD ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54098
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bunder,

Not 100%. However, there are some Intel chipsets that the the communications controller working.
Sunrise Point certainly does.

I'm just trying to head off other problems one we get a console.

Why do you leave MEI off?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hiklo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Hiklo,

You will need
Code:
# CONFIG_INTEL_MEI is not set
for your
Code:
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 8 Series/C220 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)

or your SATA controller won't work.
You may need one or both
Code:
# CONFIG_INTEL_MEI_ME is not set
# CONFIG_INTEL_MEI_TXE is not set
too.

Your kernel does not have a console configured that you can use. EFI framebuffer might get you started.
The Intel DRM driver is configured but your lspci does not show any Intel Graphics chip, so its either disabled or you don't have one at all.

As you want the binary blob nvidia-drivers, you should use the 80x25 VGA text console.
Its under the
Code:
Graphics support
 --> Console display driver support
menu. My setup is
Code:
  ┌────────────────────── Console display driver support ───────────────────────┐
  │  Arrow keys navigate the menu.  <Enter> selects submenus ---> (or empty     │ 
  │  submenus ----).  Highlighted letters are hotkeys.  Pressing <Y> includes,  │ 
  │  <N> excludes, <M> modularizes features.  Press <Esc><Esc> to exit, <?> for │ 
  │  Help, </> for Search.  Legend: [*] built-in  [ ] excluded  <M> module  < > │ 
  │ ┌─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┐ │ 
  │ │    [*] VGA text console                                                 │ │ 
  │ │    [*]   Enable Scrollback Buffer in System RAM                         │ │ 
  │ │    (128)   Scrollback Buffer Size (in KB)                               │ │ 
  │ │    [ ]     Persistent Scrollback History for each console by default    │ │ 
  │ │    (80) Initial number of console screen columns                        │ │ 
  │ │    (25) Initial number of console screen rows                           │ │ 
  │ │    [*] Framebuffer Console support                                      │ │ 
  │ │    -*-   Map the console to the primary display device                  │ │ 
  │ │    [ ]   Framebuffer Console Rotation
I don't use it any more as my nVidia card is 9 years old.

This may not be the fix but it might get some debug messages.


Things are better now!

I set INTEL_MEI and both INTEL_MEI_ME and INTEL_MEI_TXE

I have never seen my intel graphics chip been detected, not even in windows or all previous installs of linux, and have never had any problem with it so I suppose it is not there/deactivated.

I had to enable VT (tty support) to be able to enter the console display settings in the kernel.

And after i copied what you had and rebooted everything worked! (Well kind of)

There are still a couple problems. The text is slow to print on screen. Not unbearably slow but noticeably slower than on my other machine. I also encountered some hiccups while booting. «hid-generic [...] usb_submit_urb(ctrl) failed: -1» took about 15 seconds, and systemd couldnt mount my home folder (dev-sdb1.device) and my boot dir (dev-sda2.device) and I had to wait 1.5 minutes for it to continue booting into emergency mode. I had to manually mount /dev/sdb1 and /dev/sda2.

Systemd made it so i couldnt do anything when I tried to start NetworkManager. (Not frozen screen, the cursor still blinks), but that is probably because I tried to start it in emergency mode. :oops:

Sorry for late response, has been a busy day!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54098
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hiklo,

Now you have a console, you should start a new thread for your new problem(s).
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hiklo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2018
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the help, Neddy! Ill mark this as solved! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5934

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Why do you leave MEI off?


I was under the (wrong) impression that not configuring it in the BIOS and not adding the modules would prevent it from working. Sadly you need the modules to run the SA-00086 tests.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SameRomero
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2022
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2022 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:

Why do you leave MEI off?


I'm like,
>presses H
>"oh an intel bloatware"
>left it turned off
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikcikoR
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Mar 2022
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2022 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SameRomero wrote:
NeddySeagoon wrote:

Why do you leave MEI off?


I'm like,
>presses H
>"oh an intel bloatware"
>left it turned off


Almost, intel spyware
_________________
No, I don't know what I'm doing, why?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum