Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE Plasma won't start from sddm with new systemd config
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Featherfoot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 995
Location: Stuart, Florida

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 10:52 pm    Post subject: KDE Plasma won't start from sddm with new systemd config Reply with quote

I am in the throes of getting my system running with systemd. I have found the complete list of services and adding several beyond those described in the WIKI has helped.

I now have one notable problem. I can't get KDE or XFCE running from sddm. Sddm accepts my password and clears the screen. A few seconds later, the sddm screen reappears. I can log in several times with the same result.

I have re-emerged sddm several times. It hasn't cured the problem.

I was wondering whether something in KDE and XFCE needs to be re-emerged, but I have re-emerged everything based on the new USE variable.

I need your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7131
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check your sddm use flags:
Code:
$ emerge -vp sddm

_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Featherfoot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Dec 2002
Posts: 995
Location: Stuart, Florida

PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2018 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

bopper root # cat sddm.log

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies  .... done!
[ebuild   R    ] x11-misc/sddm-0.15.0::gentoo  USE="pam systemd (-consolekit) (-elogind)" 0 KiB

Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 KiB
bopper root #


While I was doing this I noticed that my RAID 1 partition with user files on it was failing to mount. That could be the problem, of course. I noticed that the startup sequence was waiting a minute and a half for raid partiotions to "start"
The error message was like,

Timed out waiting for device dev-mapper-pdc_dcgidcdjbp7, 6, 3 and 5. This

The commands that ran unsuccessfully for a minute and a half were like

A start job is running for dev-mapper-pdc_cgidcdjbp7, 6, 5, and 3.

For some reason the addresses aren't the same, but they are similar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum