Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Wireless slow only on Gentoo [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mgwolff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Dec 2017
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:54 am    Post subject: Wireless slow only on Gentoo [SOLVED] Reply with quote

My wireless Internet connection has been slow, but only on Gentoo. Both using Windows and an USB booted SystemRescueCd, the download speed is 2 MB/s as expected.

It seems to me that this is a recent problem, because I ran a speedtest.net test a couple of weeks back and at that time I also got 20 Mbps.
I followed the Gentoo guide for my QCA6174 wireless card (https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Qualcomm_Atheros_QCA6174) but even after updating the firmware, speedtest.net keeps showing download speeds of around 13 Mbps.

Any hints are greatly appreciated!


Last edited by mgwolff on Thu Jan 11, 2018 3:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 30894
Location: here

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can post
Code:
$ dmesg | grep firmware
:?:
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mgwolff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Dec 2017
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here the requested output:

Code:

$ dmesg | grep firmware
[    0.636095] i915 0000:00:02.0: Direct firmware load for i915/kbl_dmc_ver1_01.bin failed with error -2
[    0.636107] i915 0000:00:02.0: Failed to load DMC firmware [https://01.org/linuxgraphics/downloads/firmware], disabling runtime power management.
[    4.001388] Bluetooth: hci0: QCA: patch rome 0x302 build 0x138, firmware rome 0x302 build 0x111
[    4.189885] ath10k_pci 0000:02:00.0: firmware ver WLAN.RM.4.4.1-00051-QCARMSWP-1 api 6 features wowlan,ignore-otp crc32 c3fd4411
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2158
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ensure that you have proper regulatory domain support. Else your card will use the "world" domain which means limited channel support and low transmit power. Do not use wireless extensions with wpa_supplicant (-Dwext), but cfg80211 (-Dnl80211).

In the kernel, you need
Code:
CONFIG_CFG80211_CRDA_SUPPORT=y
CFG80211_INTERNAL_REGDB=n

Also net-wireless/crda must be installed (net-wireless/wpa_supplicant usually pulls this in as dependency).

Finally, after connecting, check whether your regulatory domain is correct now:
Code:
# iw reg get


wpa_supplicant should receive this information from the access point and then use crda to set the regulatory domain. If not, set it manually through
Code:
# iw reg set <countrycode>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mgwolff
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Dec 2017
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chithanh wrote:
Ensure that you have proper regulatory domain support. Else your card will use the "world" domain which means limited channel support and low transmit power. Do not use wireless extensions with wpa_supplicant (-Dwext), but cfg80211 (-Dnl80211).

In the kernel, you need
Code:
CONFIG_CFG80211_CRDA_SUPPORT=y
CFG80211_INTERNAL_REGDB=n

Also net-wireless/crda must be installed (net-wireless/wpa_supplicant usually pulls this in as dependency).

Finally, after connecting, check whether your regulatory domain is correct now:
Code:
# iw reg get


wpa_supplicant should receive this information from the access point and then use crda to set the regulatory domain. If not, set it manually through
Code:
# iw reg set <countrycode>


My regulatory domain was set to "00". After I ran:

Code:

# iw reg set CO


I now get full wireless speed again!

Thank you!!

edit: After some time, my wifi transfer speed got reduced again. I switched out the wifi card on my laptop for an intel 8265, which works perfectly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum