Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
PCI passthrough - VFIO and QEMU.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Myu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Oct 2014
Posts: 162
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Wait, what?
Do I get you right? Are you trying to loop the output from a physical device back to a virtual console?
Try this instead: You just hook up another display (or another input of your display) to the video card you passed to your guest and launch that VM again.


Yeah +1 to what szatox said ! You won't get any output on the virt-manager Window, the output will be to the display cable plugged to the GPU you're passing through !

Try another screen or if you have a monitor with some free VGA / DVI / HDMI, hook a cable from one of those from the card

For instance, I have

Code:
Motheboard HDMI -> Display HDMI1
Nvidia DVI -> Display HDMI2


And when booting the VM through virt-manager, I switch inputs from the screen OSD
_________________
Gentoo stable (with bits of ~amd64) / Games ! (Linux & vfio-pci ) // Xfce

Feel free to PM me if you would like a simple ebuild and I'll see what I can do :]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dylanmc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2014
Posts: 135
Location: Modena, Italy

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, there is a misunderstanding.

I have a monitor capable of two HDMI input, and when I launch the virtual machine, I didn't get any output in the HDMI where the gpu passtrought card is connected.
I only see it's doing something cause the init messages before the xorg switch to the secondary GPU disappears.

The onmly think I haqve to do is try to dump my GPU 980ti rom, but actually I didn't have any windows to grab it.
I've grabbed on linux, no luck on that..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dylanmc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2014
Posts: 135
Location: Modena, Italy

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks keet, I will try your suggestions as soon as possible.

I ask you one thing: you boot on your secondary GPU or on the first GPU?

Because I boot on first GPU, the xorg switch to the secondary, ad X starts on it.
The first gpu gets the vfio module but it seems it's missing the rom or something else.[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keet
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Sep 2008
Posts: 528

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dylanmc wrote:
I ask you one thing: you boot on your secondary GPU or on the first GPU?


The host uses the Intel graphics. I never included the drivers for my NVidia card on the host, so it never tries to use it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1707

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

I only see it's doing something cause the init messages before the xorg switch to the secondary GPU disappears
Ok, just to make sure, you see those init messages on your display connected to that passed-through video card, or on some virtual console connected somewhere else?

Do you have any control over that VM after it boots? Like, can you SSH into it to look around?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dylanmc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2014
Posts: 135
Location: Modena, Italy

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

szatox wrote:
Quote:

I only see it's doing something cause the init messages before the xorg switch to the secondary GPU disappears
Ok, just to make sure, you see those init messages on your display connected to that passed-through video card, or on some virtual console connected somewhere else?

Do you have any control over that VM after it boots? Like, can you SSH into it to look around?



I've installed a ubuntu virtual machine, I have enabled ssh and works.
After, I've removed video qxl and tried to pass trought the GPU.
After boot, virt manager says the ther machine is running, but the ssh connection hangs and I can't connect.

So, I think there is another problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dylanmc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2014
Posts: 135
Location: Modena, Italy

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some news

I have installed an Ubuntu, in a WM.

Using a rom dumped by me or downloaded from a websiste, I got X finally working on the passtrought card, but it's still unusable, the ubuntu system won't boot.
The Windows one, give me no sign of life.

no errors in dmesg, no errors on qemu log
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dylanmc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2014
Posts: 135
Location: Modena, Italy

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After TONS of configurations, I got my ubuntu works in gpu passtrought!!!

But the windows side, doesen't :(

This is my configuration

Code:

snoopx /etc/libvirt/qemu # cat win10-2.xml
<!--
WARNING: THIS IS AN AUTO-GENERATED FILE. CHANGES TO IT ARE LIKELY TO BE
OVERWRITTEN AND LOST. Changes to this xml configuration should be made using:
  virsh edit win10-2
or other application using the libvirt API.
-->

<domain type='kvm'>
  <name>win10-2</name>
  <uuid>a803f169-9c79-4d86-bd24-fc7efdc43301</uuid>
  <memory unit='KiB'>4194304</memory>
  <currentMemory unit='KiB'>4194304</currentMemory>
  <vcpu placement='static'>10</vcpu>
  <os>
    <type arch='x86_64' machine='pc-i440fx-2.10'>hvm</type>
  </os>
  <features>
    <acpi/>
    <apic/>
    <hyperv>
      <relaxed state='on'/>
      <vapic state='on'/>
      <spinlocks state='on' retries='8191'/>
      <vendor_id state='on' value='1234567890ab'/>
    </hyperv>
    <kvm>
      <hidden state='on'/>
    </kvm>
    <vmport state='off'/>
  </features>
  <cpu mode='host-model' check='partial'>
    <model fallback='allow'/>
  </cpu>
  <clock offset='localtime'>
    <timer name='rtc' tickpolicy='catchup'/>
    <timer name='pit' tickpolicy='delay'/>
    <timer name='hpet' present='no'/>
    <timer name='hypervclock' present='yes'/>
  </clock>
  <on_poweroff>destroy</on_poweroff>
  <on_reboot>restart</on_reboot>
  <on_crash>destroy</on_crash>
  <pm>
    <suspend-to-mem enabled='no'/>
    <suspend-to-disk enabled='no'/>
  </pm>
  <devices>
    <emulator>/usr/bin/qemu-system-x86_64</emulator>
    <disk type='file' device='disk'>
      <driver name='qemu' type='qcow2'/>
      <source file='/var/lib/libvirt/images/win10.qcow2'/>
      <target dev='sda' bus='sata'/>
      <boot order='1'/>
      <address type='drive' controller='0' bus='0' target='0' unit='0'/>
    </disk>
    <disk type='file' device='disk'>
      <driver name='qemu' type='qcow2'/>
      <source file='/var/lib/libvirt/images/win10-2.qcow2'/>
      <target dev='sdb' bus='sata'/>
      <address type='drive' controller='0' bus='0' target='0' unit='1'/>
    </disk>
    <disk type='file' device='cdrom'>
      <driver name='qemu' type='raw'/>
      <source file='/home/luca/magazzino/sistemi_operativi/windows/it_windows_10_multiple_editions_version_1703_updated_march_2017_x64_dvd_10204062.iso'/>
      <target dev='hdb' bus='ide'/>
      <readonly/>
      <address type='drive' controller='0' bus='0' target='0' unit='1'/>
    </disk>
    <controller type='usb' index='0' model='ich9-ehci1'>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x05' function='0x7'/>
    </controller>
    <controller type='usb' index='0' model='ich9-uhci1'>
      <master startport='0'/>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x05' function='0x0' multifunction='on'/>
    </controller>
    <controller type='usb' index='0' model='ich9-uhci2'>
      <master startport='2'/>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x05' function='0x1'/>
    </controller>
    <controller type='usb' index='0' model='ich9-uhci3'>
      <master startport='4'/>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x05' function='0x2'/>
    </controller>
    <controller type='pci' index='0' model='pci-root'/>
    <controller type='ide' index='0'>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x01' function='0x1'/>
    </controller>
    <controller type='virtio-serial' index='0'>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x06' function='0x0'/>
    </controller>
    <controller type='sata' index='0'>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x0a' function='0x0'/>
    </controller>
    <interface type='bridge'>
      <mac address='52:54:00:23:75:59'/>
      <source bridge='br0'/>
      <model type='rtl8139'/>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x03' function='0x0'/>
    </interface>
    <serial type='pty'>
      <target port='0'/>
    </serial>
    <console type='pty'>
      <target type='serial' port='0'/>
    </console>
    <input type='tablet' bus='usb'>
      <address type='usb' bus='0' port='1'/>
    </input>
    <input type='mouse' bus='ps2'/>
    <input type='keyboard' bus='ps2'/>
    <graphics type='spice' autoport='yes'>
      <listen type='address'/>
      <gl enable='no' rendernode=''/>
    </graphics>
    <sound model='ich6'>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x04' function='0x0'/>
    </sound>
    <video>
      <model type='qxl' ram='65536' vram='65536' vgamem='16384' heads='1' primary='yes'/>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x09' function='0x0'/>
    </video>
    <hostdev mode='subsystem' type='pci' managed='yes'>
      <source>
        <address domain='0x0000' bus='0x07' slot='0x00' function='0x0'/>
      </source>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x02' function='0x0'/>
    </hostdev>
    <hostdev mode='subsystem' type='pci' managed='yes'>
      <source>
        <address domain='0x0000' bus='0x07' slot='0x00' function='0x1'/>
      </source>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x08' function='0x0'/>
    </hostdev>
    <redirdev bus='usb' type='spicevmc'>
      <address type='usb' bus='0' port='2'/>
    </redirdev>
    <redirdev bus='usb' type='spicevmc'>
      <address type='usb' bus='0' port='3'/>
    </redirdev>
    <memballoon model='virtio'>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x07' function='0x0'/>
    </memballoon>
  </devices>
</domain>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dylanmc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2014
Posts: 135
Location: Modena, Italy

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A tons of try.. still passtrought only on a ubuntu :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dylanmc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2014
Posts: 135
Location: Modena, Italy

PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finally have installed the nvidia drivers in win10, bit I got error 43.
I've read a lot of forums and messages, but the card is still blocked.

I've tried to hide, but with no luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keet
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Sep 2008
Posts: 528

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have (at least the equivalent of):

-cpu host,kvm=off
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dylanmc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2014
Posts: 135
Location: Modena, Italy

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
luca@snoopx ~ $ sudo cat /etc/libvirt/qemu/dieci.xml
<!--
WARNING: THIS IS AN AUTO-GENERATED FILE. CHANGES TO IT ARE LIKELY TO BE
OVERWRITTEN AND LOST. Changes to this xml configuration should be made using:
  virsh edit dieci
or other application using the libvirt API.
-->

<domain type='kvm' xmlns:qemu='http://libvirt.org/schemas/domain/qemu/1.0'>
  <name>dieci</name>
  <uuid>a0a617cd-1340-4836-a110-ff567f1f1fb3</uuid>
  <memory unit='KiB'>4194304</memory>
  <currentMemory unit='KiB'>4194304</currentMemory>
  <vcpu placement='static'>8</vcpu>
  <os>
    <type arch='x86_64' machine='pc-i440fx-2.10'>hvm</type>
    <boot dev='hd'/>
  </os>
  <features>
    <acpi/>
    <apic/>
    <hyperv>
      <relaxed state='on'/>
      <vapic state='on'/>
      <spinlocks state='on' retries='8191'/>
      <vendor_id state='on' value='0123456789ab'/>
    </hyperv>
    <kvm>
      <hidden state='on'/>
    </kvm>
    <vmport state='off'/>
  </features>
  <cpu mode='host-passthrough' check='none'>
    <topology sockets='1' cores='4' threads='2'/>
    <feature policy='disable' name='smep'/>
  </cpu>
  <clock offset='localtime'>
    <timer name='rtc' tickpolicy='catchup'/>
    <timer name='pit' tickpolicy='delay'/>
    <timer name='hpet' present='no'/>
    <timer name='hypervclock' present='yes'/>
  </clock>
  <on_poweroff>destroy</on_poweroff>
  <on_reboot>restart</on_reboot>
  <on_crash>destroy</on_crash>
  <pm>
    <suspend-to-mem enabled='no'/>
    <suspend-to-disk enabled='no'/>
  </pm>
  <devices>
    <emulator>/usr/bin/qemu-system-x86_64</emulator>
    <disk type='file' device='disk'>
      <driver name='qemu' type='qcow2'/>
      <source file='/var/lib/libvirt/images/win10.qcow2'/>
      <target dev='hda' bus='ide'/>
      <address type='drive' controller='0' bus='0' target='0' unit='0'/>
    </disk>
    <controller type='usb' index='0' model='ich9-ehci1'>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x05' function='0x7'/>
    </controller>
    <controller type='usb' index='0' model='ich9-uhci1'>
      <master startport='0'/>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x05' function='0x0' multifunction='on'/>
    </controller>
    <controller type='usb' index='0' model='ich9-uhci2'>
      <master startport='2'/>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x05' function='0x1'/>
    </controller>
    <controller type='usb' index='0' model='ich9-uhci3'>
      <master startport='4'/>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x05' function='0x2'/>
    </controller>
    <controller type='pci' index='0' model='pci-root'/>
    <controller type='ide' index='0'>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x01' function='0x1'/>
    </controller>
    <controller type='virtio-serial' index='0'>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x06' function='0x0'/>
    </controller>
    <interface type='bridge'>
      <mac address='52:54:00:91:09:f6'/>
      <source bridge='br0'/>
      <model type='rtl8139'/>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x03' function='0x0'/>
    </interface>
    <serial type='pty'>
      <target port='0'/>
    </serial>
    <console type='pty'>
      <target type='serial' port='0'/>
    </console>
    <channel type='spicevmc'>
      <target type='virtio' name='com.redhat.spice.0'/>
      <address type='virtio-serial' controller='0' bus='0' port='1'/>
    </channel>
    <input type='tablet' bus='usb'>
      <address type='usb' bus='0' port='1'/>
    </input>
    <input type='mouse' bus='ps2'/>
    <input type='keyboard' bus='ps2'/>
    <graphics type='spice' autoport='yes'>
      <listen type='address'/>
      <gl enable='no' rendernode=''/>
    </graphics>
    <sound model='ich6'>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x04' function='0x0'/>
    </sound>
    <video>
      <model type='qxl' ram='65536' vram='65536' vgamem='16384' heads='1' primary='yes'/>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x02' function='0x0'/>
    </video>
    <hostdev mode='subsystem' type='pci' managed='yes'>
      <source>
        <address domain='0x0000' bus='0x07' slot='0x00' function='0x0'/>
      </source>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x08' function='0x0'/>
    </hostdev>
    <hostdev mode='subsystem' type='pci' managed='yes'>
      <source>
        <address domain='0x0000' bus='0x07' slot='0x00' function='0x1'/>
      </source>
      <rom bar='off'/>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x09' function='0x0'/>
    </hostdev>
    <redirdev bus='usb' type='spicevmc'>
      <address type='usb' bus='0' port='2'/>
    </redirdev>
    <redirdev bus='usb' type='spicevmc'>
      <address type='usb' bus='0' port='3'/>
    </redirdev>
    <memballoon model='virtio'>
      <address type='pci' domain='0x0000' bus='0x00' slot='0x07' function='0x0'/>
    </memballoon>
  </devices>
  <qemu:commandline>
    <qemu:arg value='-cpu'/>
    <qemu:arg value='host,hv_time,kvm=off,hv_vendor_id=null'/>
  </qemu:commandline>
</domain>



I have only to try to install the GPU to isolate in the second slot, nothing else is working..

Or get a Radeon instead of Nvidia..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keet
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Sep 2008
Posts: 528

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you trying to use HyperV inside the guest? If not, I would remove that section.

It looks like you have several virtual U.S.B. controllers. They're probably unrelated, but they might also be unnecessary. I just pass through my host's U.S.B. controller and plug a hub with all my peripherals into one of its ports.

The same (regarding it being unnecessary) might be true of the P.C.I. controller, serial port, and console.

I wonder whether the Spice console might be causing problems; can you try removing the Spice adapter along with qxl video, the U.S.B. tablet device, mouse, keyboard, and other Spice devices/configurations?

I wonder whether specifying a null vendor identifier is causing problems; it might be worth removing that. I'm not sure what the rest of the Qemu command line does. It looks like you have the '-cpu' switch but without any arguments, unless it counts 'host' on the next line.

I don't know what you need, but it seems like your configuration file might have many unnecessary things. Trimming them away might fix the problem or at least make it easier to diagnose.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dylanmc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2014
Posts: 135
Location: Modena, Italy

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you successfully pass an nvidia card to windows?

I removed hyperv, same error
Removed some usb stuff as you suggest, still get the same error.

If I remove the spice console I didn't see anything.

The nvidia driver still detects kvm and gets me error 43..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keet
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Sep 2008
Posts: 528

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I successfully passed through my GTX 1070 to Windows 10 (as well as Gentoo and Debian Linux) and tested it successfully in 3D games. This is my command:

Code:
exec qemu-system-x86_64 -enable-kvm \
   -cpu host,kvm=off -smp sockets=1,cores=2,threads=2 \
   -m 8G \
   -bios /usr/share/qemu/bios.bin \
   -drive file=/home/myuser/Windows10.img,if=virtio \
   -netdev bridge,id=mynet1 -device virtio-net-pci,netdev=mynet1,id=nic2,mac=mymacaddress \
   -name "Windows 10" \
   -device vfio-pci,host=01:00.0,multifunction=on,x-vga=on \
   -device vfio-pci,host=03:00.0 \
   -vga none -nographic \
   "$@"


I no longer pass through the graphic's sound because it doesn't work properly in Gentoo and because I don't really need it. However, it didn't cause any problems when it was included. Apart from that, I recently removed other things that I copied or adapted from various online guides, not because they prevented it from working, but because they seem unnecessary (it works fine without them), so that the command is much shorter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5718

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Myu wrote:
Quote:
Wait, what?
Do I get you right? Are you trying to loop the output from a physical device back to a virtual console?
Try this instead: You just hook up another display (or another input of your display) to the video card you passed to your guest and launch that VM again.


Yeah +1 to what szatox said ! You won't get any output on the virt-manager Window, the output will be to the display cable plugged to the GPU you're passing through !


actually, wendell from level1techs got that working recently. the way he got it set up, you don't need a monitor on the guest GPU, it can be sent back to spice and acceleration apparently works too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keet
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Sep 2008
Posts: 528

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is true, but I think that it's more complicated to set up, so it might be better to focus on making passthrough work first, and then work on passthrough in Spice later. I was pasting my configuration because it's (at least close to) the minimum that one needs to make it work. If we simplify it as much as possible first, then we can work on adding features later.

I'm running mine on a server with Intel and NVidia graphics. The NVidia graphics card is never used by the host -- it has no kernel configuration for it and no NVidia drivers installed. I have only one monitor, which is connected to the Intel (motherboard) graphics and the video card. However, the host never displays anything through the discrete graphics card; only virtual machines do that.

I don't know about the benefits of using virt-manager, but it seems like it might be adding quite a few unnecessary things here. At the very least, it might help to strip them until the G.P.U. is working, and then add them back and see whether it still works. HyperV is another hypervisor, so enabling support for it might complicate matters, even if it's only running HyperV as a host inside the guest (nested virtualization). I don't know how much is necessary to make a V.M. work with virt-manager, but it looks to me like the guest's U.S.B. controllers, serial ports, tablet input device, keyboard, mouse, sound, memory ballooning, P.C.I. and I.D.E. controllers, and Spice support could all be removed. You might not see anything with Spice disabled, but in that case, it might be best to enable Remote Desktop and use rdesktop or something similar to shut it down if it doesn't work. Many people here probably know virt-manager much better than I do and can correct me.

The one other thing that I would check is the syntax of the <qemu:commandline> section. 'kvm=off' should take care of the problem for you, and I do see it there, but maybe it's not working because of syntax. Can anyone here comment on the syntax of that section? Compared to my command line, it has a couple extra parameters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dylanmc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2014
Posts: 135
Location: Modena, Italy

PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've else tried to change my GPU Nvidia card, an 1060 GTX: but the same error, 43.

I think that passing a grabbed rom can be useful, but I'm unable to grab it correctly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dylanmc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2014
Posts: 135
Location: Modena, Italy

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finally, after a lot of tryes, I got my GPU passtrought work.
I had to change my card from Nvidia to AMD.. the only thing that was blocking me was the NVIDIA Win10 drivers :/

Bye bye Nvidia !!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 3485
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Definitely easier to passthrough amd cards, don't know why nvidia makes it so hard, but they do.
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - nouveau & radeon, oss4
Acer laptop E5-575, i3-7100u - i965, alsa
---both---
4.14.62 kernel, profile 17.0 (no-pie) amd64-no-multilib
gcc 7.3.0, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dylanmc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2014
Posts: 135
Location: Modena, Italy

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the only want to sell' quadros.
No other reasons forum me..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dylanmc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2014
Posts: 135
Location: Modena, Italy

PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2018 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

another question : does anyone passtrought an entire partition to the guest system?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum