Tor relay stuck at "Bootstrapped 0%: Starting"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
resill
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 5:38 pm    Post subject: Tor relay stuck at "Bootstrapped 0%: Starting" Reply with quote

Hi all,

Gentoo newbie here. I just compiled the latest Tor 0.3.1.7 (vanilla, no special use flags or keywords) on my Raspberry Pi and for some reason it's stuck at "Bootstrapped 0%: Starting" until forever. My torrc:

Code:

#
# Minimal torrc so tor will work out of the box
#
User tor
PIDFile /var/run/tor/tor.pid
Log notice syslog
DataDirectory /var/lib/tor/data

#
# My config
#
SocksPort 0
RunAsDaemon
ORPort 9001
Nickname NICKNAME
ContactInfo CONTACT
DirPort 9030
ExitPolicy reject *:*
DisableDebuggerAttachment 0
ControlPort 9051
CookieAuthentication 1

Nickname and ContactInfo obviously redacted, but here's the syslog excerpt when starting the tor service:

Code:

Feb 18 18:23:19 localhost Tor[12017]: Not disabling debugger attaching for unprivileged users.
Feb 18 18:23:19 localhost Tor[12017]: Parsing GEOIP IPv4 file /usr/share/tor/geoip.
Feb 18 18:23:20 localhost Tor[12017]: Parsing GEOIP IPv6 file /usr/share/tor/geoip6.
Feb 18 18:23:21 localhost Tor[12017]: Configured to measure statistics. Look for the *-stats files that will first be written to the data directory in 24 hours from now.
Feb 18 18:23:28 localhost Tor[12017]: Your Tor server's identity key fingerprint is '<NICKNAME> <FINGERPRINT>'
Feb 18 18:23:28 localhost Tor[12017]: Bootstrapped 0%: Starting