Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
The hunt for an unbroken distro: Is Gentoo for me?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
1clue
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 2361

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't use wifi either, but if there were a problem with the new enp*s* names then there would have been tons of bug reports and a whole lot of fixing long ago, shortly after the names changed.

So I advise just using the device names as they are.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5432
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pun_guin wrote:
Hmm. I thought that was the usual Linux naming, Void had the same adapter names and I had no obvious issues there. But if the Handbook says so, I might indeed want to read about this topic. I'll come back to this later though.


as I mentioned :)
Quote:
If you are using openrc does your /etc/init.d/net.en#### exist and is named to reflect your actual interface name?


It was a bit of a jolt when eudev (reflecting udev) went away from the eth0 type naming but once I read up on it, it sort of makes sense

Quote:
Two character prefixes based on the type of interface:
* en -- ethernet
* sl -- serial line IP (slip)
* wl -- wlan
* ww -- wwan
*
* Type of names:
* b<number> -- BCMA bus core number
* ccw<name> -- CCW bus group name
* o<index>[d<dev_port>] -- on-board device index number
* s<slot>[f<function>][d<dev_port>] -- hotplug slot index number
* x<MAC> -- MAC address
* [P<domain>]p<bus>s<slot>[f<function>][d<dev_port>]
* -- PCI geographical location
* [P<domain>]p<bus>s<slot>[f<function>][u<port>][..][c<config>][i<interface>]
* -- USB port number chain


providing a recipe to provide deterministic device interface names (instead of 1st come 1st serve) has merits & sure people may question this implementation but meh... :)

That said it isn't without flaws. Below is the openrc net devices I have requested and equally my ifconfig.
As you can see my interface is eno1 YET 2 days ago it was enp30s0 . The only change I have done is updated my BIOS & then disable AMD's PSP. Now whether this resulted in the onboard interface being correctly detected as an onboard rather then the possible passthrough who knows... took me 2min to figure out why my net didn't work after a bios update :)

Code:
 ll /etc/init.d/net.*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root     6 Feb  7 19:14 /etc/init.d/net.eno1 -> net.lo
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root     6 May  5  2017 /etc/init.d/net.enp30s0 -> net.lo
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 18758 Nov 29 20:29 /etc/init.d/net.lo


Code:
ifconfig
eno1: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.0.3  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.0.255
        inet6 fd90:7ae4:b9cc:1:c61f:372d:f0d8:fe7e  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 2a02:c7d:bf36:7f00:7c51:dcb6:6201:99a6  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 fd9f:6d51:b2e9:0:2164:c677:a05d:81bd  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x0<global>
        inet6 fe80::6347:4df2:9634:3692  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 4c:cc:6a:f7:52:50  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 1280582  bytes 1861018664 (1.7 GiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 1074747  bytes 93101814 (88.7 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
        device memory 0xf7600000-f761ffff 

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 15515  bytes 879680 (859.0 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 15515  bytes 879680 (859.0 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dr.Willy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 458
Location: NRW, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib wrote:
providing a recipe to provide deterministic device interface names (instead of 1st come 1st serve) has merits & sure people may question this implementation but meh... :)

… because keeping track of your 2 network devices really calls for an organization-scheme.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Today's success:
- X11 and SLiM are there.
- I have a desktop! :)
- I extended my portage's make.conf to an extent where I start to understand what the hell is actually going on:

Code:
CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
MAKEOPTS="-j4"

PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"

LC_MESSAGES=C

GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp://ftp.wh2.tu-dresden.de/pub/mirrors/gentoo rsync://mirror.netcologne.de/gentoo/"
USE="alsa udev xorg jpeg png bindist X ssl branding python-3_6 -pulseaudio -modelock -ipv6"

FEATURES="ccache userpriv collision-protect"
CCACHE_SIZE="3G"
CCACHE_DIR="/var/cache/ccache"

EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS="--jobs 4"
VIDEO_CARDS="radeon amdgpu vesa radeonsi"


I wanted to add "consolekit" and "pam" too (for SLiM) but emerge said that I would have to recompile almost everything for that; and add a whole bunch of additional USE flags. No, not today.

Today's weirdness:
- grub-install /dev/sda seems to have put grub into the wrong area of my boot-whatever. Although my Legacy Boot settings are CD-ROM -> HDD -> PXE, the first thing it does is always try to boot into PXE before booting from HDD. I have no idea how this is even possible.
- Compiling LLVM and Mesa has not done my nerves any good though. I've read about bindist after it was complete (and it did not notably decrease the emerging time, neither did the package-wise CCache I set up). Oh my. I totally do not hope there will be updates soon.
- The default touchpad sensitivity sucks. I need to change that some day.

Today's aftermath:
- I start to feel a mild annoyance from Gentoo on my side. I also start to feel a mild satisfaction from Gentoo on my side.
- Automatically turning off the screen is not quite useful while emerging from a laptop, but that might be just me.
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5432
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dr.Willy wrote:
Naib wrote:
providing a recipe to provide deterministic device interface names (instead of 1st come 1st serve) has merits & sure people may question this implementation but meh... :)

… because keeping track of your 2 network devices really calls for an organization-scheme.
because every setup only has 2 network devices....
A server boots up and because a driver loaded ever so slightly slower then WAN ether device is no longer eth0 taking out the network for the entire building...
small thinking doesn't scale
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Proinsias
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Oct 2014
Posts: 82
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found adding a few flags to emerge made portage more relaxing to work with. This makes no impact on time spent but does make it easier on the eye for me.

Code:
emerge -aqv

or long form:
Code:
emerge --verbose --quiet --ask
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dr.Willy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2007
Posts: 458
Location: NRW, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib wrote:
small thinking doesn't scale

neither does unchecked parallelism
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Today's success:
I have Firefox (compiled myself, because ALSA).

Today's failures:
- I have not found the problem with PXE yet.
- I had no success to get sound working yet. The audio device is properly recognized, but speaker-test claims it couldn't open the device. Hmm.

Today's aftermath:
One problem solved, two new problems ready. Oh, Gentoo...
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5432
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pun_guin wrote:
Today's success:
I have Firefox (compiled myself, because ALSA).

congratulations, you can type emerge firefox :wink:
pun_guin wrote:

Today's failures:
- I have not found the problem with PXE yet.
- I had no success to get sound working yet. The audio device is properly recognized, but speaker-test claims it couldn't open the device. Hmm.

not found the problem? what exactly do you think exists?
are you using pulse-audio? when you say the audio device is properly recognized ... by what means
pun_guin wrote:

Today's aftermath:
One problem solved, two new problems ready. Oh, Gentoo...
Well this is purely in userland now and the world file :twisted:
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PXE: I guess Grub is installed wrongly - but how?
Sound: Hmm, no, I try to avoid PulseAudio entirely. The kernel claims that everything sound-related is in place. :?
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41301
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pun_guin,

What do you have in /dev/snd ?
Is your normal user in the audio group ?

What does alsamixer show as unmuted ?
That's [OO] at the bottom of the sliders. Everything is muted by default.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5432
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
pun_guin,

What do you have in /dev/snd ?
Is your normal user in the audio group ?

What does alsamixer show as unmuted ?
That's [OO] at the bottom of the sliders. Everything is muted by default.


^^

paste the output of groups

Code:
$ groups
wheel audio video input users ####

_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
$ ls /dev/snd
by-path  controlC0  controlC1  hwC0D0  hwC1D0  pcmC0D3p  pcmC1D0c  pcmC1D0p  timer


Code:
$ groups
wheel audio video users tux


The main user "tux" seems to have most groups twice:

Code:
$ groups tux
wheel audio video users wheel audio video users tux


alsa-mixer shows the expected values (speaker on full volume, master is muted), but I cannot test it with other values either - "unable to open slave".

(Sorry - I'm sure that this is a question I could solve with five minutes of RTFM, if I just knew which M to RTF.)
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41301
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pun_guin,

Ahhh you have two sound cards.
Code:
 controlC0  controlC1

I expect the default sound card is the wrong one.

Please post your
Code:
lspci -k output
and put your kernel .config onto a pastebin site.
wgetpaste is your friend.

speaker-test can drive and random sound card, you have to tell it which one.
Code:
man speaker-test
since you asked about the friendly manual.

You will have to unmute the right card too.

As you say, your kernel looks good.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, wgetpaste is a nice addition. :)

lspci -k:
https://paste.pound-python.org/show/ZqWMGaYgstkUn8R0iytY/

Kernel .config:
https://paste.pound-python.org/show/J1nyfCkqGCPy6GD1o9gE/

The first "sound card" seems to be the HDMI output (which is unused on this machine), so I thought generic audio would be the correct one..?
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41301
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pun_guin,

Code:
00:01.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Kabini HDMI/DP Audio
   Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Kabini HDMI/DP Audio
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
   Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller (rev 02)
   Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] FCH Azalia Controller
   Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
   Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel


Correct. Sound cards are enumerated in the order of detection by the kernel, so the HDMI output is the default sound card.
Most users don't want that.

Your sound driver CONFIG_SND_HDA=m is a loadable module. That makes life easier.

As root,
Code:
modprobe -r snd_hda_intel
modprobe snd_hda_intel index=1,0
will reverse the order of your sound cards.
Once it works, the boot sequence can be made to do that.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, NeddySeagoon,

speaker-test does not complain anymore. I still don't hear a thing though when testing.

Master is on 75, Speaker on 100/100, Auto-Mute is disabled.
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41301
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pun_guin,

Unmute Master, PCM and Front. Set the sliders to 75%
Be sure that any digital outputs are muted. They will have SPDI/F or IEC in their names.

Code:
┌────────────────────────────── AlsaMixer v1.1.5 ──────────────────────────────┐
│ Card: HDA ATI SB                                     F1:  Help               │
│ Chip: VIA VT1708S                                    F2:  System information │
│ View: F3:[Playback] F4: Capture  F5: All             F6:  Select sound card  │
│ Item: Master [dB gain: 0.00]                         Esc: Exit               │
│                                                                              │
│     ┌──┐              ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐      │
│     │▒▒│              │  │     │  │     │  │     │  │     │  │     │  │      │
│     │▒▒│              │  │     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │  │      │
│     │▒▒│              │  │     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │  │      →
│     │▒▒│              │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│      →
│     │▒▒│              │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│      →
│     │▒▒│              │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│      →
│     │▒▒│              │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│      →
│     │▒▒│              │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│      →
│     │▒▒│              │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│      →
│     │▒▒│              │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│      │
│     │▒▒│              │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│      │
│     ├──┤     ┌──┐     └──┘     ├──┤     ├──┤     └──┘     ├──┤     ├──┤      │
│     │OO│     │OO│              │OO│     │MM│              │OO│     │OO│      │
│     └──┘     └──┘              └──┘     └──┘              └──┘     └──┘      │
│     100              75<>75   94<>94    0<>0     0<>0    88<>88     73       │
│  < Master >Headphon   PCM     Front   Front Mi Front Mi Surround  Center     │
└──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┘

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

edit: stupid pun_guin won't confuse visitors with being stupid.
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.


Last edited by pun_guin on Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:24 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6489
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your Master is muted.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ehm. It works now. :wink:
... sorry.

(On the plus side, I just saw the "OO"...)
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 41301
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pun_guin,

You still need the card swap at boot.
Will you do that for yourself or do you need a pointer ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
You still need the card swap at boot.


Hmm ...
According to the web:

Code:
echo 'options snd_hda_intel index=1'


Added to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf, right?
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony0945
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2006
Posts: 2577
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pun_guin wrote:
PXE: I guess Grub is installed wrongly - but how?

I don't think it's grub. I think it's your BIOS. I had one (an old MSI) that just insisted on PXE first, no matter what you set. I had to wait for PXE to time out THEN it would follow the boot order set in BIOS. You may not be able to solve this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pun_guin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2018
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tony0945 wrote:
I had one (an old MSI) that just insisted on PXE first, no matter what you set. I had to wait for PXE to time out THEN it would follow the boot order set in BIOS.


In theory, this would be understandable - but it worked with the same BIOS setup when I was on Void, so it must be something I could solve, I guess.
_________________
I already use the new Genthree.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 3 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum