Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
The hunt for an unbroken distro: Is Gentoo for me?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41724
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pun_guin,

Almost, you have a typo in the index= part.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Worked! :)
Why is the sound muted again after a reboot?
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5490
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pun_guin wrote:
Worked! :)
Why is the sound muted again after a reboot?

have you instructed ALSA to retain its operating state?

I honestly do not know the default as my /etc has been reused between my 3 re-installs over the last 15years...

Code:
 cat /etc/conf.d/alsasound
# RESTORE_ON_START:
# Do you want to restore your mixer settings?  If not, your cards will be
# muted.
# no - Do not restore state
# yes - Restore state

RESTORE_ON_START="yes"

# SAVE_ON_STOP:
# Do you want to save changes made to your mixer volumes when alsasound
# stops?
# no - Do not save state
# yes - Save state

SAVE_ON_STOP="yes"

_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41724
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pun_guin,

Did you add alsasound to the default runlevel?

The default state is muted. alsasound saves the settings at shutdown and restores them on boot.
I know the wiki says to put alsasound in the boot runlevel but when you have startup problems you can do without sound :)
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib: The default values are those, it seems. :)

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Did you add alsasound to the default runlevel?


That solved it! Thank you. :oops:
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41724
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pun_guin,

As with everything in life you are getting experience of gentoo.
Like everywhere else, you get it just after you needed it :)
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 1622
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:03 pm    Post subject: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

Teegrins and welcome, pun_guin!

I started my Linux journey with Gentoo in 2010, and I can definitely serve as a warning on that “you just might be here forever”. :]

I did want to try Linux for most of 2000 to 2010, but could never figure out which one to go for, and it wasn't until 2010 when I gave Ubuntu a try. It didn't really teach me anything I didn't already know (pointing and clicking at things), and I didn't stay with it for more than a few hours perhaps, on a test machine. Somehow, no idea how, I bumped into Gentoo, and I've been here ever since and managed to leave Windows behind right there and then, in 2010. I still consider the Gentoo installation on my main machine to be that first successful installation I did back then, even though all of the hardware has changed, including moving from an SRD (spinning rust drive) onto an SSD.

What is more, just a few years ago, I could not see myself becoming a Gentoo developer one day, but it just kind of happened (I don't have git access to the main Portage repository though, as I haven't done the ebuild quizzes... yet -.^). In a way, Gentoo has enabled me to contribute to a bunch of open-source projects (and even some closed ones).

Anyblue, I didn't come here to ramble upon me and my Gentoo... there is something specific I wanted to comment on:

pun_guin wrote:
- Compiling LLVM and Mesa has not done my nerves any good though. I've read about bindist after it was complete (and it did not notably decrease the emerging time, neither did the package-wise CCache I set up).

Where exactly did you read about 'bindist'? What you say here, makes me almost certain of that it's not doing what you think it's doing (and if this is the case, you're not the first, nor the last one to think so!).

What 'bindist' actually does, is it disables things and stuff that would not allow you to re-distribute the binary you built. For example, if you build Firefox with USE="bindist", you'll actually get Aurora. Usually, for most personal use-cases, that's not exactly wanted, and it's often recommended to be removed from 'make.conf' as it can lead into dependency issues and much confusion.

As for 'ccache', it will be most helpful when building a specific package more than once, and isn't always that helpful if too much was changed in the software. If you saw no noticeable difference in re-building the same package and same version, then something could be wrong. :]

Furthermore, I believe the first build with 'ccache' enabled may actually be slower, than what it would be with it disabled.

Oh and thanks for the reminder; I have been meaning to optimise my cache-related stuff for quite a while now!
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:50 pm    Post subject: Re: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

Hey, Chiitoo,

Chiitoo wrote:
I started my Linux journey with Gentoo in 2010, and I can definitely serve as a warning on that “you just might be here forever”. :]


Abandon hope all ye who enter here... :? :lol:

Chiitoo wrote:
Anyblue, I didn't come here to ramble upon me and my Gentoo...


I actually read Gentoo stories a lot, just to reassure myself to wait with quitting for something less maintenance-intense... :wink:
It helps!

Chiitoo wrote:
Where exactly did you read about 'bindist'? What you say here, makes me almost certain of that it's not doing what you think it's doing (and if this is the case, you're not the first, nor the last one to think so!).


I was assuming it would try to fetch binary components, similar to what --packages-build does on FreeBSD's portmaster. Reading your explanation, I stand corrected. Whoops. :oops:

Chiitoo wrote:
Furthermore, I believe the first build with 'ccache' enabled may actually be slower, than what it would be with it disabled.


I did a lot of tests on FreeBSD over the past two years, I did notice an improvement on further updates - within one software, that's why I set mine according to that blog post... I haven't made a direct comparison just yet, there haven't been this many updates since my installation.
While you're here, do you happen to have an idea about why my PXE is so offensive?
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41724
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pun_guin,

Despite your swithering, you have been here a whole week.
I think you are hooked :)

I came here looking for some help in 2003, I helped out while I was waiting and am still here.
No, not still waiting :)
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 1622
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:53 pm    Post subject: Re: ><)))°€ Reply with quote

pun_guin wrote:
While you're here, do you happen to have an idea about why my PXE is so offensive?

No real immediate ideas, aside from those that are similar to what Tony0945 mentioned about BIOS.

I don't think GRUB should have that kind of an effect, as PXE seems like pre-bootloader territory to me. Or well, mainly the boot order part, as I definitely don't remember being able to override my BIOS boot order via GRUB. Since you say it worked fine before... there's something we don't know, I maybe guess. :]

I do imagine you're using GRUB 2? I never quite liked that, and as such, never got into using it, and I don't know if it has some setting for doing PXE-like stuff. With a quick search, I do find some articles with 'PXE' and 'GRUB' in them, but they don't seem too identical to your case.

If no one following this thread has more knowledge on that, it might be time to create a topic about it specifically.
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Despite your swithering, you have been here a whole week.
I think you are hooked :)


And I even learned a new word!
I admit that the search for solutions for problems which would never occur on Void is tempting. Damn.

Chiitoo wrote:
I do imagine you're using GRUB 2?


It was what the Handbook seemed to suggest. :)

Chiitoo wrote:
If no one following this thread has more knowledge on that, it might be time to create a topic about it specifically.


I'll consider that, thank you.
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 1622
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Forgot to comment on something else earlier:

pun_guin wrote:
- Automatically turning off the screen is not quite useful while emerging from a laptop, but that might be just me.

You might find 'xset' from 'x11-apps/xset' helpful. I tend to disable all screen/power savers such as blanking the screen myself, since burn-in isn't that big of a deal as I'm not using a CRT display any longer, and when I walk away for a longer period of time, I turn the monitor off myself. :]
_________________
Kind Regards,
~ The Noob Unlimited ~

Sore wa sore, kore wa kore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I'll try that. :)
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5490
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/PXE
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

^ Wouldn't that enforce the use of PXE instead of disabling it?
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5490
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pun_guin wrote:
^ Wouldn't that enforce the use of PXE instead of disabling it?

true, but the point is if you know how to enable something, the inverse to disable is usually true. At the very least it can be looked at to see what is present.

I have not played with PXE so I can't make any comment besides fault finding.


Quote:
Today's weirdness:
- grub-install /dev/sda seems to have put grub into the wrong area of my boot-whatever. Although my Legacy Boot settings are CD-ROM -> HDD -> PXE, the first thing it does is always try to boot into PXE before booting from HDD. I have no idea how this is even possible.


This is your statement where you mention PXE oddity....
Your BIOS is therefore set CDROM -> HDD -> PXE ...

You say the 1st thing your system does it tries to boot PXE instead of HDD but you havn't stated whether GRUB has actually been executed. ie are you 100% sure this is a grub issue as oppose to a BIOS issue (could the hdd be taking some time to be ack and thus BIOS initiate PXE).

What is your GRUB timeout?
Do you actually reach the grub menu?
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As it seems to make things easier, I should probably elaborate on this.

So what I see after booting is:
1. The Acer logo. Not quite unusual.
2. PXE.
3. Right after PXE fails, the (Gentoo-themed) GRUB menu is shown.

As there is no PXE entry in the GRUB menu (only two Gentoo entries right now), the obvious assumption that PXE might have been started via GRUB is probably wrong. I have not touched any other defaults regarding the timeout or other settings, so I would have to look when I'm back home.
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41724
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pun_guin,

Your BIOS tries PXE before the HDD.
I suspect when the BIO looks around for something to boot, the HDD is not ready, so its not an option.

There may be a BIOS setting. As PXE is tried before the HDD, it may just be ordering.

PXE is network booting, the device may be diskless as everything is done over the network with PXE.

Do you have a boot time option to choose the boot media?
My old netbook will boot from an external USB drive but I have to switch it on twice.
The first time spins up the drive, the second time allows the spun up drive to be detected.
Its a feature. Its fine with a USB stick.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have not changed the boot order since my Void installation, PXE is still the very last item.
Does that mean that Gentoo makes the disk slower? ;) (It's a SSD.)

There does not seem to be a boot order option except the BIOS setting.
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2436

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First off, PXE is BIOS-level stuff, it fires off before grub does. PXE is designed to allow systems to boot without any sort of disk.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Preboot_Execution_Environment

Second thing, here's a scenario assuming you are using UEFI boot:

  1. You installed Void Linux and got it working correctly
  2. This includes a UEFI label pointing at your VOID kernel (or grub which as far as the bios is concerned is the same thing)
  3. You installed Gentoo.
  4. Your Gentoo kernel/boot loader is not in exactly the same path as the one you configured for VOID.
  5. There is no /EFI/BOOT/BOOTX64.EFI file on your EF00 partition so default can't happen.
  6. Next on your BIOS is PXE boot.
  7. Next on your BIOS is whatever is actually hitting grub for Gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That sounds like it could be right. But I did not take notes during my Void installation because I didn't think I would want to get rid of it that soon. Is there a way to check which "path" is looked for? How - if you are right - could I fix it?
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2436

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

efibootmgr -v

should do it. Keep in mind that your BIOS may be configured to look for EFI first and then failover to the old style boot system. So Gentoo may not know anything about UEFI, in which case you won't have that command. But you should be able to install it even if Gentoo is not booting that way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2436

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or, you can go into your BIOS and see what order things are configured to boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1clue wrote:
Or, you can go into your BIOS and see what order things are configured to boot.


I already did that: CD-ROM, USB, HDD (SSD), nothing, nothing, PXE. Or was it one "nothing" less? I'll check again!
I will try efibootmgr and report back (currently on the road, more or less).
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2436

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That 'nothing, nothing' part is disturbing. I think that may be a previous entry which no longer has a device behind it, maybe meaning the disk is no longer formatted in a way which is UEFI-acceptable or maybe the entire disk is gone, or ???

And if your bios is UEFI-enabled then I would think there would be mention of it in that list.

My bios has the ability to select disk from this menu, and then reorder the physical disks in preference for boot order in a separate place. If you have this, you may need to regorganize your disks in the bios such that the correct disk is on top of the list.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 4 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum