View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Forums Feedback
View previous topic :: View next topic  
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't your banks use one time passwords or two factor authentication?

I've been using it since 2003. I put my chip and pin card into a card reader.
It checks my PIN and gives me a one time password.
It locks my card if I get the PIN wrong three times too, just like a cash machine :(

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Tony0945
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

szatox wrote:
It's not a sign of honesty, it's a sign of ignorance.
Should have reported that as a security incident. By simply ignoring it you became a contributor.

Lots of insulting posts here lately. Who would I report it to? Some faceless unknown manager in India? How would I contact them? If the multi-billion dollar bank doesn't care, what influence would I have on them?
Hu

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Regarding the issue of e-mailing the password clear text, I look at it through this decision tree:
  1. Is the password sent cleartext? If no, continue. If yes, be unhappy briefly.
  2. Does the forum support a password reset feature, implemented by sending an e-mail to the account on record? If no, stop and be safe. If yes, continue.
  3. Do I trust that the e-mail account cannot be modified (messages deleted or blocked from delivery) by untrusted users? If no, continue and be unhappy. If yes, continue and be cautiously optimistic.
  4. Do I trust that the e-mail account cannot be read by untrusted users? If no, stop and be unhappy with the generally terrible state of e-mail security. If yes, stop and be happy.